Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended from k to 6. My son was part of the very first step-up pre school class and we moved away after he finished fourth grade. We experienced two great principals with mostly wonderful staff. Earned CA distinguished school right before switching principals several years ago and though the staff is mostly the same, looks like the demographic is changing....for the worse and the Eagle pride isn't the same. We supported our kids' teachers and classes several days a week, but stayed clear of the pta and their regular drama. Sad how those parents behave worse than the kids they claim to support.

Sierra Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
C. Brown, A Matthews, and D McLeod. You are wonderful people as well as wonderful teachers


Sierra Vista Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
There are those who love to teach...and those who like to teach. Sierra Vista has a number or both. If the city of Upland had more teaches like D. McLeod, A. Matthews, and C. Brown it wouldn't matter what school your kids attend and the world would be a better place!

Sierra Vista Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Other than Scott C's issues with our daughter, which were properly handled, all went well

Sierra Vista Elementary School 4

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a truly great school and I was very happy both the the preschool when my son went here (he is SDC) and now that my daughter who is typical attends. The staff is very nice, homework is age appropriate, and parents are involved. My daughter had previously been in a small private school so I was very worried about her transition. The staff is very nice in the office too which is a big help as a parent. The only reasons is is not 5 starts is the location makes it hard to get in and out with traffic and often the crosswalk areas are not manned during busy times. We also had a bad experience in the large kindergarten class but all other teachers have been great. I also would love a school calendar with all events earlier in the year. Very good school.


Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has loved every teacher she has had. The principal has a great reward system for high achievers. I love the sense of community. I will be sad to see Ms. Benson leave. I hope the new principal is just as good if not better.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Great school great kindergarten teachers. I have my second one going to this school now and I feel assured that I have chosen the best for her.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
Sierra Vista is a wonderful school. Mrs Benson the Principal really goes out of her way to make sure that ALL the kids succeed. The teachers are committed and are excellent. I love how Mrs. Benson gets these kids encouraged and motivated with special prizes and she has a great attitude. I have 3 kids and now that my two older girls no longer go to this school they have wonderful memories. My son will be a 6th grader this year and we will miss this school when he leaves..


Sierra Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful staff, caring principal, clean and nice grounds. Looks like test scores are going up every year over the past 5 years or so. Quite an accomplishment.

Sierra Vista Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My child has had an excellent school year (09-10) and have just good things to say!! I will be sending my younger child to kinder @ this school soon. Although I do wish the school would continue with the all day kinder program. Hope that will come back soon. And to the parent who wrote the bad review don't listen. No matter what public school you go to you will have your bad kids. It's up to us as parents to teach our children to cope with life problems. I do recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Vista Elementary School
253 East 14th Street, Upland, CA  91786-3249
(909) 949-7780
Last modified Sierra Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top