Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johnston Cooper Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vallejo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I appreciate and happy that the administrative, teachers, and most especially to the principal for trully and serious in implementing against bullying. Once again to all of you at Cooper my opportunity to say thank you. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I am an Alma Mater of Cooper, but I went there in the 60's. California's standards and Vallejo California have changed drastically since then, unfortunately. Long live Mr. Changus.


Posted May 26, 2013

This is my sons 2nd year at Cooper Elementary School. On his K year he did not have any problem. His teacher was Ms. Bridwell and she is the best teacher a child can have. If I can only have my son stay in her classroom I will but he needed to step up to higher grade and plus Ms, Bridwell was assigned as a 2nd grade teacher. Now that my son is on the 1st grade, he encountered a lot for a 6 year old child. As a young age he already encountered to bully and nothing is being done about it. As a parent, would you like for your child to have a nightmare and wakes up 3x every night. This nightmare had been going on for almost 2 1/2 mos. Have I known it until I volunteer one day and saw the kid that was bullying my child threw a pencil at his face right in front of me. I have spoken to the staff and principal but nothing was done, I don't think I can ignore this. I don't know if I will send my son to the same school where he can not be protected. They have a sign in the school that says stop bullying but I think they are not paying attention to it. Cooper Elementary School don't have action and how to protect this kids from bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

My kids have been to this school since kindergarten,(2000) I have to say that the academic level for this elementary school was outstanding, unfortunately this has decrease in the last couple of years..maybe due to the state cuts in education. But I need to say that this school needs more parent involvement and participation. Its been proved that when the parents are involve in their kids education, such as volunteering at the school, the kids are more likely to succeed., and this also help the school community to achieve more goals for the school, with the participation of parents the school voice get louder at the district level to get the needs met for the students , teachers and the school. proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son is now 20 years and was a product of Cooper Elementary. My daughter is 6-year-old and in the 1st Grade at Cooper. It continues to be a great group of teachers that have always pulled together with teamwork. This is so necessary, especially during these times of financial difficulty! Great teamwork!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

This is my son's first year with Cooper. He's a kindergarten student in Ms. Grasso's class. So far I'm very pleased w/ Cooper, he's learned alot and is even being challanged in areas he has already mastered at kindergarten level. Most of the teachers are very patient and outgoing with the students. Though he is not yet in the After-school program- I think it an excellent program and they have lots of interaction w/ the children. Proud parent-Mrs. Marshall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

Our grandson loves this school! Everyone is great here and they address the fact that he is very academically advanced and help him to thrive everyday with an accellerated program. Thanks Cooper School we love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My kids have been to this school since kindergarten & we haven't had any problems. The only thing that the school need is more support with the parents. I have helped my children's teachers throughout their school years and noticed that many children needed their parent's support. The school also needs more support for special needed students (i.e. speech, English as a second language, math, etc.). I believe that the new principal is doing the best she can for her school & is doing a good job. The school district just needs to straighten themselves out so our children can have a better future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

My child has attended this school since the kindergarten. I personal do not care from for school and some of the staff. I love my daughter teacher this year and she has helped a lot. I think this school has a few good apples in the whole bunch. I also believe that more parents should be involved in fixing the schools problems and not just blaming the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

Cooper is not a very good elementary school. Cooper also has way too many kids per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

The school staff and yard duties treat the kids like they're criminals from the day they walk into kindergarten. No wonder we have problems with youth violence in Vallejo by the time the kids are big. There is zero role modeling of respectful interpersonal interactions on campus. I demand better for my kids and we left this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

I personally do not like this school and I am seriously considering taking my child out of cooper before she starts the 5th grade. Her teacher has a very heavy accent, in which my daughter has a difficult time absorbing the knowledge necessary to do her assignments. The teacher has no control of the students. When frustrated, the teacher calls the parents, not to inform them of discipilary issues, but more so to try and get the chidren in trouble with their parents, which is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

My son has been at this school for three years and I have had nothing but support from his past and present teachers. They always make time for me if I need to discuss anything with regards to my sons education. I like this school and will keep my son here until the end of his elementary years. I can't believe that there are some disappointed parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I am pulling my child out of this school this year she came into the school with very high self esteem and has left it shattered. The children are not well supervised and often play malicious tricks on those who are smaller than them the teacher has given my child nothing in the way of academics. I have never seen a school as bad as this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I don't feel safe sending my kids to this school! My son's 3rd grade teacher is a dream however, but the rest leave a lot to be desired! This summer we plan on moving out of this State completely, just so my kids can have a better education and feel safe. The people at the school did not cooperate when we have had problems in the past.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

750

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

750

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females58%
Males36%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females63%
Males48%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Females42%
Males14%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipino54%
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only33%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females56%
Males43%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females50%
Males43%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females52%
Males57%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females56%
Males35%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students34%
Females35%
Males32%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students22%
Females29%
Males15%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Non-economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability23%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate11%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate19%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 40%
Hispanic 33%
White 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
English language learners 26%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Walls
Fax number
  • (707) 556-8423

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 Del Mar Street
Vallejo, CA 94589
Phone: (707) 556-8420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Son Valley Academy
Vallejo, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT