Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Vacaville Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 1000 students

Our school is best know for our iPad technology and integrated curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Vacaville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $198,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

I have 2 kids at VCS. The Christian atmosphere in and of itself is worth the price. The teachers are more than just good at the job, they are clearly loving and genuinely concerned for the children. I firmly believe that any Christian student attending this school will come out a leg up on their public school peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

Interestingly, my positive review from last year is now off this site. Well, after 21 years working here I've seen many changes - and they are good! The school continually works to keep the educational system on the forefront of technology and academics. Character is stressed and Biblical values are taught daily. Nearly all of the graduates attend college and do well. 17 AP course offerings in the high school! With nearly 1,000 students from K- 12 the school provides a safe learning environment with caring staff. Nearing the 40th anniversary, we have children and grandchildren from previous alumni now attending! Mr. J
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2014

Huge suggestion: do not waste your money on this school. The students who are testing high and getting great grades leave the school (off to college or a public school) and soon realize that they are way behind their peers on an educational level. To the military families and those that are new to the area and don't have time to research, please ask around the community on advice from those who have their children in the public system also. The public schools in the area are doing the right thing, this school is not for so many reasons from the illegal situations which have been covered up to the background of those who they bring in to work the system. It is a complete "for profit" based school. The whole community sees it this way also. The school may appear to be the better choice when compared to the looks of the older schools in the neighborhood but appearance isn't everything. The majority of students that have transferred to public schools in the area or outside the area after attending here for years find that they are struggling to catch up with their fellow public school peers. This is not acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

We have been truly blessed by having our children attend VCS. While there have been some changes we did not understand at the time, we have come to understand the underlying reasons and have faith in the faculty. Our children are truly loved and the education far exceeds anything they would receive in the public schools. The Christian values that they not only experience, but are taught, are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

Great school, new AP teachers definitely bring the science departments up to standards. The school is a much safer environment than other public school and the teachers definitely care about the students' lives. I have often receive emails from teachers to let me know how my students are doing and the technology they use to inform me of my students' well being let me drop my kids off with ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

The Head of School always has a new "gimmick" (see iPad and "celebrity" AD) to try and draw in new students instead of focusing on making this school welcoming and wonderful again for the students who are already there. Elementary is very good, Middle School has improved but the High School has declined over the last few years with new leadership. In High School the math program is behind, offerings are lacking and the principal is difficult to communicate with. Don't be fooled by the iPad & advanced technology claim. The kids still carry text books and the iPad isn't used constructively. Enrollment numbers for the last few years have seen a steady decline, that should tell you something and the decline couldn't strictly be the economy. Check out the local public HS and meet with its principal before you make any decisions. Decide for yourself. Our children are our #1 asset. The decision shouldn't be made based on a sales pitch but on honest answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I am a teacher at VCHS and I can say with certainty that VCS is a place of integrity and excellence. Our students are pushed to succeed not only in the classroom, but also as people of good character. We teachers are given oppertunities to go to conferences and conventions to make us better educators, and our small class sizes make it able for us to give our students the attention they need and deserve. I love teaching at VCS, I can't imagine working anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2013

The High School is great! It's like a family from the staff to the kids to families supporting our events. We support each other and I know I can always get help if I need something. People there really care and we are a family. Been a student here for 8 years. Wouldn't consider going anywhere else.


Posted April 28, 2013

VCHS is the best school we have ever encountered! The High School Principal is awesome and in touch with the families and students. The teachers are amazing! Almost 100% of them graduate and go to college! They teach character and leadership development from the earliest ages. We could not be happier! Have 2 teenagers there and have been a VCS family for over 10 years. This school is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

I have an "insider's view" of the school, having taught there for years (I left by choice when I saw that the ship was sinking), and I sadly have to report that this is among the worst schools in California. The school has no clear mission and no real leadership. The Head of School is whoever he needs to be in the moment. He says what the person in the room needs to hear to avoid confrontation. Sadly, many parents have bought this, but, given their low enrollment numbers, many have also caught on. The school too often gives in to the whims of parents and blindly follows the hot educational buzzword of the moment. There is no real understanding of what children need to learn and no understanding of how hold children to high standards of learning and behavior. The kids there are great. They deserve better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2012

Awesome school..Can't be any happier. My daughter started 6th grade junior high and came from another christian school and thought my daughter will be fine and transition over but found out she needed extra classes during summer to keep up the high academic at Vacaville christian school. Mrs. Ripley is an awesome principle and knows her job and really cares about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Like minded parents and faculty. Christian values. Excellent academics, sports and extra curricular activities. Superior leadership on all levels. Parent participation and student pride in their school! Family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I am a parent of a high school junior at VCS and this was her first year to attend. She had previously gone to public schools and made the difficult decision to switch schools because of all of the harm that the school she was attending was doing. I have found VCS to be a great school. The teachers truly care about the students and if students are willing to look for the help, it's there for them. No where in public school did we find that. It was a challenge for her to catch up to the academic level, but she's doing great now and is much more likely to excel in college. Most, but not all who attend share our faith in Christ so we have the freedom to worship as we believe without persecution. VCS is not perfect but they make every effort to do what's right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I have two daughters currently attending vcs. They are doing amazingly well and i couldn't be happier. Both of them are working above grade level according to the national average and i have no doubt that the excellent staff at vcs has a lot to do with it. I have never seen, nor even heard of such a caring bunch of teachers as my girls have had. It shows in the stats as well, nearly 90% of their graduates go on to college. Significantly more than the national average. None of that however, matters a lick compared to what's most important. The phenomenal emphasis put on christ at this school. The excellent biblically centered atmosphere. I couldn't be happy with it. My children are learning to love the lord at their young age, in ways it took me 30 years to discover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter has been attending VCS since preschool (2 yrs old) and now she is in the 4th grade. Every year we've struggled with the decsion to take her out after listening to parents telling us that their kids struggled in public school after leaving VCS. I wonder are those parents really just having financial difficulty and using the excuse that VCS is behind as a reason to pull their kids out? So, far my daughter is doing great at VCS academically and spiritually and she is really developing into a very well rounded individual. For parents who to think that their children will be behind after leaving VCS, is unbeliveable. The kids just have to adjust to a different style of teaching. They are not behind. Overall, I think VCS is a great school and I couldn't see taking our daughter out unless we couldn't afford it any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I do not recomend this school. It appears to be a good school. But it is lacking in every department. There are a lot of nice families but that does not make up for the incompatence of the staff and teachers. If you want your children to have a good christian education just keep them going to your local church. I am one of the parents who had to pay for outside tutoring. I am one of those parents who asked for help and did not get it. Save your money and your child. The enviroment at this school is not as safe as they say. Don't be fooled all that gliters is not gold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

well i've been going to this school for 4 years now, and it is definatley a great school. the teachers here really care about you, and they actually stive and try their best to give you the best education and grade as possible. unlike public school, at vaca christian, you don't have to be afraid to get bullied around or anything because most of the people have christian character, and are mostly respectful. I would definatley reccomend sending your child to Vacaville Christian High School. i am a current freshman
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

I am in 8th grade. i have been going there since preschool. i like it but they have to many rules
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2008

The teachers in the high school are committed to their students success and are available to help tutor with no charge. My children (2 have graduated, 1 in high school) have received a top notch education and were well prepared to succeed at the 4 year college level. More importantly, they know who they are in Christ and are prepared to defend their faith and stand up for God! They have been commended by their university professors for a strong work ethic, academic achievement and for their moral character. VCS isn't a perfect school because there is no such thing as a perfect school but it is a great place for students. Of course, students need to be at VCS for the right reasons and will get out of it in proportion to what they put in. (hard work=success and preparation for life) Thanks VCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I am a high school student at VCS, and have been a student there since I was in early pre-school. This is a great place to be a student in ECE, Elementary, Middle School, and now High School. I have great friends here whose families share the same family values that mine has, who love God and who want us to not only excel in academics, but excel in life and in our walk with God. I play three different high school sports at VCS and have played sports since elementary school there. We have great principals, superb teachers, and an opportunity to be involved in college prep classes like honors and AP coursework. My classmates and I are well prepared for college and many graduates have gone on to big name schools and UC's. This is a fantastic place to go to school and grow up.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 26%
Black 11% 6%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Schools
Bethany Lutheran
Notre Dame
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 89% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 3% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Californa
California State Colleges
Private State Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Paul Harrell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • WASC / ACSI
Fax number
  • (707) 446-1514

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Mu Alpha Theta
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We offer a complete education from Infants to 12th grade on a beautiful 30 acre campus, complete with a sports complex. 99% of VCS seniors are accepted to the colleges of their choice each year. VCS graduating class has a combined total of over $2.2 million in merit scholarships each year. VCS offers a strong Christian environment, Bible classes each day, Chapels weekly, Spiritual emphasis weeks and annual retreats (5th grade - HS).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
168
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Bethany Lutheran
Notre Dame

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$1000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Referral Credit

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UC Campuses
Private schools
CSU Campuses
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 4%
4 year college - 89%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1117 Davis Street
821 Marshall Rd.
Vacaville, CA 95687
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 446-1776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





New Life Productions
Vacaville, CA


Country High School
Vacaville, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT