Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Thousand Oaks, CA
Students enrolled: 438
 

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Weathersfield is a school on the rise. The enthusiasm and excitement on campus can be felt from the moment you walk in the office. The new principal is such a breath of fresh air, and his positivity has radiated through the staff. The teachers and students have a pride in the school that shines through. I completely disagree with the comments of the poster on 4/14/15 regarding the PTA. This PTA has been so inclusive and open to new ideas, and parent participation has never been higher. Sounds like some sour grapes there. Maybe that negative Nellie parent needs to get more involved him/herself?

Weathersfield Elementary School 4

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
The school is improved this year with a new principal. Glad to see the old one gone. The new principal brings new life, ideas and greater transparency. There is more enthusiasm by all because of him. School PTA is pretty bad. Very few participate because the "executive board" controls all. Charter schools are still the best bet for this area but if you have to go public, Weathersfield is ok.


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a teacher
I have been fortunate enough to work at Weathersfield Elementary School for 11 years. There have been many changes over the years for our school, but change can be good. Change shakes things up a bit and makes you reevaluate the priorities of the school. Change can mean growth and keeps you current. These changes earned our school the honor of California Distinguished School in 2014. Weathersfield is staffed with dedicated employees, a principal who wants the best for the students and the school as a whole, and some of the most hardworking parents (PTA) in this district. Weathersfield offers up-to-date technology in the way of Permeathean Boards in the classrooms, iPads, and two computer labs. There's also the benefit of PE classes 3 times a week, a great music/chorus program, and a monthly Art Masters program, along with many paraprofessionals on campus to aide children who need help. Throughout the year Weatherfield students enjoy Family Movie Nights, Harvest Festival, Jog-a-thon, assemblies, classroom plays, spirit days, a Family Dance, and much more. Weathersfield is an amazing school for any child in the Conejo Valley. Mrs. Scott 1st/2nd Grade Teacher. :)
3 people found this helpful

Weathersfield Elementary School 2

Posted May 12, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school some time ago. It really could have been better. Things are not enforced during recess at all by the current yard supervisors, and the administration isn't exactly the best at dealing with bullying. Instead of just saying "boys will be boys" they should actually try to sort this stuff out and actually listen to the victim. The majority of the teachers are nice though, and even though they do seem slightly stressed with the administration they do a good job.

Weathersfield Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Most teachers are stressed out with the management and the principal's controlling style. The recent influx of ESL students also has added to a large Spanish speaking student body.
1 person found this helpful


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful Teachers and Families. Great Principal and parent involvement. My Children are very happy here.
1 person found this helpful

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Our school is a fun and educational environments and I love to participate in every event we have. Weathersfield is like a big family where parents like to volunteer in the classrooms and thrive to be involved during the fundraisers and programs we offer.

Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
Weathersfield is a GREAT school. I've had a child there for 6 years, (k-5), and has totally thrived there. Her state test scores are excellant. She has excelled in their chorus and musical instrument programs. A great choice for anyone lucky enough to go there.


Weathersfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
I have been at this school for six years now, and it's changed tremendously. The school and the pta work hard to raise funds for new technologies and new programs for the children every year. We also have had a lot of changes in teachers over that time, and there are some absolutely wonderful teachers, very caring, and making sure our kids have the best opportunities and education available.

Weathersfield Elementary School 3

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
After having many years at this school with older children and having just finished Kindergarten with our youngest I find it very troublesome that the school has gone from a 9 to 8 rating and the test scores seem to also be falling. The Principal seems to have a throw the blame on someone else attitude and doesn't work along with the parents and students but against them! I had many friends who were zoned to attend Weathersfield but after the lack luster orientation and reviews about the school from other parents have decided to use school choice to put their kids elsewhere! Such a shame it used to be such a wonderful school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Weathersfield Elementary School
3151 Darlington Drive, Thousand Oaks, CA  91360
(805) 492-3563
Last modified Weathersfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Weathersfield Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top