Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Browns Valley Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 970 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2014

My daughter just started at Brown's Valley School. Her kindergarden teacher Mrs. Novell is such a wonderful teacher! I am very pleased with this school. My daughter is very happy to go to school every morning. I feel that the parents are very involved in helping there children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

This is my son's second year at BV. Overall, I am pleased with the quality of the teachers, other staff and school environment. I read the previous reviews regarding bullying, "queen bees" and kids who are "jerks". The unfortunate truth is, these sort of kids exist at every school not just BV. I'm actually very surprised at the previous reviewer's claims that the administrators/teachers ignored her student's complaints regarding bullying. As mentioned by another reviewer, parents are pretty involved at this school. The teachers and administrators also seem to be very safety oriented too. I'm also confident that any concerns or complaints I would have would be taken seriously. BV really is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My kids have gone to BV for the past 3 years I saw all the reviews on here before they began attending and unfortunately most are true the girls can be mean and have (the ones my daughter has encountered) it was like something out of the book queen bees and wanna bees.My Son has a few friends and says some kids in his words are Jerks..When addressing the problems with my daughter the principle seemed annoyed and didn't really listen to what we thought or attempt to get the parents involved there isn't enough room here for to tell all All but one teacher have been good so far I cant speak for the rest in the school the main problems are spoiled kids ,With parents that think they are angels Parents who act like kids when you approach them to talk about troubles between the kids. its a safe school clean teachers are ok ..the principle is there for the check I think Travis school district I have heard is way better callison and cooper schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

This school has a very dedicated and experienced teaching staff. The teachers really care that students learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

After reading the reviews on this site I was very skeptical of sending my child to BVE (Browns Valley Elementary) this year. Fortunately, our experience has been very good so far this year. There is a strong emphasis on math and english in my daughters class that she seems to be very responsive to. She has continued to make friends with all of the friendly students at the school, so bullying has not been an issue, which gives us peace of mind. The school and PTO is very proactive and informative and the parents seem to be the same. The school staff has always been helpful, friendly, and safety oriented. As EXTREMELY active parents, we are not only thrilled to be a part of the BVE family, but are more importantly satisfied with our child's development and bright future s a result. A+ for diversity; A+ for curriculum; A+ for caring and child rearing; A+ for child development and A+ for emphasis on child safety from the crossing guards to the youngest student! Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Bullying is out of control and they get extremely annoyed when my student goes to "adults" to complain. They seem very annoyed by this and the office staff is rude and lazy. You walk in and they don't address you until minutes after your standing there and they roll their eyes and just seem always unhappy and negative. Students get away with way to much here and the victims get terrorized! My sons 5th grade teacher is always rude and not understanding. I want my kids OUT and its a shame since I live right next to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

My kids attended this school for only a couple months before I switched them to another school. The principal was not interested in hearing the concerns of parents. Overall very disappointed...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

I am very disappointed in Browns Valley School. We are VERY involved parents, who volunteer weekly and have tried to find some sense in the way this school is run. The bullying issue is going unaddressed. It is an almost daily occurence that either one of my children, or one of my friends children are bullied. If you reach out to the principal about it, she acts like it is an over reaction and almost like we need to tell our kids to ignore it. There is only so much of that a kid can do. There are some great teachers at this school, but also many that are WAY past their prime and should retire. The good teachers will admit that their hands are tied. Don't even get me started on the mean girl club they call the PTO. I have never been so disappointed, and wouldn't move here if I had it to do over again. It is a shame, because the neighborhood is really nice and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I am super dissatisfied with Browns Valley Elementary. The office staff is very rude. There is a serious bullying problem which is systematic throughout the school and is not being addressed. My son's first grade teacher is fabulous and does a fantastic job with her class. My 5th grader's teacher seems irritated and disinterested and I question the academics and whether he will be prepared for the 6th grade. If I could do it over again, I would not enroll my kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

My daughter has been loving school all 6 years and she has always done very well. Teachers at BV are excellent, and the principal is 100% into her job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

The staff is always cheerful, friendly and warm to parents and students. They strive for team effort from pupil, teacher and the parent. They have alot of parental support. Which shows the children that everyone is part of their education and envolved in their lives. That proud parents share that attitude with their child, who in turn takes pride in their school and education. The child is then more respectful and appreciates the teacher's efforts. The teacher's are upbeat, creative, fun and kind, but no nonsense is tolerated. It gives a good strong structure to a great school. Especially when the School knows that to achieve great things all 3 parties need to work together. That is what makes a Browns Valley a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Overall this is a good school in a nice neighborhood. My son a long with many, many other students do not like the vice-principal at all! Great parent involvement and some great teachers like Mr. Finkas(5th grade). He really helped my son develope good writing habits, my son even won a writing award with the local newspaper while in his class! Mrs. Blair runs a great choir program too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Teachers try, but their hands are tied. Office staff is 'catty'. Principal seems to be resting on laurels. Music program for grades 1 - 4 is a joke. I'm disappointed, to say the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

I really like Browns Valley. I have two boys enrolled, we love the parent involvement. I love how some teachers, like Mrs.Nixon will spend extra time with her students before school if she thinks they need the help. The staff is always friendly and the level of education is good. I do wish there was more time for the older kids to enjoy Art and extracurricular activities, the state guidelines don't really allow for teacher anymore to have quality time for the arts with there students. I know the teachers would also enjoy some fun now and then. Overall I think Browns Valley is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Very high level of parent involvement, excellent principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Nice area of town. Large school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My daughter has been at Browns Valley since kindergarten and we have had a wonderful experience (she is now in 5th grade). It is a very nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

My son has attended Browns Valley since Kindergarten, and he is now a 6th grader. With the exception of 1 year here, his teachers have been wonderful. They are well trained, insightful and caring. Unfortunately the quality of academics, extracurricular activities and specialty programs leave much to be desired. This downfall is not exclusive to Browns Valley school but is pretty much district wide. There is not much hope for the students that have tested at or above proficient level, because of the strict demands of the state department of education to bring nonproficient students up to proficient, or else! We have a very strong PTO, and thieir work, and fundraising efforts have benefitted the school tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Excellent school, the environment is overall very pleasant, the teachers that we have had the past four years have been fantastic, grades K-3. With the current and continuous cutbacks to the California schools we are still doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

I am very pleased with the teachers and principal at Browns Valley. The teachers that I have had contact really seem to enjoy working with the children; they engage the children & help to open their minds to new and different ideas. The fine arts instructor is simply wonderful and also teaches chorus. The parent involvement is amazing. My daughter loves to go to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

841

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

841

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females59%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate70%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females75%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females56%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females65%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females76%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females75%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females81%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females69%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students65%
Females65%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females69%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females59%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 21%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Valerie Rogers
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (707) 447-5307

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Wretham Drive
Vacaville, CA 95688
Phone: (707) 453-6205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Providence School
Vacaville, CA


Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA


Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT