Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Patrick?St. Vincent High School

Private | 9-12 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vallejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $184,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2009

My son received the greatest education at St. Patrick-St. Vincent. The teachers were wonderful and the kids appeared to be well diciplined and were proud of their school. Kudos to St. Pat's!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Because of the small population of this school, I was able to feel like an individual, instead of a number in a huge academic system. On the other hand, it was still large enough to be diverse (about 600-700 students). The teachers, even if you never had them, recognized your face at least. In fact, even though i've graduated already(2007), I can still talk to my favorite teachers whenever I get the chance and have time to pass by in Vallejo. For those students considering this school, be open to it, and look into as many clubs and organizations as you can your first year. You'll never know what you like, and you can narrow your interests down as you get older; it's what you make of SPSV. Parents, compared to other private schools, tuition is generally lower, makingyougetthebetterdeal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

My son's first year was very disjointed. Several teachers were on leave and numerous subs. [One] teach had tantrums and kicked student's backpacks. A very difficult year with the transition to high school and he instability among the teachers. The school also had a program for on-line grading & assignment updates. All teachers were not mandated to use this system which made it even more difficult as a concerned parent to monitor his progress. Same thing his entire sophomore year - This second year he had some wonderful teachers specifically Mr. Hook and Mr. Nunes - who made learning enjoyable. They were exceptionally supportive and encouraging. Their purpose was for their students to succeed. Counselor Ghilarducci and Mr. Arwine were also very supportive. [Another] teacher was rigid at the expense of the success of her students and imparting her subject matter to them. She was more concerned about structure than content.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

My child is in the graduating class of 2007 and I cannot say how disappointed I am with St. Patrick- St. Vincent High School, infact, I cannot wait until June! The school is very sloppily run, for example the faculty has a lax way of going about things. Everyone I know has told me great things about St. Patrick- St. Vincent High School, but as one would put it, it's not cracked up to what it's put out to be. On The other hand, the teachers are wonderful. In these four years, I have yet to run into a problemsome teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

This is a wonderful school and absolutely worth it! The students are taught to work hard and are academically prepared for college work. Teachers are dedicated and are available for extra help during lunch and after school. Students who fall below a 2.0 are placed in after school study and are offered help to succeed. They have lots of opportunities for extra curricular activities including an awesome music department (their music teacher is fabulous), campus ministry, athletics, arts and drama. It is an excellent school and a great place to send your children. Well worth the very low tuition compared to other private high schools in the Bay area!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2007

We can not praise the falculty & staff high enough. The prevailing atmosphere is one of caring for the students, both academically and personally. The principal is a wonderfully dedicated and caring woman who is obviously very attached to the students. They stress individual effort and conduct classes and assignments in much the same way as the students will be in college. The entire school is a collge prep environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

SPSV is a great school to be at. the teachers care about you unlike public schools. I am very proud to belong to a catholic school ONCE A BRUIN ALWAYS A BRUIN
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2006

As a parent, I am very disappointed with SPSV. Parents, don't waste your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

Very progressive education w/emphasis on 'thinking for yourself'. Saint's staff loving guidance provides knowledge, ethics, & Christian teachings in a spirit of community. Students are given a 'safe' place to discern, discuss, and make decisions for themselves. Great ethnic diversity, also. Dominican Nuns are the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 21% 3%
White 20% 26%
Hispanic 12% 52%
Black 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mary Ellen Ryan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Benicia Road
Vallejo, CA 94591
Phone: (707) 644-4425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Beal Academy
Vallejo, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT