Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Cove Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Vallejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $184,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

Glen cove is one of the best schools in vallejo.Our son is autistic and the special Ed dept. goes above and beyond to make him comfortable.The area that needs improvement is the parking lot in mornings and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We couldn't have put our child in a better school in Vallejo. The teachers truely care about their students and take the time to work with them and their parents to help achieve their goals. It's a nice environment. I love when my child comes home and tells me he had a GREAT day at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

Overall Glen Cove Elementary school is a really good school. Yes, the parking lot needs some improvements or maybe the parents need to know how to follow directions. My only complaint would be that i really wish the PTA or the principle would see the importance of having a Field Day at the end of the school year just like every school has one. I think this is a good incentive for every kid and a great memory that they will alway have. Please Mr. Allison consider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Year after year my child's experience has improved at this school. The music program is great, I hear my daughter singing the songs all the time. The teachers and office staff are caring and try hard to make the kids feel safe and respected. From year to year I have noticed that this year the bullying is less and the kids seem to be nicer to each other. They are using a positive approach to keeping the kids out of trouble, and it has made a difference. I visit my child's classroom and help out as often as I can...the teacher and the kids really like the help and support from parents! I have read some of the negative reviews of this school, I can only say that no school is perfect and that this school is striving to put kids first. If the grammar used by these people that have written negative reviews is any indication of their own education, I would say that they don't have a clue! It is what you make it, anyone who expects to be absent from their child's education is a fool and should have never had a child in the first place. I thank all the teachers that have provided my kids with a safe and fun place to learn. I thank the office staff for all their hard work too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

Reading the reviews, I felt I should leave mine. My daughter is in her second year at Glen Cove, 1st grade Mr. Banford. I have to say I was hesitant in putting her in school in Vallejo for countless reasons. Mrs. King was her kindergarten teacher and she was AWESOME! My daughter has excelled so quickly from preschool to now and I KNOW that this school is to thank. The staff that I have interacted with are extremely kind, show that they care and do a wonderful job with these children. I find it hard to believe that the parents that have left reviews are rating this school because of a parking lot?? When 300 kids need to be picked up at the same time, be prepared to have traffic. Its not the school's fault, but the PARENTS that don't know how to drive/park or just don't CARE Because they're apparently more important. This school has the faculty to make it great, but do need support of parents to get there. You can't get upset for a truant child, YOU kept your child out of school and then complain that it's not a good school?? Hmm, interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

My son attended for kindergarten only. He was moved into a combined k/1 class that was extremely disorganized and disfunctional. His teacher attempted to do the best she could but the students were vastly different in ability that both grades suffered. I volunteered regularly just to ensure there was some progress in his learning. My son was reported as truant after us taking a short trip for his birthday. We let the teacher know and got his work for the time he would be absent to be surprised a few weeks after returning that we had to attend a truancy hearing. My main concern was that no one phoned to see if my 5yr old was ok after not showing up to school and they claimed no calls. But they sure were upset about classroom funding lost by his absence. I felt that his education was supposed to be done by the teacher in class not by parents at home. Unfortunately Vallejo's budget woes will leave a mark on the future for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

This school is a disaster. The problem seems to be tenure. This school can't seem to get rid of bad teachers. Teachers keep expecting parents to take control of their children's education but teachers are getting paid to do the job and it is not getting done. They blame children, parents, community anyone but their own inability to teach. Having taught I think it is terrible that we all enable this corrupt system. a system which continues to pass around the bad apples and lemon teachers. Lets get rid of teachers that only want a paycheck and could care less about education. I think the school attitude starts with the principal. Anyone so afraid to take on bully parents will not take on bully kids. Time for a change all the way around. We are moving and I am taking my kids to a 5 star school with an 8 out of 10 rating. Time to step up as parents and if you can change schools and if you can't complain. It is time to take on the tenure system. There is a reason that charter schools are thriving.............
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

Last year 2010-2011 was my 3rd graders first year attending Glen Cove School. Although, my daughter's 3rd grade teacher and I had a few misunderstandings during the school year, I found her to be a strong teacher in the classroom. Also, Mr. Allison is a dynamic and caring principal. I do not believe that any school is perfect, especially in the public school system, I believe my child received a good and well organized 3rd grade education during the year. I believe that in order to obtain a quality education for one's child, parent involvement is key, and parent's must reinforce the curriculum and skills taught in class at home. Parent's must micro-manage their child's education, and become very familiar with the grade's curriculum. Parent's must not rely solely on the teacher, school or school district to educate their child, parents MUST become involved. So, before anyone bashs Glen Cove Elementary School,the teachers, office staff or principal make sure you have done all that was expected of you on behalf of your child's education. P.S. every school is dealing with bullying and disciplinary issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

