Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

889 students|Saugus Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 83 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Helmers Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
Some are terrible, but nothing is done about parent complaints. When the majority of transfers post the start of school focuses on the same teachers every year, you would think that would be a red flag.

Charles Helmers Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
Homework has significantly decreased now that parents are no on gee grading them for the teachers.


Charles Helmers Elementary School 3

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
Some horrible teachers that are allowed to remain year after year. Administration and school board don't seem to care, PTA well aware as their kids never end up in these classes.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
This is our third year in Helmers. We moved here from Bay area and then La Crescenta because homes were affordable, and that community provides good schools . After one year at Santa Clarita School I thought transferring my child would be a better choice as it looks cleaner and good ratings to compare. I hope as I write this , and with our new principle some changes come to effect . I know a lot of parents are afraid to step up and confront how they feel. I personally am saddened by the education standards the new generation is introduced with the "common core" or if you speak an extra language at home you have to go through ELAC as if your child is handicapped . I can;t change this fact of concept but what I do request is that they hire teachers who are really teaching and encourage challenge. Not just that they are required to finish up the program that they are required to complete and be always absent and replaced with substitutes.. What is the point when more than half of the kids don't grasp well in class , we as parents have to do it all over at home? We'd rather homeschool right? It's so sad when homework is barely in writing any more . Everything is in "play mode" and learning going to school has become a form of free daycare .Like most concerned parents, I have come across other parents who have shown their frustration on same level but have chosen to send their kids to after school enrichment programs such as extra hours of tutoring on the side -quietly- without bringing up the fact that there is something definitely missing in the class. Our kids are normal to smart but they need repetition ,practice and grasping material to excel . And then, there are those parents who are so passive on their child's results, that complain about homework/assignments given to their children because they may have not the time to dedicate and work with their children after a long day.Those are the kids that are just "moving along" ....until again they have no other choice but find an outside school source to progress. I really wish things change and improve in this school and our children become ahead of the game before college. I will not mention the PTA , because that's a different story itself.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Heard so many good things about this school, only to be sadly disappointed by the teachers and poor leadership. As a volunteer in several of my child's classes, I can vouch for "teaching to the test" and the endless pages of worksheets in lieu of any actual teaching. High test scores, but do the kids actually learn anything? PTA runs the school, ensuring their children get the best teachers. Kindergarten teachers were an awesome group, but half no longer teach there or this level. Fit team has good intentions.


Charles Helmers Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
They preach about compassion and empathy, but the administrations action (or lack of) speak louder than words.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Top Notch Teachers and Staff. They Care about every student. All of our children and the rest of the children in the area are performing Great and are ready to move on to high levels in Junior High.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The worst school in SCV. PTA...parties only. Does not inspire students to learn. Teachers leave much to be desire and teach to test. Endless worksheets...substitute for teaching. Poor excuse for a school.


Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
This has to be the absolute WORST school in SCV !!!!! Poor teaching, poor office employees horrible, disgrace, disgusting !!!

Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Trust the negative reviews about this school. Teachers: Don't get me wrong, there are some decent and good teachers here, but this school has enough of the bad teachers (some are known to be lazy, and even worse some just yell at the students daily and some bully their students, some are absent often due to district meetings, etc.). Even though parents & students complain to the District, not much is done. Academics: It's a lot of busy work filling out worksheets. Not much of actual passionate & engaged learning or diversified learning. The exceptional student doesn't get much in the way of enrichment or propelling that student forward. If the child has special needs student, expect denial & minimizing of the needs and even intimidation if you don't agree with their minimal services. Other Parents/ Students: There are some nice parents & students, but I don't know why but some parents & students think it's fine to exclude others and act "haughty" (without a reason). Also, some of the students can be a "bully" to others. The parents & students who have close ties to school are treated much differently than others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Helmers Elementary School
27300 North Grandview Drive, Valencia, CA  91354-1800
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 83 reviews. (661) 294-5345
Last modified Charles Helmers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top