Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tesoro Del Valle Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Living in Valencia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $342,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

I was very happy with this school when we moved here 5 years ago. The principal was wonderful and really cared about the students. Unfortunately she retired last year and the school has not been the same. The new principal has taken away everything that was a positive. She took away honor roll and she changed the awards ceremony drastically. The teachers used to be able to say something special about the student before the received their award, but now the principal gives them out and it is like an assembly line. She also can't pronounce most of the kid's names. My child didn't even want to go this year for the 1st time. The children now have to sit on the floor instead of on chairs, because she doesn't think they should have to pull out the chairs. Really? They are not animals! Some of the teachers are exceptional and others should not be teaching. Some of the teachers don't seem to even like kids! The kids no longer go to Pali in the 5th grade and the 6th graders don't get to go to Magic Mountain any more. Like I said, All the Positives about the school have been taken away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Excellent School! We are proud to be a part of it! Our favorite part is when they go to Camp PALI for the 5th graders. My son can't wait for his turn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Great school , excellent academics, excellent teachers, friendly staff, I was so happy with all the arts my little one did in first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

I have been a Tesoro parent since it's inaugural year. Over the course of time and horrendous budget cuts in California, the school has changed to no fault of it's own. The principal is outstanding. The office staff is warm, hospitable and efficient. The PTA is outstanding. However, class sizes have escalated from the 22 per class it started with to over 30 just in kindergarten; greater in the upper grades. Teachers are displaced from the grades they are accustomed to and enjoy teaching while most of the dynamic, younger teachers have been laid off. There are a few veterans that are absolutely outstanding but the tenured lay offs have also left less enthusiastic and less efficient teachers to teach also. This has greatly impacted the level of education provided at this school and most in the Saugus Union School District. Other local districts seem to have prepared better that SUSD. The impact this has made on the classroom, the teacher and students will be felt for years to come. It's a shame because this was and could be a superb, top-notch campus comparable to any private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

We are so happy with the Tesoro Elementary, I had an excellent experienced with my child attending Kindergarden, the teacher was just outstanding, and the staff cares not only for the children but for the parents. I have nothing bad to say about this School. I love how my little one was constantly challenged in her academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

This is very good school. My son is attening the school and my daughter attended the school from year one of openning. My son attended from pre-K and I have no issues. The school has solid teachers and the principal is well seasoned. After school enrichment classes are great and my children love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

This is a fantastic school in a great community. The Principal and teachers are absolutely wonderful. It's a model school. I cannot imagine anyone not satisfied with this school. Children there are respectful towards their teachers, peers and enthused about learning in the classroom. My daughter attended Tesoro since the beginning and enjoyed every moment there. She is now in Junior High doing very well due the great preparation she got at Tesoro Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Principals favor children that afre spoiled and rotten, and beleive everything they say. Children are framed all of the time.


Posted September 6, 2011

Tesoro del Valle Elementary is an exceptional school. Our first year was truly better than we could have even imagined. Every single employee (from the custodian to the nurse; front office staff to the teachers) cares about the students. When you enter the school, it feels like you are entering a family where people take the time to learn your name. The school is very academic - students have homework nightly, and parents are expected to be involved in the learning process. This is what sets Tesoro apart - parents are in the classrooms volunteering, helping out in the library, and donating time and money to the very involved PTA. Because of this parental involvement, Tesoro has an excellent library, new computers, a full-time music and physical education teacher (which have been eliminated at many schools), a fabulous art program, and several assemblies and events throughout the year. When we had a concern about bullying, it was dealt with swiftly and professionally by the responsive principal, yard duty staff and teachers. As I said, EVERYONE truly cares about the students and their families, and it shows! We are so grateful for this exceptional school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

We love this school! Our son loves going to school every day, and so do all his friends. The teachers are energetic and engaging, and they involve parents in the learning process. A weekly newsletter is sent home from the principal, and an email is sent home each week from the teacher as well, detailing the week's homework, projects and any special activities or information that needs to be shared. Children have nightly homework, and are also expected to read for 20 minutes (which is a GREAT habit to start at this age). Parents are involved in every aspect of the school - homework, planning fun events (father-daughter dance, mother-son bowling, fall festival, etc), PTA, volunteering in classrooms. My son had a non life threatening medical emergency at school and they called me instantly, beginning with, "Your son is okay, but...." which was much appreciated. No one likes to see their child's school on call display! I appreciate that they handled it calmly, professionally, and immediately. It is nice to know that he is in great hands. We're so pleased with Tesoro. The teachers are wonderful & caring, and they make learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

