Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethany Lutheran

Private | K-8 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vacaville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $198,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

I love this school. I'm a student. It's my third year. I love the teachers and the other students. Most people are really nice, then you have the occasional mean kid. The one thing I don't like about Bethany, however, is the lack of space during chapel. I feel crammed together against the other students.


Posted October 19, 2011

Best school around. Both my kids go there and I couldn't be more pleased. Before Principal Schneider came there were some serious problems with the school but in the last 4 years everything is in tip top shape thanks to Principal Schneider and his wonderful teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

Excellent school! Excellent classes, acedemics, and teachers! The principal greets EVERY child by name as they enter the school EVERY day. What a welcome!! Very loving and nurturing environment. We've been there for 4 years and would not think of moving our child. The principal is open and friendly, and has high standards for his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2010

Everyone has their own experiences and their own views no matter how much another would like to invalidate those views. You have no right to deem them untrue because it was not YOUR experience. The questions asked are condescending and argumentative and there for will not be addressed. Open your eyes and realize it not all about you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

I know first-hand that the comment about Principal Schneider is untrue. I have found that Mr. Schneider always conducts himself in the most professional manner. He is so concerned about our families and their ability to pay tuition that he is currently working to establish a golf tournament to raise money for the school's scholarship fund. I know Principal Schneider has an open door policy and is willing to talk, so my two questions to this person are 1) did you speak to Mr. Schneider about the way you felt? and 2) if you found the tuition to be so outlandish, why put your student (or students) in the school?


Posted August 12, 2010

Once the principal knows you're leaving or or are not paying the outlandish tuition, he will act like you no longer exist..Pretty petty and definitely unprofessional...........


Posted March 24, 2010

My children have been at BLS since preschool. The school, like all the other private schools in town, has had its ups and downs with leadership change; however, it has always prevailed in its educational offerings, caring teachers, parent involvement and happy kids. Both of my sons have always been way above their grade level in reading and math skills and their self-confidence has definitely benefitted from attending BLS. My 8th grader is taking Geometry which isn't even offered in the VUSD middle schools. BLS offers opportunities for students to excel! (and the students do!) - which could be difficult in a large school with political issues... BLS is small and currently is lacking in a sports program - but BLS more than makes up for it with after school enrichment and other offerings such as educational and fun field trips/retreats. The campus is beautiful & growing in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Mydaughter is at Bethany in First Grade. We went to a private Kindergarden at another school. In one month she is reading!!. There is alot of homework, but it is helping her. Spelling tests every week with a Bible verse. i love the uniform - makes picking out clothes simple. The principal is wonderful, he knows all the kids by name and even finds time to play games with them in extended care. Way better than the pubilc schools which dont have chairs for all the 1st grade students... Bethany is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I am a former a graduate of Bethany Lutheran School, and am currently a junior in high school, enrolled in four advanced placement classes, and maintaing a 4.5 Grade Point Average. Demonstrating that academically, Bethany has done marvellously. Moving from a school of 150 students to one with 2,200 was not as suprising as others made it out to be. One thing that Bethany did for me that I will never forget was allowing me to have open discourse with my teachers. Upon entering high school, I joined the Speech and Debate and have since become the team captain as a junior. This is one of the life values that Bethany has provided, which will help me infinitely in the future and has already yielded its rewards academically and socially. Furthermore, the moral principles which Bethany has provided have defenitely kept me from falling in with 'bad crowds.'


Posted February 3, 2009

We have two children at Bethany Lutheran School and have been very happy with the school. My husband and I have post-graduate degrees and have high demands when it comes to education - I can only recommend this school. Our daughters have been at this school since 2002 and we would not even consider another private school in Vacaville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Excellent preschool/extended care! The teachers are amazing and the teacher/child ratio is great! My son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

This school is way behind public schools. My child attended preschool here which was great but kindergarten left a lot to be desired. Both teachers were inexperienced and did not push the kids at all. Now my child is at VCS and what a huge difference. Weekly spelling tests and plenty of challenging homework. Not like VCS which was all songs and games. My child even likes going to chapel at VCS because they are more in tune with children. Listening to bible versus at Bethany does nothing to keep the childs interest when they are 5-6 years old. Give me a break! I hear from many parents that kept their kids at Bethany for first grade regret it horribly! Stay away.... If we didn't work so much with our child while at Bethany he would have not even been accepted at Bethany. Waste of money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

I am a new parent at Bethany and also love the preschool. The grade school is wonderful as well, and my children are very happy there. I would hope that any parent who has issues with the teacher or the procedures would at the very least contact the principal. Observing him from a distance is really not an effective way of helping your child have a great school experience or to make judgments about another person. As I understand it, Bethany has had some rough spots the last couple of years, but it is on the upswing this year. It really bothers me that people can hide behind posts like this that can really hurt a school, yet have done nothing productive to actually make things better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

Our son attended Bethany 3 year old and 4 year old preschool. In 2007 we move to the new school which is ran separately from the preschool. So far we are not satisfied. The kindergarten teachers do not seem to be qualified or are too new to know how to run a kindergarten class. We are now checking into other options due to our lack of confidence. We have observed the new Principal interact and again not impressed with what we have seen. We like the security, uniform, and religious aspects the school offers. The first few days of school the American flag was forgotten in front of the school, however, the American flag in the class room was forgotten by the teacher who did not do the pledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

Bethan Lutheran is a great schoo[l] and the kindergarten teacher Ms Ruiz is an outstanding teacher.


Posted May 16, 2006

This is a wonderful Christian School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

My son has attended both the 3yo and 4 yo preschool classes at Bethany Lutheran Preschool. We absolutely loved Ms. Margaret in the 3 yo class. She was loving, attentive, and cares deeply for each child in her class. She is a wonderful teacher and an asset to Bethany. The 4 yo class was very good as well. They start the children early in reading and writing. They have a new phonics program which introduces the kids into reading early so they are way ahead in Kdgtn. My son who is 4 1/2 yo can read simple words 'pam, sam, taps, and, bag'. There is a very long waiting list for the preschool so get on asap. I really love this preschool and recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

I would not recommend any parent allow their child to attend this school. They have low standards, and do not challenge the children academically. Their priorities are keeping the children happy with games and playing and fun. As a result, if the child is not home-schooled, the child will be lacking in reading and math skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 9%
Black 8%
Asian 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kris Schneider
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1011 Ulatis Drive
Vacaville, CA 95687
Phone: (707) 451-6683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Notre Dame School
Vacaville, CA



Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA


Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT