Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

399 students|Tustin Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
Benson has been such a blessing! We love the family feel. Everyone is always willing to help. The teachers and staff genuinely care about ALL the children. So proud to be a Benson Bear!! Best principal and teachers EVER!

Barbara Benson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
I'm thankful for Ms. Erickson, her passion for teaching shows daily in and out of her classroom. She is very involved with student council and sports. She is amazing!! She makes Benson a fun and safe place to learn. THANK YOU!


Barbara Benson Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
So grateful for the principal Mrs. Vela! She is so involved with the students and she brings a smart, balanced mood to the school.

Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
My boys are in their third year at Benson and we love it! The teachers have all been wonderful - caring and challenging. I appreciate the high standards at this small school.

Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 children at Benson. I like the atmoshephere and teamwork i see here. Not only do the implement technology in the classrooms in a fun innovative way. Staff, teachers and administrators are committed to providing a fun and safe learning environment. This school still has art & music plus a fantastic librarian. Great PTO I encourage anyone interested in this school to take the time to visit.


Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
My child attends on an Intra-district transfer. I actually selected Benson Elementary over our home school. They incorporate updated technology for a greater learning experience and provide outstanding extra curricular activities. The school has a great mix of students and the teaching staff is excellent. We were lucky enough to have Ms. Ezaki as my child's Kindergarten teacher. So the first experience at school was a very positive one. Ms. Mayer in the office is always helpful and kind. Additional plus, the Principal Ms. Vela has brought great programs to the school, such as the Brave program from the Joyful Child Foundation. We are looking forward to our youngest child attending next year.

Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
I have had both of my kids at this school since kindergarten. One is in middle school now and my youngest is in his final year at Benson. I have had the opportunity to interact with ALL the teachers in one way or another. I feel that these teachers give their heart and soul and most importantly, their time to each and every one of the students at Benson. Both my children have thrived and come into their own, have been on honor roll, made beautiful work of art, been part of all the activities, and I contribute that to the Benson staff. I'm so very glad that my family has had such a wonderful experience at such a wonderful school. You would be wise to look into this great little hidden jewel of a school.

Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a teacher
Barbara Benson Elementary is a truly inclusive school for students of all ability levels. Here at Benson we encourage all students to reach their full potential and be proud of their work, school and community. I am so proud to be a part of Benson Elementary.


Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a community member
Teachers and staff genuinely care about the well-being of the whole child at Benson Elementary. It's an academically rigorous, technology-forward, and supportive learning environment for all students. I highly recommend this hidden gem!

Barbara Benson Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
Benson is an amazing little school with a giant heart! I have two children at Benson. We tried Tustin Ranch after moving into the area, because besides TMA it is THE school most parents think is best. I knew by the second day I had made a huge mistake. Benson has an amazing staff. Mr. Ricky is popular with all the kids & parents alike. Mrs. Vela is approachable and concerned about each student. As former technology coordinator for the district, Mrs. Vela and the teaching staff have made advanced technology a part of daily learning. Due to its small size, 5th grade teachers know kindergarteners by name. All of the teaching staff above 3rd grade are GATE trained. Finally, Benson has several special day classes for special needs students. It is a diverse little school with a more realistic picture of what it means to live in a diverse society than many OC schools. One of my children has some learning challenges, and Benson teachers, Resource teacher and staff have been amazing in supporting and accommodating him in the general education environment. Benson is a hidden little gem, and is the "Cheers" of Tustin Unified. It is a family oriented, child centered school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barbara Benson Elementary School
12712 Elizabeth Way, Tustin, CA  92780-2811
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (714) 730-7531
Last modified Barbara Benson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top