Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tom Kitayama Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Leslie Teruya is the most patient, and kind hearted teacher. She truly cares about her students and I'm so thankful for my son to have her as his kindergarten teacher.

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Staff is great, and everyone is always so helpful. My older son went here from k-5th and we all enjoyed our experience. Our younger son is now in kinder and we couldn't be happier with his kindergarten teacher.


Tom Kitayama Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
It's really great school and great staff.my kid lern so many things here like speaking and maxima words in pre kg.

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
The 2014-15 school year is the second year my son is enrolled at Kitayama elementary school who is now in kindergarten. His TK (transitional kindergarten) teacher was Mrs. Smith. She is very devoted to her students. This is also true with his current teacher, Ms. Teruya. My only concern is that the teachers are not pleased with their contracts or the lack thereof which was explained to the letter they sent out to parents, will ultimately impact students. I hope this gets resolved soon. There are no sure winners in this situation, just guaranteed losers, which are the students.

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
The staff, teachers, and parents are very involved in the school. I'm so glad my child is attending Tom Kitayama Elementary School, and I can't wait for my second one to join next year. Go Bears!


Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is one of the best school i have ever seen am so excited my sons are in this school can't. Wait for this school year teacher's. Are the best in teaching haven't seen. teachers that are so focused with ur children like they do here keep up the good work i give this school a 5 star super happy with all staff in these school starting from the office to all the teachers. :)

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
In kitayama the teachers make kids good learning almost every day. Also after school if you can not pick them up you can sign up for kidsfirst and they can do homework there

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a teacher
Tom Kitayama school has been my home school since it opened. Through the years we have had change every year and yet through it all the staff, students,& families consistently work together to provide a terrific learning environment with successful students!


Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2011
- a community member
This school has helped me excel in my learning in many ways.They a great dedicated staff the loves what they do,and they care about the kids.They push kids to do their best and only their best.The parent community is also very good the parents are always helping out and participating,and they are always there to help.The community is great,and you will never be left out because the students are very nice.Overall,a very nice school that offers a lot of great things for the parents and students.

Tom Kitayama Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
The school is friendly and the principal, Ms. Metzinger, is outstanding. She is truly concerned with the students and their learning and strives to make their experience the best. I love this school, the staff and the principal!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tom Kitayama Elementary School
1959 Sunsprite Drive, Union City, CA  94587-1995
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (510) 475-3982
Last modified Tom Kitayama Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top