Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Truckee, CA
Students enrolled: 600
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I love how Truckee Elementary continually challenges and encourages it's students to become strong, efficient and passionate readers. Both my children started their 2014-15 school year 1-1.5 grades below their grade levels in reading. This is after having spent a year at Creekside Charter in Squaw Valley. During their time at Truckee El this past year, both kids jumped up 3 grade levels in their reading!

Truckee Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2015
- a community member
My daughter started 2nd grade in the 90th percentile and was eager to learn. By the end of the 2nd grade, she was in the 30th percentile and had no interest in attending class. The school should consider a different approach for how they handle ESL students. I'm glad and happy to see their focus with improving the performance of ESL students, but it shouldn't be at the expense of the kids whose first language is English.


Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I don't believe I would have wanted my children to attend any other school in the District. Truckee Elementary has an amazing teaching staff, who care deeply about the success of all students. The teachers work to not only teach the crucial skills needed to learn to read and do math, but to find ways to enrich the children's learning in so many other ways. The school has an envio-lution club which focuses on waste reduction and a food waste recycling program by using red worms to eat food that would have been thrown away. They have an amazing science program for 5th grade students that one of the teachers created and has UC Berekley staff teaching at the 3 day overnight program in the Tahoe National Forest. An after school music education program is offered throughout the year and led by one of the teachers. This is free of cost and children learn to play an instrument of choice and are taught by high school students. Art, writing, and science displays grace the halls of the main building. And to add to all this the school has an active and wonderful PTO. The parents give so much to the school. Their quest to provide enrichment during and after school goes above and beyond.

Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
I have had my older three go through Truckee El and my younger two are now starting.... It IS a great school with wonderful staff and excellent educators. I am VERY pleased and proud of my lil' Truckee Cubs.

Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
The educator's and staff at Truckee El do a wonderful job with all the children.


Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
This school is about community. Many parents involved, teachers who really care about the kids, and effort from the whole community to make Truckee El. a great school

Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of kindergartener and a 1st grader, I am very supportive of what this school has done with the resources given. There's always room for improvement no matter where you are and I'm confident that my children are on task with their education while blossoming socially. The teachers we've had have demonstrated a healthy combination of discipline and kindness. We are grateful to have them!

Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Truckee Elementary has superseded our expectations. What a wonderful place for my child to learn and grow!


Truckee Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Truckee Elementary School is an important part of this community. Aside from the normal educational classes, the teachers are looking for different ways to help their students. There are various programs designed to help the children socialize properly within the existing community, and there s a special reading program to assist those children that are having a more difficult time. There is a group of volunteers that go to this school with their dogs, and the children with reading challenges read to the dogs. This program has helped a significant number of children and is a different way to help them be better readers

Truckee Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with the growth of our children at Truckee El. The teachers make sure to know and work with each student's strengths, weaknesses, and interests, both individually and in groups. We feel that the relationship between teachers, families and staff is as a team. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. We take pride in our cultural diversity. Truckee El has blossomed under the leadership of its principal and teachers. They are truly developing students to strengthen the community as a whole, in addition to developing intelligent, well-rounded individuals.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Truckee Elementary School
11911 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA  96161
(530) 582-2650
Last modified Truckee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Truckee Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top