Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Godspeak Calvary Chapel, Little Oaks School

Private | K | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Thousand Oaks

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $515,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2013

I took a tour of the school today. Before that I had spoken to the principal several times and had visited the school once. As a former preschool teacher and current elementary school teacher I know what to look for in a school. I was not impressed with teacher quality and the rudeness and unprofessional manner of the principal was concerning. I didn't see any evidence of parental involvement and the place looked very uninviting to parents. I would never under any circumstances put my child in this facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

My daughter started going her about 2 months ago and we could not be happier. The staff and teachers are amazing. My daughter comes home singing and more interactive then ever. She loves it her and she is learning a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Warm, friendly and inviting, couldn't think of a better place to send my 2yo. Our daughter has adjusted so well to her school and comes home asking to see her teachers! We look forward to continuing our relationship with our Little Oaks family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

I have been close to this school for 4 years and watched as huge investments have been made into staff, facilities, security and curriculum. The new Classical Christian Education focus for 2013 is exciting


Posted March 12, 2013

Not strong accedemically. Teachers not experienced. I got called at work all the time with simple questions that an expereinced teacher could have handled. Not much teaching going on. I also agree with some of the other comments on this sheet. My child was picked on, and the school would just send my child home. Once when my mom went to pick up my child from school, the principal asked who she was here for. My mom told her, and the principal actually rolled her eyes and groaned. How professional is that? When I asked about teaching the kids how to write their letters (for a child about to go to kindergarten the next year), the teacher's response was, "Oh, you're the first one who has ever asked me that. We don't teach that yet." I have transferred my child out to another school, and now my child is behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

I have had 2 children attend this preschool and I cannot say enough good things about it. The teachers are loving and nurturing. The program is superior to others in the area. My children were more prepared for elementary school than most of their peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I Currently have two kids attending the school, i echo the mom below on how you will be fooled by their fakeness. Very unproffessional administrator with funky unproffessional name that can only manage a summer camp or cheering team. Teachers are not compassionate and have no connection with kids. Seems like parents run the school and administrator has no say but to do as they wish. very bad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Little Oaks is truly a gem in the Thousand Oaks community. Completely agree with previous positive reviews - academics are unbelievable, character building is strong, teachers are friendly and caring. The school does get an occasional difficult child (which school doesn't) and they deal with the situation in a firm yet positive way. I've seen it first hand when my daughter attended the school last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I don't know what the parent below is talking about.? My children have gone to this school for several years - from preschool to elementary. CAN'T SAY ENOUGHT GOOD THINGS! It is a wonderful environment for children that need a small and nuturing environment. The retention rate in preschool is huge - which totally goes against what below parent states. The teachers are bubbly and loving. Admin and staff always have a door open. I would and have recommended this school! It is truly a "hidden treasure" in the Conejo Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

I used to sing the praises of this school, that is until their teachers as well as their admin's did nothing but label my child with labels they have no idea what they are talking about, nor do they have the credentials to do so. They allowed a child to bully my children yet they kicked out my child. They single handedly destroyed my child's self esteem, to the point my child was terrified to even walk in the gate! And not once during this whole experience did their head master contact me. Seems to me if a school was so concerned with the well being of their children he would take a more active role in his administrators as well as teachers and what's going on in their classroom, and he would have contacted the parents. Don't be fooled by the fakeness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

Have been at this school the last 4 years, academics, teachers and character development are top notch. Every staff member is dedicated to children and truly cares. Character counts here and your child will be nurtured both academically and socially. Two years ago there was an ownership change from private non parochial to now Calvary Chapel Church ownership. With that change the excellent staff has remained but enrollment has plummeted. Many families were turned off by the church's political involvement and the move toward a Christian based curriculum. That said, the school continues to provide excellent academics in a small nurturing environment. I can't say enough about the teachers and staff, most of whom have been committed to the school for 10-20 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter goes to this school, she is in second grade and this was her first year. She LOVES this school and so do we. The ENTIRE school loves your child and really do care about their future. This is an amazing school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

This school is inundated with the best instructor's in the Conejo Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

my son has been attending Little oaks school for the passed three years he has flourished into A strong academic student. He loves going to school now, I am so happy we found Little Oaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

I have two children who have graduated from Little Oaks School and are thriving academically and socially. I attribute their success to the excellent program Little Oaks offers. I found it to be well rounded and staffed with outstanding teachers and administrators. The facility is unique, cheerful and nurturing. I highly recommend this school for any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

This is my son's second day and so far, he seems to enjoy himself. His first day, however he did come home extremely thirsty. Most likely an adjstment for him... He seemed happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

My two children attended this school several years ago and we loved the staff and administration. They were well prepared to go to middle school and have great memories of their years at Little Oaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberly mack
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (805) 495-7356

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 North Skyline Drive
Thousand Oaks, CA 91362
Website: Click here
Phone: (805) 495-5513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Westlake Montessori School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Arbor Academy
Thousand Oaks, CA


Conejo Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA



Hillcrest Christian
Thousand Oaks, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT