Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Hilary's Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 255 students

Educating the whole child in a community of faith.

 

Living in Tiburon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 19, 2012

I would encourage anyone interested in Saint Hilary School to please contact me for a tour. We offer a two-year kindergarten program through 8 curriculum encompassing academics, community and spirituality. Each of these guiding principles serves as a pillar of our "whole child" educational approach.

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

AMAZING SCHOOL!!! My kids love EVERY day at this school...they are challenged academically, have made great friends and the school community is outstanding. In addition to teaching Spanish, Art and Music given each week to students there are also a wide variety of extracurricular activities offered-chess, Mandarin, golf, fashion design, ceramics, drama...this list is endless! We toured many schools and St. Hilary just had that feeling... we knew our kids would be happy and thrive there. It truly is a special place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2014

I have been at Saint Hilary School for 9 years and I have loved every single one of them. I strongly encourage families looking for a Catholic School in the Bay Area to tour Saint Hilary's. I am so sad that I am graduating this year, but I hope that other families will be able to have the same amazing experience I had. There is a very strong sense of community and the students are kind and respectful. I really hope that you will consider this school!


Posted September 18, 2013

Saint hilary School is a great school community. Our teachers inspire students to be their best in all area - intellectually, socially, and spirituality. With energy, professionalism, and integrity, we learn with our students. We encourage the students to achieve their own success in all areas of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is the best investment you will ever make for the development of your child. It's a loving place that constantly aspires to be the best school. Beyond excellent academics, this school helps children become productive adults with integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Our family believes that education is not just about test scores. Preparing our children for success in life is about values, self confidence, friendships and respect ....as well as excellent academics. We are on our third year at St. Hilary and could not be happier. The community of families is amazing. The core values of respect, generosity, and kindness are part of both the academic culture and the family culture. We love watching how our children are treated as friends by the other kids in every grade...K-8. There are many in Marin County that would not think to look to a Catholic School as the best place to educate their children. Without a doubt, we feel values and faith based education is providing our children with the perfect blend of academic excellence and core values and self confidence that will best prepare them for success as they go forward in school and in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

Saint Hilary offers my children more than I could hope for. The culture is vibrant and nuturing. The academic standards are high and the students rise to meet them. We are thrilled to be part of such and amazing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

My kids love it here. They are an integral part of a warm community of teachers and families. The school is led by a principal with a passion for education and personal growth. The school staff take an active interest in my children. My kds are noticed here and challenged through plenty of one-on-one personalized attention and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

This preK-Grade 8 school is wonderful. A new (into his 3rd year) Principal is bringing the latest and best practices to the campus. The teachers are strong and the community is supportive. SHS has just been chosen as a Challenge Success school by the Education Department at Stanford University. My two kids are thriving: one in elementary and one in middle school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

this school is terrible and does not teach much religion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

Not being Catholic ourselves we were wary of sending our children to this school but our fears were unfounded. What we found was a nurturing loving environment with a strong sense of community. The education is top shelf and the staff from the principal on down is communicative and responsive. This is not your parents Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Wonderful nurturing enviroment, children are challenged, diferentiated learning and a lot of diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 26%
Hispanic 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Apple Distinguished Program (2014)
  • Apple Distinguished Program (2013)
  • Apple Distinguished Program (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Marie Bordeleau
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • 2 resource specialist availabl
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
52
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
80

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$10000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marin Catholic
Saint Ignatius
Branson
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

765 Hilary Drive
Tiburon, CA 94920
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 435-2224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT