Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W. R. Nelson Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tustin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2013

Nelson is a great school. My children have been here for 4 yrs & their teachers really strive to challenge them. Both children are GATE students and they are always challenged thanks to TEAM time. Students in the same grade are grouped by level and each teacher takes a different level for part of the day. They do this for Math & Language. I love it because the lower level kids get the attention they need & the higher levels can go forward further. Technology in this school is very up to date. This year K-4th grades are getting 10 ipads/ class & the 5th graders will each get an ipad to use in class/home. Each class has surround sound with 1 mic for the teacher & 1 for the students. They use Class Dojo schoolwide so parents can login at home to see their child's behavior daily instead of waiting until conferences. Teacher's are using a class webpage called HAIKU to post homework, tests, & upcoming projects or events. I moved my kids here 4 years ago because I didn't like the student attitudes at their other school. Nelson has great students and they don't tolerate bullying. They really emphasize & reward good character. The principal is always cheerful & very helpful. Staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I took my child out of Nelson. Nelson did not challenge our child, they went through 4 teachers in kindergarten in one year, there is no such thing as parking at this school, but require we walk your K children to class and then we had to wait for up to 15 minutes before our kids could go in. It really is a joke. The principal tried, but it was obvious there was no cooperation between the teachers and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

A growing Title I school that is testing high. Teachers actually care. Great kids, no violence/bullying!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2009

Nelson is a wonderful and supportive school overall. Mrs. Poellnitz is the most amazing teacher I have ever met! I wish that I could clone her. She gave my children a wonderful foundation. The only reason I could not give Nelson 5 stars is because of Paula, the receptionist. She is the rudest thing and she should not be the one to greet visitors to the school. She is not bright and there is always a miscommunication. I can't wait until she retires, hopefully soon! Other than her, I am happy with the education that my children have received at W.R. Nelson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

The teachers at Nelson are great! They cater to every level of learning in their classes. Each grade level works together to give every child exactly what they need to do their best. I have two children at Nelson and I'm more impressed every year. As a parent I feel welcome to come to my child's class to watch or volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Nelson continues to be a great elementary school and neighborhood asset. Leadership is good. Teachers are supportive and focused on learning. Our two boys could not have had a better foundation than what they received at Nelson. They and their friends are in college or headed for college--and well prepared for the challenge thanks to the great start they got at Nelson. Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

My daughter is halfway through her kindegarten year at Nelson, and both ehr dad and I are BEYOND happy with the school. We feel involved and engaged with the process on a daily basis. Mrs. Poellnitz is one of those rare and amazing teachers, a woman who cares and loves those kids beyond belief. I am floored; every morning when I drop off my dautghter, kids from the older grades flock around mrs. P to brag about their great test scores and how well they are doing. She's always got a smile, a high-five and a word of encouragement for them all. If you're not happy at Nelson, it means you're not involved. I'm a full-time working mom, too, but I do what I can, when I can. Your kid's education is not up to someone else--it takes YOUR active and engaged particiaption, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

It's so refreshing to see such great reviews posted about a great school! I have had such a wonderful experience at Nelson and I think the staff goes above and beyond their call of duty. In addition, a recent article posted by Bill Gates states that its not the school your at but the teachers you have. The good news is that Nelson is both a great school with great teachers. The teachers at this school make a difference everyday in my childrens lives! Thank you Nelson..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I'm glad there are still a few holdouts left at this school that have kept it from sinking completely. California schools are deteriorating into a morass of third world stature and Nelson is among the victims. Title I means that a majority of the students qualify for free meals, it is not my rule but traditionally lower incomes do not mean higher education standards. Nelson provides 'free daycare' for many, many families. The teachers are wonderful but can only do so much. Are you willing to let your child slip between the cracks? Thank God for Paula the secretary, she runs the school and gives us a glimmer of light. However the tide has turned against us and we will have to do like so many others in our neighborhood and pay for private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I just read that Nelson is one of only 200 schools out of 6000 in California to be recognized as a 2008-2009 Title I Academic Achievement Award School and a CBEE 2009 Honor Roll School. This along with having been named a California Distinguished School in 1997 and 2004 says it all. They have also been recognized for their Response to Instruction program TEAM Time. This is definitely a school that works toward the high achievement of all students. Students are happy and working hard. Parents are supportive and active in volunteering in the school. It is one of the hardest working staffs and principals that I have ever seen at one school.As I read some of the reviews here, I can only say that you can't please every one. As for me, I feel truly blessed to have my children attending W. R. Nelson Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