What on earth is the principal thinking on having the kids out in the cold sprinkling just to practice for chorus? Wow he had a umbrella to cover his piano but what about the kids? Dont get surprise if your kids get sick.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2011

The school has a lot of potential. I have a kindergarten in the school and he learned qutie a bit but I do have to teach him at home also to re-enforce the topics he's learning. The reviews have gotten worst the last few years but I don't think it's entirely the school's fault. I'm sure the state's school budget affected the quality of education. Unlike Alameda, Orinda, Moraga, and other cities that have additional local taxes to support schools, it's tough when class sizes grow to 28, and maybe even 32. Can you imagine one teacher handling 28/32 often undisciplined students in a public school with no additional help? I can't, so I volunteer a lot. Good luck to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

i had the worst experience at this school it really seems to me like the teacher my son had this year just did not care or want to be there i saw her on several occasion screaming at a little girl in his class. She also came up to me one afternoon and told me my son had failed there reading test so i asked her what can we do to help him is there a class you can put him in and she said "NO THAT THEY ARE DOING EVERYTHING THEY CAN " that's why when i went and talked to the office and they set me up the the help my son needed she also lied to me on an occasion and the lady in the office and the principle also know about that so needles to say i will not go back and i will move from this area to get him a better school and teacher that actually care if he succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

We had our reservations about sending our daughter to this school, but after talking to some other parents we decided to try it out for a year. We will not be going back. The teachers clearly care about the students, most parents are involved to some degree, but the principal only cares about himself. He seems to be unable to stand up to his teachers when necessary, and flat out lied to me when I confronted him with an issue. He is short with the children, and the most important thing to him seems to be Jazz. I agree that music is important, but every week there seems to be another Jazz assembly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I reviewed this school 2 years ago when my child was in kindergarten. In my opinion, in the past two years the school has gone downhill. We get NO communication from the teacher/principal. Bullying is a HUGE problem at Glen Cove. My family is moving, and so are MANY other families that I have talked with. The parking lot situation has improved, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

The Principal DOES care about the children and does things that I dare say no other Principals would do in this district. There are so many things that the staff here do that go above and beyond the call of duty. Mr. Allison holds a singing choir every Friday with ALL of the grade levels, He also organizes such things as Ocean Night, and really great science nights. There are problems here, but 90 percent of these problems are with 2 percent of the PARENTS! The parking lot is poorly designed and as such makes for a frustrating and often times dangerous place for the children. One of the parents has taken the inititive to do something about this and has greatly improved both the safety and the logistics of the lot. I would recommend this school highly, it is a great place to learn and seems to get better every year! Glen Cove is a wonderful place for children...they blossom here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

My kids have gone here since kindergarten. Great school, great teacher great parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Yes, I agree with the previous message about the parking lot situation. I get very frustrated waiting in the car line, so I just park, even if that means up the side street and walk. Some parents are very inconsiderate, don't give the bus room to pass, an refuse to move their car no matter what! Academically, though, we have had a great experience at Glen Cove. My son has had two very good teachers in his two years at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

My son has been attending Glen Cove since Kindergarten. The teachers, office staff and principal are very caring and take an active part in student's abilities. I was very impressed at how my son's teachers over the years has worked with him and me. My son was diagnosed with ADHD but instead of turning away, the teachers became even more involved with working with him. Over the summer we moved to another part of town and unfortunately my son was put on a waiting list to attend Glen Cove. I'm hoping that he's accepted so he can continue there for his last two years. Any parent considering Glen Cove for their child to attend is considering a Winner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

This school has had, and continues to have a Great PTA participation. Parent involvement is a culture here that is promoted and given importance. The quality of the academic programs are much better than schools in the same district, and are at par with (if not better) than adjacent districts. Music, Arts, Sports, and other activities are being well supported despite of budget constraints because the school recognizes it's importance. Definitely one of the best Elementary schools in the Solano County District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

very good quality of teachers that reflects in the STAR results. empahsis is on english/composition then science and math. music lessons/chorus weekly. i see at least 15-20 parents volunteering on campus. they have a great traffic saftey program in the morning which enlists students to help in unloading children from vehicles during morning drop off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Glen Cove Elementary School is a perfect school for my daughter. They encourage children to read books and excell in all areas of academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

750

Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

750

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females38%
Males27%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino14%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate37%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females50%
Males49%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females42%
Males31%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females70%
Males52%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females64%
Males40%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females70%
Males59%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipino93%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females33%
Males56%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females45%
Males67%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students31%
Females18%
Males42%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Filipino18%
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate9%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)32%
Parent education - college graduate32%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 30% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 11%
Hispanic 21% 52%
Two or more races 13% 3%
White 9% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Glen Cove Parkway
Vallejo, CA 94591
Phone: (707) 556-8491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT