Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Red Hill Lutheran

Private | K-8 | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tustin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2007

I first chose this school because of its proximity to my home and the great things I heard about the pre-school program. I had planned to send my children to public school when they became old enough. Well, they are both old enough now and we aren't leaving! The staff is superb; the teachers are excellent; the prinicipal is amazing and the parents are wonderful. Parent pariticipation is strongly encouraged and I love it. My kids really enjoy having Mom there too. Computer access and learning begins in Preschool which I think is fantastic. The P.E. program for elementary children is exceptional. I especially love the after school optional programs and the summer programs. The coordinator does a fantastic job and the prices are reasonable. Plus, my kids love them. They are learning and having fun! Red Hill Lutheran is a truly fantastic, loving, Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My child attends school at RHL and it is not the 'Christian' experience you would expect from a Christian school. There is a lack of discipline at this school. There is great parent participation at this school, some fairly good teachers, but administration needs to get with the academic times and prepare these kids for high school. Do your research before enrolling your children at RHL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

I have been very impressed with the environment at Red Hill. Our daughter is currently in second grade and has been at the school for two years. The teachers and staff create a Christ-centered environment that offers love and support to the students. The parental involvement is strong and the academic curriculum is fantastic, with a strong music, performing arts, and computer program. Christian principles are stressed from the top down! The environment makes parents feel confident that their children and safe and cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Excellent staff. Excellent school. Great Activities for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

I can't say that my children had a good experience here. We ended up pulling them out and sending them to another Lutheran school that had stronger, more professional administration and more qualified teachers. Great parent involvement. If you don't attend church here, this is probably not the place to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Not too happy with how they run the school enrollment process. It seems as if the school is running a business with all the pre-paid fees and you seem to be in a loop hole with what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I'm very satisfied with the education that Red Hill is providing to my children. Not only is the teaching based on a Christian perspective, but the teachers, staff, and administration take the time to answer any questions or concerns that I might have. I highly recommend any interested party to not only take a tour and meet your child's prospective teacher and principal, but also to compare this school with other private and public schools in Orange County. You won't be dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

My daughter has been at Red Hill since preschool, she is currently in third grade. The principal is outstanding and makes improvements every year. She has updated the curriculum for all grade levels, improved the playground, and hired degreed teachers. My daughter receives personal attention, and has flourished in the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Lousy school with the worst principal ever. Do not send you children to this school. The kids at this are given good grades even there standarized test scores will show that the grades are not warranted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My child attended Red Hill Lutheran for 3 solid years. It seemed as if my child didn't enjoy his time at school but wouldn't clue me in as why. I thought my child was getting an excellent education, that was until she switched schools. Now she is at another private school getting poor grades since Red Hill doesn't teach up to the standard that they should be. Even though my child is receiving bad grades, they are getting better every day and is learnin up to her grade level. Also the children are much nicer and she enjoys school alot more now. Not to mention the principal is much nicer than the principal and Red Hill Lutheran and does not come of as fake and phony.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

An exceptional school! rhl offers a warm nuturing environment offering positive reinforcement of good characteristics. The after-school programs are enriching. The children at all grade levels are happy and wholesome, and there is strong parent involvement. It feels like a big extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

The administration of the school puts a lot of effort into protecting the safety and self esteem of the children. The teachers seem to really care about the students. The class sizes are small. We did, however, have some disappointment with the school. My daughter, who got straight A's at Red Hill, was behind her new classmates academically when we transfered her to a local public school. We have had to give extra help for her to catch up with her peers scholastically. We found that straight A's are not a good way to judge a school's performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

My children's experience at Red Hill has been mostly positive, however, there are definitely some negatives concerning the school. Unless you are in total agreement with everything espoused by the principal, your experience will be such that it will be uncomfortable for you to stay. The Middle School Program is very good and the teachers are well-qualified. However, that can not be said for the lower grades, where perhaps good teachers matter the most. My youngest child just completed 3rd grade and he does not know his times tables, as way of example. Just because this is a Christian School does not mean the children have a Christian attitude. My 3rd grader was one of three boys in his class and they ostracized him. This was brought to the attention of his teacher and the principal, to no avail. He will be going to a new school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

My child attended this school and had a horrible experience! The teachers lack experience and the administration is unresponsive. Since then my child has attended another area lutheran school where he is excelling and working above grade level. If you are not a member of this church, chances are, your child will suffer and will be treated differently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

My daughter is about to finish her second year at Red Hill. The decision to stay for Kindergarten was very easy. I have been very pleased with Red Hill's school and after school programs. Their dedicated staff and curriculum offer a fun, loving and education enriched environment. Red Hill Lutheran School has continued to exceed my expectations for my daughters social, academic and Christ-centered growth and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

I started my daughter in the Pre-School Program when she was 3 due to the location but have consistently been impressed at the high quality and dedication of the staff, the after school care has a learning-rich environment, not just a place to drop your kids. The environment of the school and church is one of respect and understanding for each other and I plan to keep my daughter on through Grade 8. I go to work every day knowing she in a safe, disciplined yet loving place. Go Red Hill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

Our children are getting a superior, well-rounded, Christian education at Red Hill. The specialty classes that are part of the school day (PE, Music, Spanish, Computers, and Creative Movement) are terrific, and something our children would not experience at a public school. The after-school program offers a wide variety of fun classes and team sports. We are about to begin our fourth year at Red Hill and we plan to keep our kids there through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Cindy Jordan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (714) 544-8176

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13200 Red Hill Avenue
Tustin, CA 92780
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 544-3132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spirit Academy
Tustin, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT