Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paschal Baylon Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Thousand Oaks

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

My child goes to this school and as far as academics goes I don't think they are better than the other private schools around. Their Math program is of sub standard level. I see my friends kids who go to public school doing way advanced math than my child. The Language art and reading program is good.The student to teacher ratio is really high. Even having an aide does not help. The religion, discipline and uniform part is good. The teachers are not always helpful. Try asking them something and it's all your child's fault. The kids are nice to each other and friendly. I think the active involvement of the parents in their children's education is what is making this school popular. If it were not for us parents then this school would have been like any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Both of my sons attended SPBS and they absolutely loved it. The teachers are excellent but the principal makes all the difference. The school is very well organized and all the parents are involved in their children's education. If you have the means, get your child in that school. Your kid will thank you for it. My sons have said so many times. Also, the school has very high academic standards. The accelerated math and english classes are excellent. And the school has great, family friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

This is my children's first year at SPBS. I pulled them from one of the "elite" CVUSD elem schools nearby. I am so happy that I did so. Both my children are not only thriving at SPBS--but they are happy as well. Both of their teachers are excellent--but more importantly--they really care about my children. As part of the Catholic faith and teaching--children are looked at as arriving with their own special gifts and talents--and it is up to the teacher to foster and nurture this. My children were miserable at the public school--where despite 20:1--they were just a number. The large classrooms at SPBS are not a problem--every child recieives lots of individual help--and more importantly--there are no behavior problems that keep the majority of kids from learning. We are so happy at SPBS--great teachers, great principal, great atmosphere. It is worth every penny--and we are struggling to make it work. For the first time in their lives--both my children LOVE school--and are excited to go to SPBS each day. Again--this comes from 2 students who were at one of the highest scoring public school in the CVUSD district-.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

This is one of the best schools I have ever seen at this level. While other schools in the area are loosing students SPBS contiually has full classes and other great benefits. The principal is excellent along with all the rest of the staff. The parents provide so much help. While stated earlier the parents really only do volunteer in the classrooms during Kindergarten, parents are involved in so many things outside. The school's PTA for example are involved in running events such as The Shakespeare Festival and the booths and the parish festival. While other events are run by one or two parents such as the Jog-a-thon. This is one the best schools I have ever seen.


Posted April 29, 2011

Considering this is a private school, the student to teacher ratio is overwhelming. Over 40 students for 1 teacher, and an aide that only works a couple of hours in the morning. The students are missing out. There is also a bullying problem at the school. They choose to ignore it and look the other way. They have no programs to assist with kids that fall behind. All in all the parents are great, but the school could be way better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

This an excellent school, emphasizing excellent academics & service to others. Our children are extremely happy, the parents are very involved and the teachers & staff genuinely concerned for the kids' well being. We have found that the principle really cares about the school, not just collecting a paycheck/pension, which is a nice change from the public school system. If there is an issue, it gets handled. We are proud to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

A great school on many levels, but I do believe there is room for improvement. As stated in an earlier entry, parental involvement past kindergarten seems primarily outside of the classroom. Quite frankly, with the unusually high student/teacher ratio, I think that they could use the additional help. Furthermore, they offer little to no counseling services except for interns that do not provide consistency. I would be happy to pay more and have a credentialed school counselor servicing the school. Could be better, but better than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

Fantastic School! Great teachers, sold program!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Two or more races 12% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Suzanne Duffy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

154 East Janss Road
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360
Phone: (805) 495-9340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Acacia Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Montessori of the Oaks
Thousand Oaks, CA


Life Adventures Acadamy
Thousand Oaks, CA


Glenwood Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Conejo Jewish Day School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Bethany Christian School
Thousand Oaks, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT