Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Temple City, CA
Students enrolled: 2,024
 

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

19 reviews of this school


Temple City High School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Oh yeah, it's a free education. Good value. People forget about this fact. Send your kids to a private school or move to San Marino if you can afford it. My advice is to save your money for college, graduate school and Phd. Here is what it might cost you at a private school for one child for 13 years... K-5($140,220) + 6th-8th grade ($82,410) + 9-12($124,920) = $347,550(per child) x 2 = $695,100 which is the price of a 3 br. 2 ba house in Temple City.

Temple City High School 4

Posted May 12, 2011
- a student
An adequate school in terms of everything listed under qualites of a great school according to that speech bubble coming out of this textbox. First year fresh meat here, and the school is so far... satisfactory. Won't say it's mind-blowingly outstanding, but it is pretty good. The academic performance here seems to be good enough, and the students here are pretty smart. However, traces of apathy can be detected among the students. At least that is what this student is seeing. Like all schools, there are good teachers and not so good teachers, but a general amount of them are pretty dedicated even if not completely... involved. With the parents. No, there doesn't seem to be much communication between teachers and parents. What stands out the most to this student is the lack of bullying and cliques here. Not saying that there isn't any at all, but it is not as evident as other schools and schools you might see on TV. Then again, this is only one freshman's opinion based off what she has seen so far, so do with this what you will. Overall, this is a good school, and this student wouldn't prefer another one.


Temple City High School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a community member
I love TCHS. I had such great memories there and the teachers are awesome.

Temple City High School
no rating

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
D- learning handicaped classes. no focus on getting the child prepared for the regular class room inviroment. no home work, no contact to the parents to show their child is improving and what can be done at home to make better improvement in the learning enviroment. no child left behind(ha)this method will insure the child will have a hard time making it to a junior college, let alone a 4year university.

Temple City High School
no rating

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
TCHS from my experiance has been a really good school. All the teachers I've had are all really nice people who have helped me when I needed it. The deans are helpful. There arent many conflict between students that have gotten that bad. In my opinion its a good school.


Temple City High School 3

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
There are some good teachers, but many not good ones. Some of the not good teachers may have taught there for many years. Bad attitutude, bias, and not teaching much. There are not enough AP or Honors classes compared to schools from surrounding districts, for example, there is no AP Biology. Students usually get help from after school programs. Needs improvement in teachers' quality and facilities.

Temple City High School 1

Posted May 16, 2008
- a teacher
School has many problems including : adminastrtion, student goverment and club/activities funding

Temple City High School 2

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
This school is a fairly good school compared to many around the Los Angeles area. Unfortunately, compared to the rest of the nation, TCHS still lags far behind. When you compare this school to those in the New England states, you would see a considerable difference in resources, facilities, class sizes, pupil spending, technology, and student-teacher ratios. To truly understand what I'm writing, you would need to visit a few high schools in the Midwest and Northeastern regions of the US. Furthermore, the academic curriculum offered at this school is exceptionally weak, especially in the areas of social sciences and business/technology education, highlighted by a lack of electives. If you wish for your child to have the best possible education anywhere, I would seriously advise moving to a different state.


Temple City High School 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a student
an outstanding school that can be challenging academically for those who choose toa pply themselves. there are many ap and honors classes available and the atmosphere is very competetive as far as high test scores are concerned. our teachers are very dedicateded to students spending extra time to help academically but care on a personal level as well. Each one is dedicated to the success of each student. we have an amazing arts program including band orchestra and choir, as well as visual arts. we produce a musical every year renown for its professionalism. our sports teams work very hard and we have very supportive coaches who dedicate 100 percent. there are many wyas to become involveed with this school and community through clubs adn extracuricular activities. our staff is supportive and always finds ways to overcome any obstacles. we are blesed with a safe and friendly school. go Rams!

Temple City High School 5

Posted July 21, 2007
- a parent
One of the most challenging high schools, academically and athletic competitive. Great calculus teacher and physics teacher. Strong in its math and sciences. This school strives for excellence and teachers are always there to help students in need. Some teachers stay after school to help review for the AP's. Meeting the requirements of NCLB makes it a great school to go to. Though the city and school may be small, it is one of the greatest high schools there ever is.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Temple City High School
9501 Lemon Avenue, Temple City, CA  91780
(626) 548-5040
Last modified Temple City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Temple City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top