Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howard Wood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

Hello my name is Travien Sears and I was the second semester student council president Wood is an amazing environment for not only students but also for parents. Wood was my school for 6 years total and it was so much fun, not only playful but they made academics a lot easier. I thing wood deserved the 2 California distinguished school awards it got!!!!


Posted July 24, 2014

I have been very happy with wood. All 3 of my kids go, or have gone there and between them we have experienced every grade. The best strength is their teachers. In our three years at wood we have not had a bad teacher. In fact all seven teachers we have had have been excellent. Each has connected to our kids, ran an organized classroom, and challenged our academically inclined kids. The school is small and has a wonderful family feel. The ladies in the front office are wonderful and set a warm and frendily atmosphere. Two areas to improve are: I hear that the relationship between the principle and the teachers is somewhat strained and needs improvement. Also last year they started split grade classrooms which I am not a fan of. My friends had kids is these split classes and some worked well and some where strained. I'm sure we will have a split class this up coming year and I will repost to report how it goes. Overall a good school, with a family feel and strong teachers. Ps: the refurbishment project that was completed last year has made the physical look and feel of school excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

Since 2009 when the new principal stepped in, this school went downhill at the speed of the rocket ship because of no leadership , no discipline and no educational focus.Teachers are not inspired....the classrooms look like they are from the 80s, it smells bad inside too....There is no way to save this school except changing the whole management! They just remodeling the clasrooms, but this is not enough..... it's just bad....from the inside...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

The leadership is absolutely awful here!! I'm sad that I decided to send my daughter here!! The principal is extremely unorganized and does not seem to have her priorities straight. The teachers and the staff seem well qualified and the school is small which is why i decided to send my daughter but because of the lack of leadership they are just not into it. To top it off I just got a letter stating that wood is barley passing the California standard testing scores and now other kids from less desirable neighborhoods are going to be bused in!! Absolutely unacceptable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

This school has been not only excellent academic place, also a close friendly, family oriented enviroment world to my kids. Wooks school will be missed by us a lot since we are relocated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

This school has been an excellent environment for all of my children. From the teachers, to the principal, to the support staff -- they're terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I totally agree about the principal. He's amazing. He's really shown that he cares about the children and their families. I have two boys and they are flourishing with the leadership of their teachers and principal. I never want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Howard Wood has the best principal and I believe that he cares greatly about the students first then the school. My daught is blossoming at Howard Wood mentally and academically!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

I have found Wood Elementary to be an excellent school. My child is doing well academically and socially and due to an environment that recognizes safety, friendship, respect, responsibility and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

This school has been a major disappointment. Wood Elementary did not give our child a chance. They assessed him without our permission and gave him the wrong assessment of his personality. They did not help acclimate him into the classroom. Our son is 5 and started in their kindergarten class. We transferred him after 3 weeks - after we tried to talk to the teacher and the principal of the school. They did nothing for us. Now, at his new school, the teacher sent a certificate/award of excellence in my son's outstanding abilities to make new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Wood Elementary is a family in itself. It became a distinguished school this year and my two children love it there. We are extremely pleased and proud to part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

This school is truly a blessing. The atmosphere is great. I thought it would be hard for my daughter to make a smooth transaction from private school to public school, but woods made it so easy. This is my daughters second year and she loves every bit of school. My daughters weakess subject is math and the teachers have worked wonders with her not to mention the great programs offered, like after school and also the learning center on campus. Woods is truly a breath of fresh air.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

I wish they had more excurricular activities (though they run a chess club in the spring, it's only for 6 weeks)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2003

When my son attend Wood Elementary, Dr Feldman was principal. He was tested and we became aware of a learning disability. I appreciated the concern of the teachers and staff who worked with my son. I am very pleased that he attended Wood at that time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

842

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

842

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females61%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females65%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females38%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females73%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females72%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females86%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females80%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state69%

Math

All Students71%
Females67%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Science

All Students63%
Females61%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
White 25%
Asian 13%
Two or more races 11%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
English language learners 12%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Teresa Lanphere
Fax number
  • (310) 972-6484

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2250 West 235th Street
Torrance, CA 90501
Phone: (310) 533-4484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Coastal Academy
Lomita, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT