Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Truckee, CA
Students enrolled: 632

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tahoe Truckee High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a student
Amazing! Though the electives lack depth, the entirety of the science and math departments are incredible.

Tahoe Truckee High School 1

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tahoe Truckee High School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
I had two children go through this high school, and I couldn't be more pleased with he education they received. The AP and Honors classes exceed those offered at private academic prep schools, the teachers are more caring and seem to sacrifice a lot of their own time to help students and prepare lessons, etc. I

Tahoe Truckee High School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent here at Truckee and have sent two children through and have two more going through the high school presently. The administration and teaching staff have done wonders with my kids. As with most schools, you get out what you put in, and my children have done very well thanks to the support and guidance of the staff there. My two oldest have graduated from college (one with honors) and felt that they were well prepared by the school educational program, as well as the social environment and activities that they participated in while there. Many of the athletic programs have won numerous state titles athletically as well as academically, and have good staffs in place that win often, but not winning at the cost of the student-athletes. All of my kids have or are playing sports at Truckee and have learned very valuable lessons about succeeding.

Tahoe Truckee High School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a teacher
Wonderful school in a wonderful town.


Tahoe Truckee High School 4

Posted September 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tahoe Truckee High School 4

Posted August 29, 2008
- a student
I am a student at Truckee High as well as a band student. I have moved nine times and out of all the schools I have been to Truckee High is definitely the best. This last summer, they renovated the school and it looks much better. In terms of the teachers, it all depends on who you have. So some teachers can be crummy, and thats a fact. But they all want you to do well and if thats what you want to do then they will help. We have something called a block schedule where we take a full years class in half a years time. Sometimes classes can be boring but hey, thats high school. I find that the block schedule is much more forgiving and gives less homework than having seven or eight classes in one day. All in all this High School is a great one!

Tahoe Truckee High School 1

Posted March 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Tahoe Truckee High School 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
I have had two girls go through this high school. They are both bright and struggled. The teachers are generally terrible. The parent support is grim. The funding is low. They have been on probation with the state for several years. They are on a four class block schedule which is terrible. The kids take a full year's class in a half year;s time, classes are over an hour each. The kids get bored. The teachers are tired and show movies a lot instead of teaching. There is little support for extracurricular activities, no choir. They are both in band, which has saved them. The band kids are anti-drugs/drinking and very active academically. The band instructor is excellent and well liked. I have two more kids. We're moving before either of them hits high school, mostly because I will not send more kids through this school.

Tahoe Truckee High School 1

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
Although there is a strong sense of tradition at THS, the administration is weak.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tahoe Truckee High School
11603 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA  96161
(530) 582-2500
Last modified Tahoe Truckee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tahoe Truckee High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top