Advertisement
Advertisement

Grace Harbor Church School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tustin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2013

I sent my son to this school from Kindergarden all the way to 5th grade when he graduated last year. It was sad leaving because I really think of Grace Harbor as a family. Pastor Fred even married my husband and I which was a true blessing. The teachers and staff here really care about the kids. This is not a big fancy school but what they lack in size they make up in love and care. My son is a good person and he LOVES God and cares about the well being of others. I feel I owe his good character to Grace Harbor. When my son started falling behind on some subjects, Mrs Desantis offered to tutor him for free after school. This is just one example of how they go above and beyond the norm. It is one of the least expensive private schools in the area and you can really tell it is not about the money here. It is truly about serving God and the children which I like. I was a single Mom when I put my son in school here almost 7 years ago and although money was tight, I was able to make it work and I do feel it was worth every penny. Thank you Grace Harbor for all that you have done for my son and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

My daughter had been struggling in public school since kindergarten. After years of meetings, testing, and praying; I found out about Grace Harbor and decided that it was worth a try. WHAT A BLESSING!!! This school has helped my daughter bring out the potential in her that I always knew she had. It is so small and personal, I feel like I'm leaving her with family. I"m sure there is a reason for everything, but I wish I had know about Grace 4 yrs ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Pros: Great Education, Professional staff, Competitive tuition. Cons: Slightly different facility than a traditional public school. This school provides an excellent education for such a low tuition. With the level my daughter just tested at for her new public junior high, I feel like I owe this school thousands more in tuition. If you want small class sizes with more individual attention for your child, then I would strongly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

I just started my daughter in the infant room here and I absolutey love it. The staff is so loving and nurturing that I sometime wonder if muy daughter loves them as much as she loves me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

I love this school! I initially sent my son to public school, where the teachers pegged him as a mediocre student and did nothing to inspire him or foster a love of learning. After switching him to Grace Harbor, his teacher has instilled in him a love of reading that has helped improve his grades. I know its weird, but he actually loves going to school and gets mad at me if I come to pick him up too early. Choosing Grace Harbor may just be the best decision I have made for his future so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Grace Harbor is a small but very loving Christian environment. Love that I have one stop drop off having a child in Pre School and Elementary School. Mrs. Dawn heads up the weekly Chapel along with wonderful plays that you won't find anywhere else. When I say play, I mean these kids are involved in singing and dancing too! The administration is very easy to get along with. A majority of their teachers have been there for a number of years. With the way public schools are increasing their class sizes and decreasing in funds, I would definately give Grace Harbor a walk through!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The Cons: Not at all what you'd expect to find at a Christian school. Good Character traits are preached to students but the staff fails to lead by examples, lots of favoritism and nepitism runs rampid. Children excell at a magnificient rate but you soon discover that grades are given not earned and past students spend three years or more working to catch up in core studies. The Pros: If your looking for a cheap private school well they are cheap as private schools go.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 38%
Black 29%
Hispanic 21%
Asian 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (714) 544-5738

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12881 Newport Avenue
Tustin, CA 92780
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 544-4431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Spirit Academy
Tustin, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT