Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful, have a high level of teaching, my son is very happy to be part it. But I have a complaint, he had violin lessons for 2 years earlier in the evening program that gave part of the school district tustin, which allowed him to be part of the school orchestra with the recommendation of the Director of that group, unfortunately in that year the'm terrified the director of the orchestra in Pioneer, lack patience, neglect, ill-treatment and zero tolerance of the teacher towards all students, especially those who do not have additional private lessons . Never spoke with you on any questions and in spite of that he wanted to continue with the orchestra the following school year because loves music. He had to make a decision because of their schedules, could not be back in the orchestra group unless it was in chamber orchestra ... (which he corresponded by time in orchestras). It was flatly rejected by the teacher without listening to their reasons and their dreams in music, the wanted to have the opportunity that corresponded and was denied. That was very hard for my child get over it soon I hope. For the rest is an excellent school. !

Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Pioneer is an excellent school, offering an environment where striving for top grades is the norm. This school has a safe environment, due to strict adhearence to rules, so students can spend all their time learning. Though is has over 1300 students, it has a small school feel. Our son has had great teachers, and the staff has always been extremely helpful. The PTO is very active, so the school is able to raise funds and supplement areas where State funnding has been cut. We highly recommend this school.


Pioneer Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Fabulous music program. It is a serious class and not for goofing off but for those willing to work it is an incredible experience. Very big school, so it can be a rough transition from elementary. It really is too big. Some excellent teachers. Fairly diverse student body. Pedagogy not inspired but it is solid.

Pioneer Middle School 4

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
Introductory Band is not recommended for children with no musical background. The music teacher s specialty is in conducting skilled child musicians, who already know how to play an instrument & know the music basics. His dictatorial teaching style is best for self-directed children, who can win awards & sit perfectly still 45 minutes each day, 5 days a week, while telling them what to do. Therefore, a prerequisite for Beginning Band should be prior musical training. There is little tolerance & patience for those who do not immediately pick up the lesson. The teacher lacks the patience to explain how to work an instrument & read music. He is unapproachable to novice musicians because he reprimands & chides those who ask for help. Additionally, the teacher provided a hostile & confrontational environment whenever the restlessness of the solid B+ student was addressed with the student, during or after, class, or the parent. He was clearly resolved to limiting the student to the first semester. It is severely disappointing that such an abusive introduction could potentially discourage future musicians from the wonderful world of music.

Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a community member
Pioneer is one of the GREATEST middle schools in the nation. It has won TWO California Distinguished School awards, one NATIONAL Blue Ribbon School award, and it has been ranked the NUMBER ONE school in Orange County. The teachers and staff work extremely hard to make sure students get excellent grades. After all, Pioneer's motto is "To maximize every student's academic potential and personal responsibility." People have said that there are too many students at Pioneer, but that is because the school is so awesome, over a THOUSAND families want their kids to go there. ALSO: Pioneer's Band and Orchestra plays "like the NY Philharmonic" and has performed at Disneyland for over 10 years. Why SHOULDN'T you go to Pioneer? (:


Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2009
- a student
I'm in the 8th grade this year and this school has brought me nothing but happiness. It is a wonderful school and I've loved every minute that I've had at Pioneer. All of my teachers that I have or had were phenomenal and I couldn't think of a better school that I would want to go to. Thank you for the great times I had. GO WILDCATS! :D


Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Pioneer is so awesome ... all the teachers are cool and the new prcincipal is great and there is nothing bad to say about Pioneer Middle School. Their motto is 'To maximize every student's academic potential and personal responsibility.'

Pioneer Middle School 5

Posted March 28, 2009
- a student
An excellent school. Probably one of the greatest public middle schools in California. Received both a Blue Ribbon and California Distinguished School awards. The teachers are great and the education is amazing. Great school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Middle School
2700 Pioneer Road, Tustin, CA  92782
(714) 730-7534
Last modified Pioneer Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pioneer Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top