Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Red Hill Lutheran

Private | K-8 | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tustin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2008

We transferred our child from a Tustin public school (after seeing that school go downhill fast) to Red Hill Lutheran. When we were 'feeling' out a new school for our child, we felt very welcomed at Red Hill Lutheran as soon as we were walking up to the front office. The staff is extremely nice and pleasant. Our child had to play catch up beings the public schools are behind a grade level. Now our child is making the best grades they have ever received. Their teacher has taken out her own time with her family to unselfishly give herself to her students. She tutors her students who need help after school out of her heart, not the school's pocketbook. I have recommended this school to all of my peers who are searching for a school that will benefit their child (children) in an oustanding education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

I am a parent that has had all of my children there for a few years. We were far happier with it prior to the current principal taking over for the 2007-08 school year. She seems highly unmotivated and definitely does not treat all students equally or fairly. It definitely appears that you are only respected both as a student and their parent if you are an active member of the church or school board, or if you are a middle-school student. It's been a huge disappointment this year and it seems that many of the staff do not support the changes and often staff is not available to help with homework needs. More is expected from the parents, yet we continue to pay higher prices for tuition! Red Hill needs to make some changes! (note that some of the 'better' reviews here were done a year + ago)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

If you enroll your student here - get ready for alot of hands on help with your child. The homework is heavy-the reports are endless. Your child will not receive any individual help he/she may need. I feel the pressure for grades outweighs the importance of actually learning. Both of my children are very discouraged and overwelmed. It puts alot of responsibility for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

I am a parent a Red Hill Lutheran School and have I strongly disagree with the student rating below. I have found the transition from the former administration to the current administration to be almost seamless! The visions and mission of the school have remained as strong as ever. I was looking for a Christian school with high accademic standards and that is exactly what I have found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

Red Hill Lutheran School was a big dissapointment! When the new principal came, the school went down hill fast! Don't go here unless you have no other school in your area!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

This schools main focus has shifted from Christian character to purely academic and teaching for high SAT scores. If you are looking for a religious school or if your child is a non tractional learner, you may want to do some researching before enrolling here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Red Hill Lutheran is an excellent Christian school. My children who completed eighth grade there went on to excel academically at Orange Lutheran High School. They were able to place in mostly honors classes. My youngest child is entering 6th grade at RHLS and is benefiting from the great academics, weekly music, PE, and computer classes. There is also a great after school program, which includes sports and learning opportunities. The teachers are all qualified and loving. The administration is supportive. Parent involvement is encouraged and there are many wonderful volunteers making it a better place. The school provides a safe Christian atmosphere and perspective in all areas, from academics to discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I first chose this school because of its proximity to my home and the great things I heard about the pre-school program. I had planned to send my children to public school when they became old enough. Well, they are both old enough now and we aren't leaving! The staff is superb; the teachers are excellent; the prinicipal is amazing and the parents are wonderful. Parent pariticipation is strongly encouraged and I love it. My kids really enjoy having Mom there too. Computer access and learning begins in Preschool which I think is fantastic. The P.E. program for elementary children is exceptional. I especially love the after school optional programs and the summer programs. The coordinator does a fantastic job and the prices are reasonable. Plus, my kids love them. They are learning and having fun! Red Hill Lutheran is a truly fantastic, loving, Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My child attends school at RHL and it is not the 'Christian' experience you would expect from a Christian school. There is a lack of discipline at this school. There is great parent participation at this school, some fairly good teachers, but administration needs to get with the academic times and prepare these kids for high school. Do your research before enrolling your children at RHL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

Excellent staff. Excellent school. Great Activities for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

I can't say that my children had a good experience here. We ended up pulling them out and sending them to another Lutheran school that had stronger, more professional administration and more qualified teachers. Great parent involvement. If you don't attend church here, this is probably not the place to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Not too happy with how they run the school enrollment process. It seems as if the school is running a business with all the pre-paid fees and you seem to be in a loop hole with what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I'm very satisfied with the education that Red Hill is providing to my children. Not only is the teaching based on a Christian perspective, but the teachers, staff, and administration take the time to answer any questions or concerns that I might have. I highly recommend any interested party to not only take a tour and meet your child's prospective teacher and principal, but also to compare this school with other private and public schools in Orange County. You won't be dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

My daughter has been at Red Hill since preschool, she is currently in third grade. The principal is outstanding and makes improvements every year. She has updated the curriculum for all grade levels, improved the playground, and hired degreed teachers. My daughter receives personal attention, and has flourished in the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Lousy school with the worst principal ever. Do not send you children to this school. The kids at this are given good grades even there standarized test scores will show that the grades are not warranted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My child attended Red Hill Lutheran for 3 solid years. It seemed as if my child didn't enjoy his time at school but wouldn't clue me in as why. I thought my child was getting an excellent education, that was until she switched schools. Now she is at another private school getting poor grades since Red Hill doesn't teach up to the standard that they should be. Even though my child is receiving bad grades, they are getting better every day and is learnin up to her grade level. Also the children are much nicer and she enjoys school alot more now. Not to mention the principal is much nicer than the principal and Red Hill Lutheran and does not come of as fake and phony.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

An exceptional school! rhl offers a warm nuturing environment offering positive reinforcement of good characteristics. The after-school programs are enriching. The children at all grade levels are happy and wholesome, and there is strong parent involvement. It feels like a big extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

The administration of the school puts a lot of effort into protecting the safety and self esteem of the children. The teachers seem to really care about the students. The class sizes are small. We did, however, have some disappointment with the school. My daughter, who got straight A's at Red Hill, was behind her new classmates academically when we transfered her to a local public school. We have had to give extra help for her to catch up with her peers scholastically. We found that straight A's are not a good way to judge a school's performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

My children's experience at Red Hill has been mostly positive, however, there are definitely some negatives concerning the school. Unless you are in total agreement with everything espoused by the principal, your experience will be such that it will be uncomfortable for you to stay. The Middle School Program is very good and the teachers are well-qualified. However, that can not be said for the lower grades, where perhaps good teachers matter the most. My youngest child just completed 3rd grade and he does not know his times tables, as way of example. Just because this is a Christian School does not mean the children have a Christian attitude. My 3rd grader was one of three boys in his class and they ostracized him. This was brought to the attention of his teacher and the principal, to no avail. He will be going to a new school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

My child attended this school and had a horrible experience! The teachers lack experience and the administration is unresponsive. Since then my child has attended another area lutheran school where he is excelling and working above grade level. If you are not a member of this church, chances are, your child will suffer and will be treated differently.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 26%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Cindy Jordan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (714) 544-8176

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13200 Red Hill Avenue
Tustin, CA 92780
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 544-3132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spirit Academy
Tustin, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT