Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
I went to Weathersfield (long time ago!) and my 2 boys did. I was heavily involved in PTA and now I am lucky enough to work there as an Academic Specialist. I have to say the atmosphere on this campus was/is AMAZING! The students are happy and engaged and respectful! The staff is caring and would do anything for their students! This school should be a 10!!

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent of two sons who attend this school, and I can wholeheartedly say that we absolutely LOVE Weathersfield. If you're considering Weathersfield but are concerned about the recently lowered state test scores from this school (that are reflected in the overall GreatSchools' score), please be assured that this was due to a reporting error in the test results (more than half of the English language scores for the school's third and fourth graders weren't computed in the total school score, which dropped the score considerably). I have one son in fourth grade and the other is in Weathersfield's new transitional kindergarten program (which is phenomenal! The TK teacher is one of the best educators I've ever met). I have seen first-hand that the teachers at this school truly care about their students; the academics are very strong; the principal is extremely hands-on; and the parents and PTA are very involved. As far as enrichment, from the arts to more concentrated academic work, I've been very pleased. My fourth grader recently started a special program where he's learning STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) and computer coding. Honestly, we moved here four years ago from out-of-state, and I didn't know what to expect from our neighborhood school. I truly couldn't be any happier at Weathersfield.


Weathersfield Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
The school has a "champs" curriculum that reinforces these attributes in students each day. The principal goes over it with the students at each student body assembly and student council does a monthly presentation/skit to focus on certain positive attributes.

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
I am an educator by professions and have taught in schools in California, Georgia, and Texas. I have also lived in Bristish Columbia and Hawaii and in comparison to my the schools I have exprerienced in those vairous location, I have been very pleased with the education that my boys are receiving at Weathersfield Elementary. If you are concerned about the "6" rating this webiste is posting, it is incorrect. Weathersfield is an explemary rated school. However, this year apparently there was a computer error that failed to transmit more than half of the math and English scores of Weathersfield 3rd and 4th graders, dropping the scores considerably. In 2012 the API at Weathersfield was 873 and in 2013 it was 871. Apparently the school staff and district or working the address this issue, but I wanted to post this information here, too. Over the past 4 years, my 2 boys have had excellent and experienced teachers. The school offers a variety of enrichment programs and opportunities including computer programming, sign language, a new science lab and smart board and lap top computers in the classrooms. The music teacher is excellenting teaching studies piano and recorder as well as music theory. The art master's program teaches students about famous artists and allowing them to explore different mediums. Extracurricular programs include: chorus, band, strings, chess club, scouts, woodshop, and many more depending on the semester. The student council is very involved at the school. Parent involvement is excellent. I hope this rating mistake is corrected soon, but in the mean time please come check out the school if you are considering it, and don't let the lower score deter you from considering it.

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Have been a parent at Weathersfield for the past 10 years and can honestly say this past year has been the best one yet! The new principal has turned the entire vibe on campus around. From new school fundraising events, to the hands on feel and overall happiness of teachers and staff! Even the PTA has been positive and made all parents feel like they are apart of the team! The amount of volunteers has also gone through the roof which only shows how happy everyone is. We were considering leaving last year but I am so glad we decided to stay and be apart of this complete transformation!


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Weathersfield is a school on the rise. The enthusiasm and excitement on campus can be felt from the moment you walk in the office. The new principal is such a breath of fresh air, and his positivity has radiated through the staff. The teachers and students have a pride in the school that shines through. I completely disagree with the comments of the poster on 4/14/15 regarding the PTA. This PTA has been so inclusive and open to new ideas, and parent participation has never been higher. Sounds like some sour grapes there. Maybe that negative Nellie parent needs to get more involved him/herself?

Weathersfield Elementary School 4

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
The school is improved this year with a new principal. Glad to see the old one gone. The new principal brings new life, ideas and greater transparency. There is more enthusiasm by all because of him. School PTA is pretty bad. Very few participate because the "executive board" controls all. Charter schools are still the best bet for this area but if you have to go public, Weathersfield is ok.

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a teacher
I have been fortunate enough to work at Weathersfield Elementary School for 11 years. There have been many changes over the years for our school, but change can be good. Change shakes things up a bit and makes you reevaluate the priorities of the school. Change can mean growth and keeps you current. These changes earned our school the honor of California Distinguished School in 2014. Weathersfield is staffed with dedicated employees, a principal who wants the best for the students and the school as a whole, and some of the most hardworking parents (PTA) in this district. Weathersfield offers up-to-date technology in the way of Permeathean Boards in the classrooms, iPads, and two computer labs. There's also the benefit of PE classes 3 times a week, a great music/chorus program, and a monthly Art Masters program, along with many paraprofessionals on campus to aide children who need help. Throughout the year Weatherfield students enjoy Family Movie Nights, Harvest Festival, Jog-a-thon, assemblies, classroom plays, spirit days, a Family Dance, and much more. Weathersfield is an amazing school for any child in the Conejo Valley. Mrs. Scott 1st/2nd Grade Teacher. :)


Weathersfield Elementary School 2

Posted May 12, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school some time ago. It really could have been better. Things are not enforced during recess at all by the current yard supervisors, and the administration isn't exactly the best at dealing with bullying. Instead of just saying "boys will be boys" they should actually try to sort this stuff out and actually listen to the victim. The majority of the teachers are nice though, and even though they do seem slightly stressed with the administration they do a good job.

Weathersfield Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Most teachers are stressed out with the management and the principal's controlling style. The recent influx of ESL students also has added to a large Spanish speaking student body.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Weathersfield Elementary School
3151 Darlington Drive, Thousand Oaks, CA  91360
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. (805) 492-3564
Last modified Weathersfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top