Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willis Jepson Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1027 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

I have done everything I can on my end, as a parent, to make sure that my student is doing all of his work on time. I make sure he is taught respect and all that too. I am SO disappointed with this school! The teachers give 'due dates' but don't enforce them, so even if the kids turn in work a month late they still get full credit - its very much so an 'eh... if you wanna go ahead, if not, thats ok too' attitude there from the teachers. PLUS my student has gone off campus to the creek located on the other side of the fence before, and no one at the school had any clue until I caught him and reported him to the school. I am outraged at how poorly this school is doing in educating our children both with curriculum and teaching them life lessons! We are supposed to work as a team to help our students, so why is it that every time I do my part and look for support my legs are cut out from under me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

We were very nervous about going to this school, after some of the negative reviews, but I can now say we are very pleasantly surprised. We moved from a private catholic school in Vacaville, and after several concerns with the academics and the negative administration, we decided on Jepson after other parents shared that they were pleased with the school. The offer XL, accelerated classes, for those students excelling. They offer Algebra XL, History XL and English XL. They also have band, media class, cooking, etc. Sports are awesome too! The campus is clean and safe. The kids are polite and my son has had no trouble transitioning into this school being new in 8th grade. The principal in passionate, the counselor is responsive and kind to the students and the administration is welcoming and helpful. After switching I hope other parents realize the quality of this school and stop paying for mediocre education at other private schools. I only docked the school a star cause the XL classes are often filled up and there is no room for students to add. I think the principal should encourage kids to get into XL classes and open more sections. Oh and this year Jepson was a API 804!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

First year here for my autistic twin boys--Great Special Ed staff and wonderful counselors! Kelley Birch is a fantastic principal. Transition went smoother than I anticipated! I will be doing my part this year to boost parent involvement in the PTC!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Willis Jepson Middle School is one of the best schools I have ever attended. After reading some reviews, I can confirm how much of a bad learning environment the students could make it. There are various fights every once and a while, but the staff quickly and efficiently deals with issues like these. As for learning at the school, it is a breeze. The staff is more than willing to help your child succeed. That is the goal of every single teacher at Jepson. The students vary from culture to culture. It causes many issues between each and every one, but most of the time the students tend to get along. I highly recommend this school.


Posted April 8, 2013

Both of my Grandaughters have attended Willis Jepson and I only have great things to say about the teachers and counseling office. Ms Anita is very helpful and eager to guide you in the right direction. Ms Waldrup and Ms Ayala and Ms Anita are superstars in my eyes. I have found only one area that I have not been happy about and that is the attendance office. I have felt ignored and felt that I was interrupting their conversation about what happened at home yesterday. They saw me when I walked in but chose to not acknowledge so. Hopefully this can be addressed and corrected in the future. Also the policy of writing a note to be excused for Dr. Apt etc. and not having parent sign child out should be changed. The girls said there are not a lot of fights or bullying at the school and if there was any it was taken care of right away. The only thing I do have a complaint about is I personally think there is way to much homework a lot of the time. If 2 or 3 teachers give 30 to 45 minutes of homework then it adds up and they have no relax time and I think they need that break. Jepson is a very good school in all and would not change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Really bad school, many fights there, many bullies, many peer presure,no attention from the teachers, no control, i never feel safe there


Posted November 13, 2011

I pulled my son out of Willis Jepson Middle School because of persistent bully problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

no fights at all. really good school :) deffitnatly recomend it more then Vaca Pena. Vaca Pena is a really nice school, but NOT good on the inside. bad teachers, bad teaching methods, the principlas/councilars do NOT care about your children.


Posted December 21, 2010

This school is wonderful. The curriculum is spectacular and the staff are super nice and have excellent teaching methods. The social enviroment is really great and little to none fights.


Posted January 23, 2010

this is my first year at jepson and there are many many fight there. i never feel safe there
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

I went here for seventh and eighth grade.I loved it there.The teachers have great teaching methods.Also the enviroment had a big part in helping me learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2005

Love the kids and I feel safe here somme teachers have realy good teaching methods others aren't that great but the teachers realy encourage you to do better. I personaly think its imposible to not have friends in this school because there are so many different kinds of kids. And I love the fact that everyone has their own eating spot. Thanks for your time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2005

There is a difficult time coming for the VUSD. Too many budget cuts, but too little focus on promising new curriculum. Very set in the old school and needing to focus on academics. So much focus on disciplinary subjects. A varied population of students, some very academic and some just paying there time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

Has to be the worst school a parent could ever send his or her child to. But then, there's not much of a choice in Solano County, is there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I am a student at Jepson, and the last review on here was highly unjustified. For one, the book we all read as seventh graders was called A Samurai's Tale, and yes, included ritual suicide. Suicide was thought to be a very honorable death in Japan. And no one at Jepson has committed suicide in many, many years. I really like Jepson. Theivary is not a problem. Yeah, locks get stolen sometimes, but thats usually because you leave your lock open. Cell Phones sometimes but rarely. I personally have never had a problem with bullying because Both Mr. Heny (Principal) and Mrs. Birch (Vice Principal) are very strict about that. As an eighth grader I don't want to leave! The only bad thing is the whole money situation, but that's at every Vacaville school. Just thought maybe you'd would like my view on the school since I have to be there everyday!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

804

Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

804

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
9%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Females95%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females60%
Males55%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipino53%
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females52%
Males59%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipino47%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students39%
Females39%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate7%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate47%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females62%
Males55%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students18%
Females14%
Males22%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)23%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability22%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only20%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate20%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate13%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Females94%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students56%
Females58%
Males54%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students69%
Females64%
Males74%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 27%
Hispanic 28% 51%
Black 7% 7%
Asian 6% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

580 Elder Street
Vacaville, CA 95688
Phone: (707) 453-6280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Life Productions
Vacaville, CA


Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA


Faith Academy
Vacaville, CA



The Providence School
Vacaville, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT