Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valencia High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
not all that effective, they have to large of class sizes for one and to me it appears some of the teachers don't really care all that much. Not all but some.

Valencia High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
nothing really negative or positive in this area, I think the school wants all kids to be honest and to be fair with them.


Valencia High School 2

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
This school has gone down hill over the past year or so as it is now way too crowded with all the Castaic area kids coming over, enrollment is way to high, classroom size is out of control. It is projected to only get worse next year. My kid is just a number, if your kid needs extra help in one of their classes good luck getting it!

Valencia High School 5

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
Great school. Some students have gone on to Princeton, Yale, UPenn, Georgetown and many of the UCs.

Valencia High School 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a community member
Every school has their ups and downs. I am a black student who is in their third year at this school. People always like to comment on things they have no clue about. My shool is taking action by the law because what happened was not right, but just because the video went viral does not mean these boys should be punished anymore than other students that have been in this situation before but it did not go viral. I love my school. It use to be very racist now it is diverse and a good place to learn. I recommend people focus on the school as a whole and not by the ONE fight that really never happens at Valencia


Valencia High School 4

Posted May 03, 2014
- a student
valencia high school is quite youngschool (open in 1994) it does not have 2nd level building. it's pretty decent the students are alright and kind. during my freshmen year, there are many kids trying to welcome me. I have treacher collins syndrome ;i have mild face deformities and overall the kids are pretty welcoming. the older kids are nice and if you smile at them they would give you butter melting smile. If you try to talk to the students they won't reject you just act confident even though you're not. don't look depress, they can sense it and they are happy people, they look forward to meet fellow happy people. there are no such thing as cool or not cool as long you talk and get involved they don't care if you're short, black, asian, skinny or ugly, they see your personality.

Valencia High School 2

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
My child is having a very disappointing experience at VHS, after a great elementary and jr. high school. There have been a few good teachers, but some are mediocre and a few are downright bullies. Overall, they do not seem to care about the success of individual students. They do, however, care a great deal about the success of their sports teams.

Valencia High School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a student
Great school, great envirement, and just great people at Valencia so it's really easy to fit in and meet new people.


Valencia High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My freshman is enthusiastic about her French teacher and cross country coach. Overall, she has been made to feel welcome by her teachers and encouraged by the rigors of the curriculum. The counselors and teachers were very accomodating in helping to make any class changes.

Valencia High School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
School is great and they have very good classes. Whenever my son needs help in something his teachers are there to help. I do agree that office staff needs more improvement in people skills and being nicer and attentive! You can certainly see the difference from other school office staff.

Nearby schools

Valencia High School
27801 North Dickason Drive, Valencia, CA  91355-1208
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (661) 294-1188
Last modified Valencia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top