My child went to Nelson for 2 years before I took him out. I volunteered to try to do my part to help this school. However, it was always the same people doing the help. I'm not raining on the parade for this school, but there's only so much the same help can take. I was not happy with the leadership of the school (and lack of). There were a handful of teachers whom I just love and yet others who just didn't seem to be there to teach to the fullest. I have seen the problems fellow parents discuss (busing in, translation of lessons, English speaking students not getting the same one-on-one time). When a school is stuck in a rut, a dedicated parent must make a decision on how to help broaden their childs future and put them in a place were education is taken seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

I have enjoyed the close knit diverse feel of this school. Nobody puts on any airs at this school! There is a nice mix of homeowners and renters and nobody thinks or acts like they are more superior than the rest. It is just wonderful. Nelson test scores are fantastic, the teachers are outstanding, and the principal is very experienced. What more could you ask for???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

I have taught at Nelson for many years and have seen tremendous changes in our community and student population. As a staff, we are constantly working to adapt our teaching strategies to meet the needs of each and every student. The reality in California is that schools are changing. No longer do we see a heterogeneous student body. We encourage our community to embrace these changes and to support teachers who, even with limited resources due to budget cuts, are working very hard to meet the needs of each student. It is obvious from some of these reviews that many parents do not understand that Nelson faces the same challenges as every other school in California. If you truly want to voice an opinion, write to your representative in Congress and urge them to give support to the teachers who are giving their all to make every student a success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2008

Our family is delighted with Nelson. We volunteer once a week in the classroom and the teachers are first rate and care about the kids. We've seen a noticeable improvement in our children's reading, writing, math and socialization skills. Unlike some places where the kids come pre-programmed and just show up to school, we feel like the staff is actually making a differnce in our children's development. It is easy for the nay sayers to rain on the party. I suppose the web has made it too easy for folks to write complaints rather than act to help. But there are plenty of us here that are makng a difference in these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I really don't see how these fellow parents can actually give this school five stars! I agree with the fellow poster when it comes to the lack of parent involvement. It seems the same parents are doing the PTA & school functions year after year. Most families don't speak English so there is a key reason why there isn't more help with the PTA board. My child is still attending Nelson but this will be their last year. If there was a way for me to afford private school for them the past few years, I would have done so. What would greatly help Nelson is to have a new, fresh principal who is there for the children and parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

I was very unhappy with this school. My child did not get the proper education due to the majority of classtime going into the translation of classwork. Parents are very uninvolved here as well. Not a very close-knit school. There is alot of talk going around about the situation of students being bused in from other cities. As the one parent stated that Nelson is overflowing, well, the busing in of other children is your answer for that one. Our child, along with other close friends, have chosed to take our children out of this school for the sake of their educational future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

There are many fantastic things going on at Nelson Elementary School. The entire staff is top notch and work together as a professional learning community to ensure that every student reaches his or her full potential. The PTA president is just one example of a very dedicated volunteer who won the classified employee of the year award as she also works part time in the computer lab. She works hard day in and day out organizing teams of volunteers for the many great programs that the PTA provides. The principal is also visible and available at all times. He surrounds himself with a leadership team where each member represents their grade level and together as a team the decisions are made. Last but not least, this school has a great mix of students from different ethnic backgrounds which helps prepare them to live and work in our very diverse world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2008

This school is the best. All the teachers are great and expierenced so they are limited by what they don't know. That is what makes a great teacher. 5 stars.........baby!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

It makes me angry to read some of these comments that parents left. They have no idea what is really going on in the classrooms. Lessons are never translated while other students sit and wait. People need to realize that our state is changing, and we have to adapt to those changes. Some parents choose to run away from these changes, but Nelson is the type of school that imbraces them and helps all the kids. Nelson has implimented TEAM Time this year which allows the students to work in a group at their level. Students at every grade are being met where they are at, whether that is below grade level or above. Nelson is a great school and I am proud to be apart of it. Please ignore these bad reviews they don't know what they are talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Sure some teachers are great...but they are stuck between a rock and a hard place. They have no choice but to try to do their job to a no-win situation. Be honest with yourself and step up to the plate and be a conscience parent....this school deserves only a one star...if that!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

829

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

829

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females44%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females52%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females52%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females63%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females81%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females73%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females70%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females59%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students56%
Females54%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
White 14%
Asian 7%
Black 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
English language learners 41%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Laurich
Fax number
  • (714) 730-7557

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14392 Browning Avenue
Tustin, CA 92780
Phone: (714) 730-7536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT