Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alvarado Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 17, 2016
- a student
Help kids get better and give help for kids and use good Ideas but also get them out of school

Alvarado Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 17, 2016
- a student
The homework is even on weekends and it is so hard and to hard to focuses on class what are we even learning it is too much because I don't even know what I am learning


Alvarado Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 17, 2016
- a student
They lie brake chrome books and cheat on tests and take other people's stuff say. You said a bad word and you get you suspended

Alvarado Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
My child barely gets 15 minutes of homework on a daily basis. This is insufficient, how will they learn anything?

Alvarado Middle School 1

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Do NOT even consider sending your children to NHUSD schools! The district only cares about looking good on paper and getting money from grants etc. They do not care about education. They punish teachers that are good at teaching and have high expectations from students. Why? Because these teachers make the children work for a grade. They want to keep teachers that easily give good grades and barely any homework. If your goal is to have children get a high grade without learning anything, then NHUSD schools would satisfy your requirements. Otherwise, don't bother.


Alvarado Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 19, 2015
- a student
The students do not care about there chrome books and just brake it and lie about it and use swear words

Alvarado Middle School 1

Posted May 25, 2015
- a community member
This school has absolutely the worst writing program. At least in elementary school, there were proper writing lessons. At this school, there are no courses to improve grammar. Nor are there any professional modern writing to look at. The examples given to my daughters at school to read were either written by students her age with extremely bad taste for wording or they were historical documents written by politicians which only made school more boring for my children. To be honest, if the peer written articles were decent, then I would forgive them. But they're not. They don't have any good essays by well accomplished writers such as those from the New York Times. Those essays are well written, not difficult, and quite frankly, perfect for middle and high schoolers. I am disappointed by this school's low education standards.

Alvarado Middle School 2

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Overall I would not recommend this school. Pros: The school has a fantastic music program with Mr. Agregado and his assistant Ms. Liu. We also liked the two science teachers my son had, Ms. Baker and Mr. Tovrea. Cons: The school does not have enough teachers (there are regularly 40 students in a class) and there is a moderate level of bullying allowed. The teachers were run ragged by having so many students and so much paperwork to do.


Alvarado Middle School 1

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
I had a horrible experience with the Principle Jesus Varela. I came into the office very upset regarding a situation that had to do with my child and he made it worst instead of taking control of the situation he escalated by yelling at me in the front of the school office . He is very unprofessional he definitely is not a people person! I'm so glad this is my child last year otherwise I would switch her schools!

Alvarado Middle School 3

Posted September 10, 2014
- a community member
Student here, 3 years in a row. I cannot lie and say that my school is better or amazing than any other. I cannot say that if you choose this school it will be the same as it was before. I have been bullied by many individuals across the school, but it doesn't mean it is anywhere close to "bad." Most teachers will not recognize you for your excellence or maturity, you will be broken by peers if you do not suit their ideal of "normal," and you will be praised if you are able to insult others and have arrogance, and make friends with the top dogs. There are good kids, bad kids, lazy teachers, and strict teachers. Have fun.

Nearby schools

Alvarado Middle School
31604 Alvarado Boulevard, Union City, CA  94587-5802
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (510) 489-0700
Last modified Alvarado Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top