Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Truckee, CA
Students enrolled: 516
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenshire Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
I have had 2 children go though Glenshire with completely different needs. Both needs were met and addressed openly with my opinion in mind. Every school in the Tahoe Truckee area has its pros and cons, you just need to find the school that fits your CHILD the best.

Glenshire Elementary School 4

Posted December 14, 2011
- a parent
Glenshire Elementary is a wonderful school with extremely talented and dedicated staff. The principal is fantastic - she leads her staff with enthusiasm and has high expectations for her staff and all students. She is very receptIve to parent participation and input. The PTO is very active and supportive and provides enrichment programs to students. Parent volunteering is common and consistent and provides a great community feeling. Teachers at Glenshire obviously love their job and love the kids. It's the best learning environment. Student's art and projects decorate the halls of the school. An improvement I would lime to see throughout the district is more science education.


Glenshire Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
wow. what a disappointment. i kept hearing how GREAT "glenshire el" is, but really, it's quite bad. there is no art, no foreign language, HUGE class sizes. for PE, the kids walk around the school - how depressing! i made an appointment to talk to the principle, wondering what is going on - what can be done? her automatic response was "well, it's just gonna get worse." we changed schools the next week (my kids are now at "custom learning" in tahoe donner). glenshire elementary school is just plain BAD. i feel sorry for the parents who believe otherwise.

Glenshire Elementary School 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
A lot of time talking and nothing getting done. Frustrated teachers and poor leadership. The school needs to teach the kids not push them through.

Glenshire Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Glenshire Elementary has an amazing staff, students, parents. Children thrive in this wonderful environment.


Glenshire Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This is the greatest elementary school in the entire region, bringing the outdoors into the curriculum

Glenshire Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Glenshire Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2008
- a parent
Although our fifth grader only attended this school for half a year, for logistical reasons, we could not have been more pleased. An amazing 5th grade teacher - Mrs. B. - plus a full time assistant teacher and a rotation of parent volunteers created an environment where each and every child received individual attention and mentoring. The children thrive and perform at a high level in improving their academic and social skills. The faculty do a fantastic job running the school and a high level of parent participation enables this school to offer a great K-5 education. Great field trips including an overnight to Pigeon Point Lighthouse, trips to Sagehen Field Station, Art galleries etc. A great academic, inclusive, integrated and caring school.


Glenshire Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Glenshire Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 children that attend Glenshire. They have very different needs and both are having great success at the school. The teachers are very open to ideas and communication.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenshire Elementary School
10990 Dorchester, Truckee, CA  96161
(530) 582-7675
Last modified Glenshire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenshire Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top