Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Thousand Oaks, CA
Students enrolled: 420
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

18 reviews of this school


Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
Our school is student centered, community driven. We feel our children are gaining important leadership skills as well as being taught through hands on learning how to navigate through their day making choices that are safe and kind for them and those around them.

Conejo Elementary School 2

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I recently moved to the area. I enrolled my child in the open leadership program. The teachers are great and show enthusiasm to work with the children. However the Principal in my opinion does not. My priority is that my child is on par with the students his grade on a national level. I do whatever I can to make sure he gets and remains there. My first point of contact- the principal- she sent me on a wild goose chase with irrelevant information so I stopped asking and went to the parents who were more knowledgeable and are a great source for information.


Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
Conjeo Open Classroom Leadership Magnet Program is excellent. The principal, teachers, and parents participation is great. My daughter states, she "loves the principal" (Dr. Sellers). I am so happy to be apart of this community and school.

Conejo Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Its a great school with 2 great programs for all types of children. The parents and teachers are super supportive and the Principal (Dr. Sellers) is amazing.

Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
EWConejo Elementary School is 1 of a kind. It is home to Conejo Openclassroom Leadership Magnet. Our amazing Principal, Dr. Dena Sellers, creates a successful learning environment for students representing a wide diversity of social & economic experience. It is a place that truly transforms families on their way to the real American dream...education for a whole society.


Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Conejo home of the Leader in Me - Leadership Magnet program is stellar! One of the few places intentionally creating an educational environment that is responsive to the real world of children today and preparing them for the demands of the future. Visionary - with phenomenal leadership provided by Principal Sellers and active parental involvement and community engagement. A whole-child, whole person learning community.

Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
As the parent of a student in the Open Classroom Leadership Magnet at Conejo Elementary, I couldn't be happier with this school. My son has received above-average instruction since kindergarten, and now with the overlay of Stephen Covey's 7 Habits of Highly Effective People as a framework for the school's core values it's like a dream come true. The school has always identified and nurtured each child's special gifts, and now with Covey's Leader in Me program in place, the students will learn how to channel their strengths into leadership skills to last a lifetime. Our family is so blessed to be a part of this learning community.

Conejo Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Lots of extracurricular activities available. Yard Duty could be more educated on using less authoritarian communication to create a more wholesome environment. Other than that the school seems to be nice.


Conejo Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
In Conejo Elementary s Open Classroom Program, our children flourish as individuals, growing confident and competent academically, socially, and emotionally. Creative teachers make learning an exciting adventure our children will always pursue. Dynamic, interdisciplinary lessons engage their multiple intelligences; while strong teacher/student bonds enhance learning. Our families collaborate as an educational community, enabling one-on-one attention and an intimate understanding of the passions, strengths and weaknesses that motivate each child. Mentoring, dialogue, and cooperative group activities foster personal growth, respect, constructive-communication and team-building skills essential to reaching goals. Our capable Principal is a supportive facilitator and thoughtful decision-maker. Conejo boasts CVUSD s only elementary-level percussion ensemble, a new computer lab, an inviting library, and a diverse student population. My children are achieving academic mastery while learning problem solving, critical thinking, oratory, self-discipline, time management, and self-confidence while honoring their natural curiosity. This balanced education prepares them as responsible citizens and capable, innovative thinkers.

Conejo Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2007
- a parent
The teachers do not support students. Its complete chaos.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Conejo Elementary School
280 North Conejo School Road, Thousand Oaks, CA  91362
(805) 495-7058
Last modified Conejo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Conejo Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top