Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Searles Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing! Their inclusive learning environment instills life long integrity in the children. My son who is part of the inclusion program feels just like his peers. My daughter is thriving academically. I'm a proud Searles Ohana parent

Searles Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended Searles since he was in the Pre-K program. His Kindergarten teacher was Mrs. Maria Spagle and she was the absolute best. My son had such a wonderful school year due to Mrs. Spagle and the active interest she took in his education. When she saw that he needed to be challenged more in class she found ways to encourage and engage him. The other Kinder teachers are also wonderful and they truly love the kids. There was an appropriate amount of homework and the way it was given on a weekly basis made it easy for our family to keep up. Mrs. Spagle made every child in the class feel special and valued. I hope that all of my son's future can be just as awesome.


Searles Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a teacher
Searles has a strong administrative leadership team that works closely with staff serving a diverse cross section of Title 1 students and families with an exceptional team of education professionals. Not only do the staff cohere on goals and objectives, but they regularly collaborate and assess student growth in order to adjust teaching. Demonstration classrooms provide evidence of best practices in teaching through coaching and the use of RTTT grant funds has infused technology into every classroom with ample access for all students and many, many families. On top of that, the model of character education for the entire District came from Searles, as did the entry into Safe Routes to Schools. The parent school staff connections are solid and positioning the school to become a full service community center.

Searles Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a teacher
My school is the only school I have wished to teach in throughout my entire teaching career in new Haven USD. With four more year until retirement, that says a great deal considering I have visited, taken professional development, shared meetings at and collaborate with teachers from every school in the District as the CTA State Delegate and member of the Executive Board of the local teacher's union, NHTA. The teachers get along and are on the same page in supporting student success along with all educational professionals and family members. The strong administrative leadership team molds consensus and promotes community centered efforts to create a nurturing, safe and critically thinking community of life long learners. Grade levels take planning seriously and use formative, informal and summative assessments to guide teaching. Multiple teachers have been master teachers and the interests of staff members in performing arts, environmental and justice concerns rubs off through their passion and enthusiasm to support career, college, citizenship and critical thinking throughout the school.

Searles Elementary School 4

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
I appreciate Mr. Kahn who is second grade teacher .My daughter just came from India and I was worried how she will pickup and adjust in new culture . Mr. Kahn helped her a lot and also bring her upto good speed . Now she love this school and very comfortable in study.


Searles Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
this is a great school, kids first rocks Miss Betty the best . Mrs Spaegel Kinder teacher the best kindest nicest ever!!!! originally was going to send to Guy emmanuel but the KInder was only half day Searle was full day, so here we are and im sooo glad i did wonderful staff!!

Searles Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
The staff, parents, and students try their best with what they have to be the best they can be to make the community a better place for everyone.

Searles Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
It has wonderful students & a GREAT community that is always willing to help! The students always TRY THEIR BEST!!!! ANd they are always so nice to each other!!


Searles Elementary School 4

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
My son is finishing his kindergarten year this week and he and I really enjoyed the teachers and other staff members.

Searles Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
My child was here from kindergarten thru 2nd grade. I have never seen so much dedication among teachers as I have seen here. The school tries very hard and has a very kind and patient staff. Their gettogethers and events are a lot of fun.

Nearby schools

Searles Elementary School
33629 15th Street, Union City, CA  94587-3322
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (510) 471-2772
Last modified Searles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top