Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Vincent Ferrer School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vallejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2012

St. Vincent Ferrer School in Vallejo is an excellent school! The Teachers, staff and Principal are kind, competent, compassionate and caring. The Math curriculum is great. They won first place at the Justin Siena Math Competition two years in a row (2011 and 2012). The tuition is reasonalble. Students and parents are wonderful. Lots of volunteer opportunities and Community activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

Kindergarten teacher disrespectful, arrogant, rude, pretentious, and abnoxious, very unprofessional, loves to chat with parents about nonsense, whines more than her pupils does, and she does not care if you have real serious concern about your child. My child's behavior changed from positive to negative just the first week of kindergarten. Everytime I try to speak to the teacher regarding my child's behavior, she conveniently blames it on my parenting, makes false assumptions. Then she turns away rudely without finishing the conversation. My child noticed the same about her. She said that her teacher does not listen when she tries to talk to her about something. Obviously she doesn't care about the children's well being. They frequently change principals, they have a new one this year so I cannot rate on leadership. I don't think she can do anything with this kindergarten teacher because she's been teaching there for quite some time. Maybe she's the person who drove the previous principals away? I dont't know, but think twice..do not make same mistake as I did for your kid's sake. Kindergarten should be a positive and rewarding experience for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

As a parent, we always want whats best for our children. Sending my son to St Vincents was a no brainer given the state of vallejo's public school system. To say this school is impressive, does not do it justice. The staff is caring and attentive, the courses material is great, the parents are excellent. Volunteering at first was bogus to me, but now I love it. I get to meet other parents and the kids that my son interacts with. Bottomline this school is an excellent choice for any parent to choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I this school it is the best you could ever want for your children. turst me i thanked my parents @ graduation for sending me to this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

With no reservations, I recommend St. Vincent Ferrer Preschool. The directors greet you in the morning. They have a sound curriculum. My daughter's phonemic awareness is emerging. They also have school spirit and fun activities. This preschool is also open during the summer. As a 'helicopter' mom, I love St. Vincent Ferrer Preschool in Vallejo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

Some of the most caring teachers you ever want to meet,I am proud that my daughter attends this school.The parents are a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Mostly caring teacher and falculty but when I went there which was only a couple years ago, they had a horrible math curriculam. I heard now it's better thought.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

A wonderful school! The most caring teachers, coupled with the best staff and principal, make an outstanding learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

SV's preschool is the best I know. Teachers are caring and my child had nothing but the best quality education and learning there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

The principal has created hostility between the faculty and the parents and has imposed unreasonable rules in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Nice school. Academics are sound. Faculty and staff are generally caring and patient. Tuition is reasonable but after-school care & mandatory scrip contributions make the overall cost quite expensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

I highly recommend St. Vincent Ferrer's PreSchool/Daycare to parents who want their children to be prepared for Kindergarten and be introduced to Catholic education. All the teachers have been there for at least 6 years. They are also less expensive than other established pre-schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

St. Vincent's Pre-school/Daycare is the best pre-school in Vallejo. The teachers' tenure reflect their dedication to the development of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

The school is one of the best private school in Vallejo. Facilities are #1 compare to other smaller school. The only thing that I notice the past few years is that I like the former principal. She is more approachable. Students and parents like her and the kids gets more support from her in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My grandchild has attended this school for the past 8 yrs. and went to preschool at St. Vincent's as well the school is wonderful but parent particpation is almost nill. Parent's need to put in more time instead of just forty or twenty hours a year some of our programs demand alot more time then that. Parents get involved with your childs school, look around and see where you are needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 58% 11%
Two or more races 18% 3%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Black 4% 6%
White 3% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

420 Florida Street
Vallejo, CA 94590
Phone: (707) 642-4311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Reignierd School
Vallejo, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT