Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valencia Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are unqualified, or maybe tired from teaching for so many years. It's unfair to let bad teachers teach our children. On the other hand, the school does have song morals that they stand by and teach to the kids.

Valencia Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
I have been very happy with this school. My son is in kindergarten and is doing very well. I have been extremely happy with his teacher and am so thankful for her hard work and dedication to her students (especially after having to start a new common core curriculum.) The principle seems wonderful as well although I haven't had too much contact with her outside of PTA meetings and assemblies. My son's teacher appreciates as much parent involvement and volunteers and I appreciate that. We look forward to next year!


Valencia Elementary School 2

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
i do agree wit the post that was posted o june 4th.. my son just went through kindergarden and i dont think he was challenged enough< coming into kindergarden he knew alot becuase iam a preschool teacher, so for a couple months he was bored with the work so i talked to the teacher and nothing was done. and too many papers that is what the kids r being taught wioth is the worksheets.. and we had no fundraisers why my guess is yes because it is the rich district and the people have money. i do not have the money for that so i did not give anythng to the school.

Valencia Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
I am pulling my child from this school after this year. My child is in a lower grade. This school has very poor teachers, and a so-so- curriculum.The parents here are very snobby, uneducated, and ignorant. Do they think we are in Beverly Hills or what? I would not keep my child here if they paid me. Private school is a much better choice. The children here are also very undisciplined.

Valencia Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
We have three kids that attend Valencia. All of their teachers to date have been very caring, and committed to helping their students excel. There is significant parent involvement and the PTA helps fill the gaps left by a continually shrinking state budget. We feel that our Principal is very dedicated to making Valencia the absolute best that it can be and always has the childrens best interest at heart.


Valencia Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2011
- a parent
This school has a "high score" because its student body comes from a wealthy-ish community where the parents supplement their children's learning. The curriculum is not rigorous (way too many worksheets) and there is little to no differentiation (especially for high-achieving students). The principal is unresponsive to parental concerns. I'm not at all satisfied with the education my children receives. I have seen far better INSTRUCTION and more rigorous curriculum in high-needs schools. As for parental involvement: They just want parents who will raise money and not question what it is that they are actually doing with kids. But, there are a lot of these parents....the rah-rah crowd.

Valencia Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
This school is definitely high performing and it can be difficult for new students to catch up. There isn't much support for the average student UNLESS he/she has a learning disability. If your child has an IEP this school in incredible. They generously offer all services and have great resource teachers. Regular ed teachers are either great or terrible. There isn't much in between. This year my child had one of the incredible teachers but last year he had the worst teacher I've known (and I'm a teacher myself!). Be careful in this school if your child struggles. Also, do something about it right away if your child is placed with a teacher who is unsuitable. There are some teachers to watch out for!!!

Valencia Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a community member
I went to Valencia for 6th grade! I was in the special ed class, and the teacher I had was great, but it's too bad she is no longer teaching there. I think the special ed dept in Upland Unified is a lot better than the dept at the previous district I was enrolled in before.


Valencia Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Great PTA! All together , the staff is excelent. I am proud to have my children go there!

Valencia Elementary School 3

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
Very average school. Some teachers are very good. Others are average or below. Constantly moving teachers around. Many good teachers retired or were forced out last year. Very disorganized staff. At this school you either keep up or are left behind,. The 30-60 minutes of homework is easily 2-3 hours and the teachers don't care. Don't let the location fool you

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valencia Elementary School
541 West 22nd Street, Upland, CA  91784-8914
(909) 949-7830
Last modified Valencia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valencia Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top