Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Halldale Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 598 students

Our school is best known for a strong academic program.

 

Living in Torrance

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

I want to give a special Thanks to Mrs. Lee (Kinder Garden Teacher) and Ms. Lira (Pre-K Teacher) They are the BEST teachers, loving, and caring. Always looking out for their students. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Best elementary school in the South Bay Area! Caring staff, dedicated teachers and excellent parent involvement. I love being part of this school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Halldale elementary is a school with strong teaching strategies, high grading standards, emphasis in reading, faculty leadership, and a safe environment. The principal is great with the students, parents, and staff. This school is definitely one of California great schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

Halldale is a unique school with a dedicated staff and faculty. The students here know how much the teachers care about their students and take pride in their school as well. We have excellent leadership, with an outstanding principal . We are all lucky to be at Halldale !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 2, 2013

I believe that Halldale Ave is one of the best LAUSD elementary schools in the district. This commentary comes from a former student of this school. My daughters have the distinct pleasure of attending this school now. They are currently in Kindergarten and 2nd grade. Both of my daughters have seen first hand the passion and dedication of the excellent teachers here at Halldale. Not only do the educators make learning fun, this excellence in learning gets transmitted to their students. I believe the educators here at Halldale are some of the most innovative and exceptional teachers I have ever met. Another aspect of this school that I like is that the principal of the school is very involved in her students education. She even does special art classes for the students that my daughters extremely enjoy. I would highly recommend this school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

I am the parent of a 6th and 1st grader. My son attended Halldale Avenue from kindergarten through 5th grade. He is currently in the School of Advanced Studies program in a reputable LAUSD middle school. I strongly believe that my son's academic success is a result of the hard work and dedication from his teachers at Halldale (yes, even his kindergarten teacher). My 1st grader is performing exceptionally well and I am pleased with the quality of education she is receiving. I don t understand the recent allegations posted here. I have spent countless hours volunteering in different classrooms/grade levels in the past 6 years and not once have I experienced anything even remotely close to what has been posted. The teachers at this school love what they do and are not only competent and knowledgeable but also caring and compassionate. I'm sorry but one negative review is not going to undo all the good that Halldale has offered many, MANY children, including my own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

I am beyond happy about my children coming to Halldale Avenue. We came from another LAUSD school in the area and the improvements are visible everyday. To start the teachers are so dedicated to the students ( I have a 1st grader and a kindner). They are provided with great motiving rewards that I have begun to follow in our own home because they work so well! The principle is actively involved in both of my children's educations! I see her in the classes everyday from teaching lessons to checking in. I am an involved parent and I volunteer often so I feel I can give an honest daily opinion of what really goes on in the class rooms. There are many parent volunteers at Halldale that work side by side with these amazing teachers to help in our children's education in stead of making false claims of the teachings! I encourage parents to feel excited to become a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

I have been at Halldale Avenue Elementary School as a volunteer for 8 years. I know all of the teacher's and staff, they all love and care about what they do. If someone is unhappy, maybe they should move on to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Correction to the comment below. I have one in Kinder and one in 4th grade. Not 3rd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I HAVE BEEN WORKING AT HALLDALE FOR OVER 17 YEARS AND IN THOSE 17 YEARS I HAVE NOTICED HARD WORKING AND DEDICATED TEACHERS AT HALLDALE. THEY GO ABOVE AND BEYOND THEIR SCOPE OF WORK. IT SADDENS ME THAT SOME PARENT WHO KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT OUR TEACHERS IS QUICK TO JUDGE SPECIFIC TEACHERS. MY ADVICE TO THAT PARENT IS THAT IF YOU ARE NOT HAPPY WITH HALLDALE AVE SCHOOL, YOU WILL NEVER BE HAPPY ANYWHERE BECAUSE HALLDALE AVE IS AN EXCELLENT SCHOOL..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2013

i HAVE BEEN A PARENT/STAFF MEMBER AT HALLDALE AVENUE FOR OVER 6 YEARS AND AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE DEDICATED AND LOVING TEACHING STAFF AT THIS SCHOOL. IT IS AN HONOR FOR ME TO BE PART OF THIS SMALL SCHOOL COMMUNITY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

Halldale Elem. IS a great school. The principal, faculty, and staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. Parents here understand that their involvement in their children's education is necessary. Three of my children attend Halldale Elem.and are doing fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

My daughter came to this school for 5 years. She has had a perfect time there. The after-school program really helped me, I didn't have to pay someone to take care out of school. She played sports and did activities while I was getting ready to pick her up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My daughter attended this school from K-2 and I loved this school. The parents are very involved and the teachers were great. She also attended the after school program and the staff was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

I want to congratulate the Principal for adding to our children in Halldale an after care program, Mitch Corp. I think that is an excellent programs for our kids. The staff and the co-founder of the program is always in good care of our children, along with their school curriculum and extra activities such as arts, sports and even trips around the city to museums, recreational parks, etc... that our kids can learn history and at the same time have safe fun while we parents work. I encourage the school to continue and the parents to support this program for during school year calendar and summer break. Working parents like me is hard to find a good program along with caring staff such as this for our kids. Thank you again Halldale Principal for continuing caring in our children's academics and after care programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This is a great little elementary school. My oldest son has attended 1-5 grades. There are some really great teachers, but there are also some teachers that don't work with all personalities. The principal is terrific. She has a great connection with the kids. There isn't much for extracuricular activities. No sports or music or arts programs. They also don't have much to offer in the way of after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Great school with motivated teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2005

The quality of the Academic Program is excellent. Both of my kids were enrolled into the Gate Program and since the 1st grade have achieved above average scores on the standardized testing. There is no longer a music program offered, but they are always putting on Musical Performances of high caliber, great coreography. Many parents are involved in the school's activitites
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I think halldale is the best elementary school around the teachers are outstanding and the principle is the best anyone could ask for there is no problem to big or small she is there to help i highly recommend this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

My 2 daughters transferred from private schools to Halldale Elementary School. I thought that they would be bored in this school because they would be too advanced. Much to my amazement and my childrens, they were challenged by their respective teachers and asked to do extra work if they already knew the material. I was extremely please with the teachers. They have a unique and interesting way to get students involved in classroom work. The teachers try to get the attention of those students who tend to lag behind. My hats off to the teachers and principal at Halldale Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

835

Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

835

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females72%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students62%
Females68%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability23%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females56%
Males24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)26%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students75%
Females81%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females77%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state79%

Math

All Students84%
Females86%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females69%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students81%
Females88%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%

Science

All Students59%
Females67%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
Asian 12%
Black 4%
White 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
English language learners 26%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 494 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
76%
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
90%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 

Employees

This school

 
98%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
86%
 

Students

This school

 
67%
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
94%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
87%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents20038%
Students25989%
Employees3555%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Deborah Evers Allen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (310) 328-7928

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Glee Club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Halldale Avenue is a community of learners that appreciates the diversity of all. It is a warm, friendly place where strong academics takes place. It is a place where the importance of the literacy and math skills is stressed, and yet there is a strong appreciation for the arts and what it brings to education of the whole child.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
125
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
125

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fleming Middle School
Stephen White MIddle School
Dodson Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21514 Halldale Avenue
Torrance, CA 90501
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 328-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT