Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lilac School

Public | K-6 | 570 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

This school is amazing! My daughter is in 3rd grade we moved here from Oceanside to be away from the city. It has been a amazing experience. My daughter has done so well in this school this year and has excelled so much I just can't believe it. This school has so much to offer, so many programs, events and activities. They apparently have a new principal this year and she is just amazing as well. My husband and I were so scared to make this change and are now so happy and thankful that we did. My son is in there pre-K program and will be starting kindergarten next year. I have been on campus on and off through out the year and just love this school and all the kids that go here. It's awesome! Go Lizards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

I have had a problem communicating with my child's teacher. Sometimes having to get back to her several times before I get a response. They changed principals and my child has complained about being bullied by the big kids when shes at recess. They have also had a lice problem and don't seem to be too concerned with that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Don't take your kid here. This school is full of bullies. I have never been to a school that had so many mean children. A lot of the children are very rich and the other half are dirt poor. It's very segregated and the principal does nothing about it. She actually thinks her school is perfect. If your kid is getting bullied she will schedule a bully assembly 2-3 months after the fact. She does nothing to correct the behavior and I think the principal needs to wake up and see whats going on at her school before someone really gets hurt . This school is also very unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Great school! Strong teachers, dedicated leadership, safe, warm, and caring environment. Strong academics and arts. Highly recommend


Posted October 18, 2012

I had three of my children enrolled at Lilac Elementry from kindergarden to 5th grade.. I can say the teachers my children (on the acception of two) have been wonderful. Very kind and personable. Though the school has been in a funk the last two years, very disorganized. They do not want to hire another teacher even though they have the funding. So the children are being shuffled around to three to four different teachers and classroomsstarting in 3rd grade through 5th. This was very disruptive to my 3rd gradrer last year. I feel the principle is a complete bully and first hand experience, does not have the childrens best interset at heart. She is manipulating and is only looking out to make more money for the school. I am happy we have moved into a better school district where the compassion and kindness thrives. I think if they found a more suitable principle for Lilac, the teachers and children would be in much better hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

My second child is in her final year at Lilac...my son (now in high school) did 2nd-5th grade there, and my daughter since kindergarten. I have nothing but praise for the school, the staff, the teachers, and the principal (especially the principal!). It has been an excellent learning and social environment for my two children, and it will be a sad day for us when we no longer have a child at Lilac next year. Both of my kids were in "GATE" programs, and were given room to grow beyond the required curriculum, encouragement to excel, and a real sense of belonging to the Lilac family. And family it is, especially when you add in the legion of parent volunteers who all contribute greatly to the school, and are appreciated by the principal and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I have two children in Lilac now, with the older one in the middle. school. The older one started the second year the school was open, and from the very first day, it has been a positive experience. As in other reviews, the principal is a dedicated individual who is so personable, you instantly like her. The children respect her where they want to please her so badly, and she gives each of them individual attention. No one wants to go to her office (for a negative reason), and that deterrent comes from a mix of strength and love that works beautifully with the children. Eveyone knows everyone and the atmosphere is one of a close community, where the parents and teachers work together for the benefit of the children. My children are doing extremely well, and I owe that to the teachers/staff who are intelligent, personable and hard working, and offer our students a variety of subjects where learning is exciting, not a chore. My kids love to go to school, and I hope this foundation Lilac has given them carries forward to the higher grades. The grade levl specific incentives (treasure box, color code behavior cards, gift cards for awards etc.) get the children excited to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

My two daughters are presently attending this school. This school has been successful because of the dedicated principal. She is by far one of the best principals I have ever known (I used to be an elementary school teacher). I get to experience this school as a parent and see it through the eyes of an educator as well. She is professional, hardworking and enjoys her profession. The students absolutely love her. The bilingual program is successful and the instructors are dedicated to the program. What impresses me most is that the principal decides what is best for the students and school (this means that not everybody will agree with her).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

I love LILAC ELEMENTARY school. I have five children, one now in High School that started his second grade year there down to my youngest who is going in to Kindergarten. With five kids I have experienced just about everything possible at Lilac. From the bilingual program, bullies (every school has them), teachers, parents, bell ringing ceremonies, wildfires, special needs/resource classes, AR (Accelerated Readier) Program. This school does so much for the kids the list could go on and on. My kids are very happy there and love the entire staff. The principal is the best principal I have ever met and has always treated my kids with respect and love. Just watch her walk around the campus and the kids run up to her with huge smiles. Would recommend the community and Lilac school to EVERYONE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

Bilingual program is not "as advertised"-specifically the fact that the "Spanish experts" are not proficient or near proficient in English and this matters more and more as the students progress through the grade levels. More important - teacher moral/attitude toward students and teaching is at unacceptable levels in the upper grades. Recommend: don't go bilingual, especially if you have an accelerated student, and keep in close communication with your child and regular communication with other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten and I know he loves school,The teachers and principal are striving for excellence and take their jobs seriously. Treasure box, all day every day ticket and bell ringing is incentives for the students to get with the program and I could not be happier with the work the school has done.My son is now a beginner reader and all I ever did was homework with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Both my children are going through to bilingual program and loving it. They enjoy learning not only through writing and speaking, but by singing in spanish, learning about the culture through dance and history projects, and through different types of art. What I particularly like as a parent is that there are school wide 'pods' for reading and math so each child goes to a group that is at the level they need to be engaged and challenged. The education my kids are receiving is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

I am very pleased with Lilac's performance. My son enjoys school and likes to be involved in different activities. I see the whole school striving to excel with the direction of a strong and focused principal. I volunteer and visit the school regularly and always find the principal out and about, easily accessible to students and parents. Lilac's high academic marks reflect the staff's dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I have 3 children at Lilac School and couldn't be happier with not only the education they are receiving, but also the overall experience they are having during these formative years in their lives. The teachers are absolutely wonderful and nurturing and I couldn't ask for a more passionately involved principal. Every child's well being is her first concern. I highly recommend Lilac School to anyone....LILAC ROCKS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

From the moment you drive over the bridge and through the beautiful oak trees you can feel that Lilac School is an amazing place. My daughter has grown so much academically in the kindergarten bilingual program. It is amazing to me that she is only 5 and already bi-literate! The school has the feeling of a small community where kids come first. Lilac Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I am a first time Mom to the public school system and was reluctant to participate. I heard such great reviews from parents around town (and other towns) about Lilac Elementary, I convinced my husband to give it a chance. The Principal is outstanding! She cares about the children and about discipline. My child loves going to school, has an amazing teacher, and her safety and learning abilities have been watched closely. She is learning beyond my expectations and amazment. It is obvious that the Principal and staff put the children first. We are proud that our daughter has had the opportunity to attend Lilac Elementary and we look forward to putting our son in the system as well. Here are a few words that honestly describe the Principal: patriotic, determined, loving, caring, honorable, respectful, a great leader, and thus the school continues to be a very high performing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My kids went to Lilac and had the worst experience. One of the teachers was very mean to my child to the point where my child was scared to go to school. The Principle was out of hand and very rude. Prior to going to Lilac my kids did really well in school and were very happy. When they attended Liliac it was like a huge change in them and they were all very unhappy. The principle of the school treated my kids unfair and cruel. It was a very sad and painful experience for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Average school for this area. Concerned about teacher to student ratios and rowdiness in classrooms/school grounds. Better than most Escondido schools, but not as impressive as we'd hoped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My daughter just started Lilac Aug 2007 and so far it's been great the district is great as well with the fire at hand right now the district called us at 630am on monday at 547am to let us know there was no School on the recored message and as to date they have keep us updated. This is one informed city. Lilac Rocks!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

We have been very happy with all aspects of Lilac. Our son just completed kindergarten and is in the bilingual program. My husband who went to private schools all his life had his doubts but is thrilled so far. Parent volunteers are highly encouraged. The principal appears to know every student by name. My son loves and respects her despite having to 'visit' her office for bad behavior on occasion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

857

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

857

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females77%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females69%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females45%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate60%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females57%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females75%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Native63%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females91%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Native94%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate73%
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females81%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability91%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females76%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability85%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate84%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students73%
Females81%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability82%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 48%
White 41%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
English language learners 31%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rose Flowers
Fax number
  • (760) 751-7407

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30109 Lilac Road
Valley Center, CA 92082
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 751-1042

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Valley Center Primary
Valley Center, CA



Valley Center Prep
Valley Center, CA


Valley Center Elementary
Valley Center, CA


Pleasant Knoll School
Valley Center, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT