Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Vacaville, CA
Students enrolled: 1,687
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Will C. Wood High School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
We moved to Vacaville from the midwest and I was very nervous about the reputation that "California public schools" seem to have in the rest of the country. I have been VERY pleasntly surprised by the quality of this school. The teachers are genuine and very supportive, the athletics are competitive in the region, and the student body seems generally supportive of each other, and accepting of diversity and differences. The "bless you" incident was completely blown entirely out pof proportion, no points were ever taken from students and it was a matter of the teacher actually doing his job and trying to control his class (from a bunch of disruptive out of line students) and not one of religion or separation of church and state.

Will C. Wood High School 1

Posted September 30, 2011
- a community member
i find it disturbing that this school district would employ a teacher would deduct points from a student for saying god bless you. not only has this teacher violated this student's right of free speech, but his views are representative of polital correctness that has been crippling for some time now. in this case, it should be the teacher that is repremanded, not the student!


Will C. Wood High School 1

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
As a district that employs a teacher who deducts points from a student's grades for saying "bless you" after someone sneezes, I cannot rate this school anything other than "Awful". This type of arbitrary communistic indoctrination should not be tolerated anywhere in the United States. Until this teacher is removed, I suggest to all parents that they remove their children from the school.

Will C. Wood High School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
...Even though I don't see the harm in the occasional "Bless you"...the separation of church and state is for a very, very good reason. Religions are many, and belong in the home or church....not in a government building for all people of that community. The average parent who hasn't spent much time in the classroom preferably like a fly on the wall, doesn't know what their little angels are doing to disrupt the learning for all the students. Many who really do care about getting an education, some who only want to pretend to sneeze so their friends say "bless you" so many times the teacher hardly has a chance to teach. Isn't that one of the reasons we pay our taxes, so that teachers can give our kids some education? If being able to say bless you is more important than education, your child belongs in a religious school, not a public one.

Will C. Wood High School 4

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
I feel this school is wonderful. The reason I only give it a four is because of the LInk Crew and Cat Kartel. The link crew is a bunch of overrated upperclassmen who claim to help freshmen when they only push them aside. The people in charge don't really help them reconnect and my freshman son felt more punished by having a link leader. The other reason, Cat Kartel, is a school approved bully group. They have students invited in to a world of drugs and sex. It goes on right under the school's nose. The badmintion and tennis programs are woderful. The football team is rising. The band program is struggling to get back on its feet after a director change but seems to be stepping up in marching. The chior is wonderful and amazing. You will not find a better one.


Will C. Wood High School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been a freshman at WCW this past year and had many opportunities for personal growth. WCW offers Band, Choir, Performing Arts, and Successful Sport Teams. Teachers are very attentive and easy to communicate with. The Principal, Teachers and Counselors show sincere interest in guiding students to succeed. The students are genuine and down to earth. Not a lot of big egos bidding to out do each other. Instead they support and cheer each other on! Academically WCW is like all other schools, If you complete your work, pay attention in class and do your part you learn. You get out what you put in. We have been happy with the material my daughter has learned this year. She gets alot out because she puts alot in!

Will C. Wood High School 5

Posted February 24, 2006
- a parent
This is a good school with great school spirit. My daughter really enjoyed her time there.

Will C. Wood High School 4

Posted November 25, 2005
- a parent
My second daughter is completing her senior year at Will C. Wood High School. Although they are very different, both girls had positive experiences at Wood. There are some amazing teachers and a few not so amazing ones. The vocal music program is one of the finest available. Wood's Sylvan Singers are a vocal performance group who have won awards and performed all over California. This summer they're traveling to Europe to perform along with Sylvan Singer alumni. There is also band, orchestra and jazz band. Students who are looking for a school that is strong in the arts, would enjoy WC Wood. The student government program also provides excellent opportunities for students to develop leadership. There is a solid sports program and students also have other opportunities for involvement. The administration is caring and parent involvement is valued. The population is multicultural. Students feel safe on campus.


Will C. Wood High School 3

Posted August 23, 2005
- a student
The academic program is mediocre and not very supporting, but contains a wide variety of sports and extracurricular activities to join. There is an acceptable art program, but could use more entusiasm. Parent involvement is next to none, but doesn't really seem to be necessary.

Will C. Wood High School
no rating

Posted February 16, 2005
- a student
This school is not very good in the academic department.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Will C. Wood High School
998 Marshall Road, Vacaville, CA  95687
(707) 453-6900
Last modified Will C. Wood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Will C. Wood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top