Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
446 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Van Avery Prep 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
I highly recommend Van Avery Prep School as the Principals Tina and Angela and Staff/Teachers are excellent! My children attended Kids World Preschool and learned so much there and it has been a nice transition for them now at Van Avery. I am so impressed with everything my children are learning and love the strong emphasis on math and reading especially! Thanks Principal Tina and the entire staff and teachers for an EXCELLENT job well done!

Van Avery Prep
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Mr John and Miss Chris for establishing such a fine school that teaches not only academics but integrity among the students. We appreciate the Principals Angela and Tina who run such a fine school. Many thanks too to the excellent teachers and wonderfull staff too!


Van Avery Prep
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Van Avery teaches students about honesty and has a very strong anti-bully policy. It is reassuring knowing how much they instill that for our children.

Van Avery Prep
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Many thanks to Mr. John and Miss Chris, owners of the school as well as Miss Tina and Miss Angela, who are now running the school. They pour their heart into the school and all of the students to be sure they are all receiving an education of the highest standard of academics as well as so many extra curricular activities - from field trips to sports to the arts My kids went here and graduated and went on to be successful in high school and in college and it all started here. Our kids felt like school was a second family and have the best of childhood memories at Van Avery

Van Avery Prep
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Being busy parents we were so very grateful for homework club where the kids have time to get their homework done with a teacher present to help with questions, etc.


Van Avery Prep
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Again, its not just excellent academics.. it's developing character that's key at Van Avery. All kids during K-8 grow developmentally during these ages and this school is all about instilling compassion and caring and empathy. Kids are not allowed to make fun of each other and are taught to respect each other's differences. They are taught community service and volunteering for great causes as well..

Van Avery Prep
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My kids were students attended Van Avery from K-8. Honesty integrity and fairness is emphasized at Van Avery and without hesitation if their were disciplinary concerns with children, the parents were made aware. I felt this was important as it supports what we also teach at home. What I do like about Van Avery is they won't let perpetually misbehaved children -who cannot change their behavior - to continue to disrupt the learning and growing experience of all the rest. It's not often but those kids are eventually not welcomed back which is wonderful about this private school one that cares about ensuring the greater group of students are not impacted by bullies or brats).

Van Avery Prep 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My kids went to Van Avery and Kids World. It was by far the best decision we ever made as parents for our children. When you select a school, keep in mind that for 8 hours (sometimes more) a day 10 months +/- a year your kids will not ONLY be learning academically but actually "growing up" at school and developing their personalities, social skills and importantly their confidence for their future. Van Avery administration, faculty, teachers will ALL give their hearts 100% to your kids which is so important during these development "growing up" years K-8. The owners at Van Avery -we now know well now after so many years- want nothing more than to see ALL of their students succeed in their future. And they will. If you look at the graduates who went on to the local high schools and colleges, you will see they are elected into leadership positions, presidents of their class, homecoming court, sports (and team captains), honor society, and forming their own clubs, community service, etc. Coming from Van Avery to a large public high school setting can be scary as a parent so we were overwhelmed with happiness to see our kids (as well as their Van Avery Prep Peers) flourish with these experiences during their high school years, plus exceed academically in AP classes. We've seen so many Van Avery Prep graduates at the top of their class in their respective high schools with these leadership experiences ---and then go on to thrive in college and beyond. It all starts in the beginning of life --as they grow and develop. They will be enriched with academic experiences and confidence.... also arts, sports, and more. They will also always be on stage in plays, musical performances, award ceremonies, etc. --and this helps build their confidence in front of audiences. I can't say enough. If we had to do it again, we'd choose Van Avery. Our kids agree too - great memories! As a bonus, you will find fabulous parents within our community likewise choose Van Avery and feel the same.


Van Avery Prep 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately my wife and I were very displeased with this school. When we relocated we heard many positive reviews from some coworkers, but wish that we had done more research on our own before enrolling our daughter. This is a for profit school. They are in business to make money, not educate your child. No concern is listened to unless you are part of the inner circle. Do the research before making a decision.

Van Avery Prep 5

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. I've had my children in VAP for 3 years now and have not had a problem. The parents are very involved with the school programs from boy scouts to girl scouts as well as other programs. One of my children has a learning disability and the school has been very accommodating with the tutor program (from outside VAP) that my child attends to enrich the VAP teaching. interaction. I think that being a part of the "in crowd" is just due to the amount of involvement you want to put into you child's school and education. We get involved and have a great time with our kids there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Van Avery Prep
29851 Santiago Road, Temecula, CA  92592
(951) 506-3123
Last modified Van Avery Prep is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Van Avery Prep Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top