Tesoro del Valle is a wonderful school. Our son was new to the US school system and faced several challenges. My son's teacher was so patient and helped us to navigate through the various programs available to help our son - even the principle got involved. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. We look forward to another year at Tesoro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

My son has been enrolled at Tesoro since kindergarten and is now in 4th grade. I have been blessed that my son, and now his sister have had the opportunity to attend this wonderful school. The teachers are focused on the needs of all children and hold very high expectations for their students. Parents are asked to be involved with their child in all areas of learning and the rewards are evident in all they do. The teachers are kind, but hold the kids accountable, which is very beneficial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

Tesoro is an excellent school. The parents and teachers are involved with the students progress and the school has a very active PTA involvement. Both my kids have developed good study habits because of the daily homework requirement. The school/PTA also offers different enrichment classes through out the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

I am a Physics Professor who finds this school one of the best ever. I moved with my family to the area mainly because of the extraordinary schools in the area. During these 4 years, Tesoro del Valle has exemplified what a great school is all about. The Teachers, Staff, facilities, Principal and PTA are remarkable and the location is ideal. My daughter is in 4th grade and has learned a great deal of math and science through daily homework, lectures, activities, etc. I can attest that because my wife and I are involved very closely with her daily, intense homework. A number of kids who transferred from some private schools have had difficulties to adjust to the serious pace of Tesoro del Valle. Above all, this school has a great environment and its location is in a beautiful and safe community. What else can you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

As first time parents of a Kindergartener, we are extremely happy with the classroom learning and how excited our daughter is about attending school every day. The school newletter comes home with her every week as does the weekly letter from the teacher with the schedule of activies and classroom assignments. Commincation between the parents and teacher is excellent. I especially like the size of the school and the classrooms. I forgot to pack a snack for my 5 year old for her nutrition break, I panicked and called the office. They offered to help me and delivered graham crackers to her. The sense of community between parent and school is great. We also go to the after school program at Tesoro and very pleased with Ms. Susie and all the counselors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Tesoro del Valle is a fantastic school. The teachers are wonderful, so full of enthusiasm. My child loves going everyday. As with any new school there are challenges to meet; more library books are needed to fill the new library. However the school has a very active PTA and many parent volunteers helping to improve and enhance an already terrific school. My son has attended Tesoro since it opened. He has had nothing but wonderful teachers all four years. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I could not be happier with the school and my child's kindergarten teacher. They clearly set high standards and ensure that each child is challenged to his or her own level without completely overwhelming them. I am amazed at how much they have learned already in three short months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I am so happy with the level of teaching and the amount of activities and homework given at kindergarden. Appreciate the effor teachers put in preparing the homework and it was nice to know that teacher knows minute things about the student which we went over during the parent teacher meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

We moved here due to the schools and have been so happy with Tesoro. I have 2 kids at the school and both just love going every day. The school staff have done a great job of keeping the kids interested in school and learning so much in a short period of time. The school is only 3 years old so it will continue to get better every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I've been very disappointed with the school. My child joined from private school. We moved here because of the schools. We got a split class. There are 3 teachers and there's very little teaching going on. We went from all 'A''s to getting B- and C's. My child is discouraged. His favorite class is recess. The month before state testing all learning stopped and we concentrated on the test only. After the test it seemed like the school year ended and there was no need to teach anymore. We [are] looking to return to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

915

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

915

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females87%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females80%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females77%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner80%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females86%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner85%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females91%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females89%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females85%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females71%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females85%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females83%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females71%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 11%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Black 5% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29171 North Bernardo Way
Valencia, CA 91354
Phone: (661) 294-5380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Creek Academy
Valencia, CA






Trinity Classical Academy
Santa Clarita, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT