Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbus Tustin Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tustin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2010

im a current magnet student and i think that ct is the best this is my last year at ct and lets just say that the kids there are not so nice but ingore it because trust me i have been picked on and i will be honest.... i have picked on some kids..... but all the teachers are nice the dance are o-mazing and the memories are unforgettable :D


Posted April 3, 2010

its excellent because they teach you in a fun way and the teachers know how to teach
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

I am a newcomer at C.T. because I am a sixth grader. So far, I think that C.T. is a wonderful school! The teachers are so nice there, well at least the Magnet teachers are. I am not so sure about the regular ed teachers, as I do not know them. Magnet is a great program and it helps you learn at a faster pace, but you remember what you learned. The kids in the Magnet program do not goof off and they are always on task. GO BULLDOGS! [:
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

The teachers and staff are great and have done a wonderful job teaching my two sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

The teachers r professional, the principle is nice, and the kids r mean. i am pretty short so i am the but of most jokes but i have 2 good friends. CT is fun 2 go 2 and i like it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

I'm a current student at CTMS. It's okay. I'm a magnet student too, and I have to agree with the review posted on August 4th. I think too many of the students are caught up in being cool rather than focusing on schoolwork.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

I am a former student from CT(now to become a tenth grader) and I have to it was alright. The eduation and stuff was pretty good but I agree with the comment below mine: The kids are not all that nice at some points. There are racial problems also if you are not part of the race with the most people. My friend once told me he saw some kids doing drugs in the bathroom. But that is not that common. People didn't really bother me because I am tall and usually have a serious face. But for others, they are not that lucky.


Posted August 4, 2009

i'm a 7th grader at columbus tustin and i have had some 'interesting' experiences there...some good,and some bad.i am in the magnet program,and to me the school would be way better if the kids were a little,let me say....'nicer'. i love the academics and i adore the teachers and field trips,but the kids aren't always so friendly.its a great school,but i just wanna warn you.the week ones better watch out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

I'm a parent of a magnet student and given the choice I wouldn't send my daughter anywhere but Columbus Tustin. There's a great group of teachers and good parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Columbus Tustin is a good school with lots more potential. Like most schools there are challenges. CT has proven to challenge and support my child through the 'Magnet' program. Now in high school, she learned such great study habits at CT, she is not stressed out over her honors classes at all. My son is starting at CT, and with a new principal we are excited about a new year. All schools have challenges. If you don't like what you see or hear, maybe you should try changing it before you abandon it. And, for the parent that had nothing good to say about CT, too bad you couldn't explain what it is about the school you don't like. Some of us would've liked to answer you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I'm a student at C.T going into eighth grade and I think my school is 'O.K.' It's got a great Physical Education program with great P.E teachers. As far as academics is concerned, I would say they are average. That is speaking for the kids not in the 'Magnet Program.' The 'Magnet Program' is very good and a lot of smart people are in it. The seventh grade honors core teacher is tough but a good teacher. The eighth grade honors core teacher is really cool. O.K, that's it. GO CT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

I do not recommend columbus tustin middle school, at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2004

I'm very happy that my son had such talanted bright teachers as Monica Azimioara (Math and Science) and Drew Simpson (English) at Columbus Tustin Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2003

I'm very glad my two girls went to CT for middle school. Mr. O'D, the principal, is bringing lots of new ideas to the campus. CT has a wonderful Band/Orchestra program as well as the Science and Math Magnet which is headed up by the TUSD 2003 district teacher of the year, Monica Azimioara.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2003

Columbus Tustin is a very cool school. the school has a great principle. the teachers are professional and full of education. and the students love being a Columbus Tustin Bulldog!! Go C.T Bulldogs!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

841

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

841

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
48%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
91%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females62%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students57%
Females53%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females94%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females60%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students58%
Females53%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students44%
Females50%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to state25%

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females72%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate98%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state68%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Females88%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students54%
Females49%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Science

All Students85%
Females85%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
White 13%
Asian 7%
Black 1%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
English language learners 30%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dean Crow
Fax number
  • (714) 730-7512

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17952 Beneta Way
Tustin, CA 92780
Phone: (714) 730-7352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Spirit Academy
Tustin, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT