Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Valencia, CA
Students enrolled: 889

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


64 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
AWFUL !!!!!! Our first yr, first few months, this school is a disgrace, they do nothing to protect your children fm bullies / harassment. The principal and vice principal are a huge disappointments. I highly do not recommend this school.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 2

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, we felt that the teachers my son had were not motivated and passionate about teaching. We had our son attend this school for two years (Kinder and 1st), and both teachers lacked enthusiam in the classrom and failed to regularly communicate to parents so that parents had the opportunity to get involved with their children's education. My son's 1st grade teacher was even known to yell at the children and told parents that their children needed medical attention because they couldn't sit still in the classroom. I heard from multiple parents that this had been going on for years, and parents even complained to the district but nothing was done. As a result, we decided this year to take our children out of Helmers along with other parents that are are disappointed with how the school is being run.
1 person found this helpful


Charles Helmers Elementary School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Yes, the school is mostly modular trailers. It was scheduled to be rebuilt, but then CA decided education wasn't important. But the modulars don't make the school, the teachers do. The principal is very committed, but constrained by the district. The teachers are like teachers everywhere, some are great, some mediocre. The homework is ridiculous, worksheet after worksheet, (let them spend 30 more minutes in class). The after/before school care is adequate but inflexible (full time is the only option) and can't really help with homework. There are no frills here, a few after school programs for 6-8 weeks that cost. Teachers don't teach daily PE, it's "desk-ercize" and "Fit Team Fridays"; no one teaches the skills and rules of sports. As a double-income educated family, Helmer's and SUSD does little to help us reach a balance. We all need to take responsibility for the situation - when we vote, when asked to donate time/money. These are our children and the future isn't cheap.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Heard so many good things about this school, only to be sadly disappointed by the teachers and poor leadership. As a volunteer in several of my child's classes, I can vouch for "teaching to the test" and the endless pages of worksheets in lieu of any actual teaching. High test scores, but do the kids actually learn anything? PTA runs the school, ensuring their children get the best teachers. Kindergarten teachers were an awesome group, but half no longer teach there or this level. Fit team has good intentions.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
If you want teaching to the test & running every Friday for necklace charms then this is your school. The PTA, while very involved, is focused on party planning. Do not try to suggest anything new, progressive or academically inclined. They say their "high API scores" are reason enough to maintain the status quo. The administration shifts parents' concerns back on the teachers, as if no vision is required from the top! (Want more science and projects? Ask your teacher to do it!) If you want your child spending 95% of their day doing worksheets, you'll be thrilled. And for a school in a relatively affluent area, a shocking number of parents couldn't bother to crack open their wallets for the direct donation drive. To top it off, the principal honored someone on "Heroes' Day" (9/11) for CHANGING A FORM. That alone should tell you all you need to know. Safety is lacking -- they've got "volunteer" stickers (which ANYONE can just walk right up, sign any name, grab a sticker and you're good to go--no one behind the counter looks up to see who's signing in!) And the teachers, well, they just fall in line behind the administration -- if test scores are OK, that's all that matters!


Charles Helmers Elementary School 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
Oh, Helmers... where to begin. Uninspiring campus. Mostly mobile trailers. My daughter has attended three other elementary schools in the area (we moved a lot), and she loved school. Until she got to Helmers. Sucked the joy out of learning. Her teacher was not very good. The PTA is a clique, closed to new ideas and modern ways of doing things. We are pulling my daughter out and trying home schooling. By the way, don't believe the positive reviews on this site. Want proof? Look at the posted dates. See six reviews posted on Sept 20, 2009? Think that just happened? Or was it orchestrated by the PTA?

Charles Helmers Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Charles Helmers is an amazing school! My daughter's teacher is rigorous and has high expectations. The students come ready to learn, and the teachers ready to teach!

Charles Helmers Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
Charles Helmers is a great school. Lots of extra activities and great parent involvement. All the teachers seem very dedicated.The PTA is ran by volunteers, which is a lovely way to give back to the community.


Charles Helmers Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
Helmers like all public schools has had its cuts, but the PTA is nothing but amazing! These are parents volunteering their time to offer addition opportunities for the students. The teachers very talented. And any problems at the school are handled quickly and with reasanable resolutions. I don't know what people expect from a free education? But Charles Helmers is an excellent public school, and their dedicated parents add to an over all wonderful education.

Charles Helmers Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a community member
Public schools are all ran with the best intentions on a limited budget. Helmers elementary is staffed with a principle and vice principle that fight for the most for their students. The staff and parents put in allot of extra hours to make sure the kids are being educated in the best way possible. I like to volunteer in the arts myself thru out the campus, if their is a flaw I believe we as a community should hop to and help out, like so many parents already are. Helmers is a great place to send your kids.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Helmers Elementary School
27300 North Grandview Drive, Valencia, CA  91354
(661) 294-5345
Last modified Charles Helmers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles Helmers Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top