Advertisement
Advertisement

Beth Hillel Day School

Private | K-6 | 83 students

We are best known for students who love to learn.

 
 

Living in Valley Village

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $445,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

My school is so evolved and nurturing. The teachers and staff are very well trained and know exactly how to teach and embrace each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

After touring the school, I knew that this was the school for our for us. We have a child in the elementary school and one in the ECE. Both kids are having a great time and learning a lot. The teachers are really caring and well- trained. They make every effort to make sure your child is comfortable in school. The administrators are just as caring as the teachers. They have a a great program, from the academics to the extra curricular programs. The class sizes are small. Whether your child is in Kindergarten or 6th grade, everyone says hi to one another and knows each others' name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

We just came back from our daughter's class' First Annual Publishing Party. She is in Kindergarten(!). When we first toured the school, one of the things the Principal told me was the name of the reading/writing program they use (OpenCourt). My mom (an administrator/former teacher) said that was the BEST program for reading and writing (at Oakwood I was belittled for asking this question). Dr. Rothblum told me they also teach the kids to differentiate between accurate and inaccurate information, regardless of the source. Instead of a computer lab. Beth Hillel has an iPad cart! This school is winning national awards! There is a strict no bullying policy (they answer to a higher source? lol) and a true inclusive feeling. In each room, the Room Greeter met us at the door: "Hi, my name is ____, the is M_ ______'s Xth Grade class, and right now we are working on _______." They were definitely friendlier and more outgoing than the kids I met at other schools. BHDS students are warm, confident and smart. I am amazed at the words and concepts our daughter brings home. We are fully satisfied with the level of education, community and positivity we found at Beth Hillel Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Our daughter started kindergarten at Beth Hillel Day School in the Fall and we could not be happier with this school. She also attended the TBH Early Childhood Education program which is excellent. First and foremost, my daughter absolutely LOVES going to school and loves her teachers. The school provides a warm nurturing environment where children are kind and respectful towards each other. We are amazed at the amount of knowledge she has gained so far and with the quality of education she is receiving. Not only are the children learning academically, they are learning Jewish values and traditions. The class sizes are small, which allows for individual attention that cannot be matched in classes with 25+ students. The head of the school knows and genuinely cares for all the children and it truly feels like a community. BHDS is definitely a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Beth Hillel - is whay I call a Class A - Boutique School - the teacher to student ratio is outstanding, the academics are of high level and importance and include programs such as an ipad in every classroom and broad studies of the arts but more important the life lessons of kindness, compassion and overall ethics that are instilled in the kids is what will make them true leaders and successful later on in life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This is our first year at Beth Hillel Day School and we are thrilled with the nurturing environment, the loving staff, the engaging programs, and the differentiated curriculum to meet each child's individual needs. We have already seen a huge boost in our daughter's self confidence, pride, and excitement to continue her learning. I am not only thankful to Beth Hillel Day School for helping her to reach her potential in so many areas, but I am also grateful that she LOVES coming to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

I have two sons in this school (both having also attended the Temple Beth Hillel Pre-School), and I cannot rave more about it. They have flourished in every way: academically, morally, developmentally and socially. The teachers are caring, smart and well-trained and put tremendous effort and focus into each child. The overall values of the school, temple and TBH "community" are awesome - these kids learn the value of good deeds and social consciousness. The academics are very challenging as well, and the classes small so that each child has the opportunity to get the attention that he/she might need. They also have a terrific PE coach, and great enrichment programs after-school (drama, chess, orchestra, etc). They also have terrific administrators (head masters, principals, etc) and great parents and parent involvement. This school is top-notch and we are so delighted that our sons attend, and we proudly consider ourselves part of this wonderful, caring Beth Hillel community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

We are thrilled with the academic progress that our son has made since he transferred from an overcrowded public school. His reading, writing, math and creative thinking have vastly improved, and he loves school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

"Mommy, I love the way it feels here!" Those were my daughters words after visiting Beth Hillel Day School. We registered her the very same day! We are so happy that our daughter is receiving a wonderful education surrounded by a caring involved staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

After touring multiple private schools in the Los Angeles area, I was thrilled to come up with a conclusion so quickly. Beth Hillel Day School blew me away. From its academics program to its physical education, this school has it all. An amazing school with perfect direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

We just got our acceptance letter for Kindergarten and are thrilled. The secret is out about this school - excellent academics, strong values, a warm community and a sense of shared responsibility, for much less than prestigious private school tuition. A gem in the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

We are so pleased with our decision to send our daughter to Beth Hillel. Anyone going through the private school process knows how difficult this decision is. We ultimately chose to send her to BHDS because of the truly nurturing environment we thought was best for our daughter rather than to stroke our parental ego by sending her to a big name school. Of course, the academics are top notch and on par with any other private school. The difference is that the kids, parents, and administration just seemed so much more relaxed here. Class sizes are small (capped at 16) and sometimes team-taught which gives a lot of time for individualized attention. There is also a wonderful new Head of School who has made some great improvements to the school (intramural sport teams, i-Pads for each student 4th grade and on, newly funded science lab). I know most schools talk about being a family, but at TBH it truly is. The parent involvement is great and we find ourselves wanting to go to the school social events. By attending a Jewish day school, the kids are also being taught some wonderful values and how to positively contribute to their communities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

This school is great. The students have so many hand on activities and no one is left out. There is a 0 tolerance bullying rule and the students all get along so well. I really recommend this school to anyone. There are so many great opportunities from this school.


Posted August 8, 2011

We could not be happier with Beth Hillel Day School. Our daughter was an early reader and they have done an excellent job of giving her individualized education that challenges her. They use Singapore Math and offer a wide variety of enrichment programs. The sense of community is strong. Parents are encouraged to participate and be active through a variety of activities. The art and drama programs are also strong. We cannot imagine being happier any place else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

My has been attending school here since she was three years old (in the ECC) and she is in the day school about to start first grade. We have been nothing but thrilled with the teachers, the high level of education, the administration and the rabbinical staff. This is a warm, family oriented school where children receive a top notch education. My daughter is now reading to me at night instead of the other way around! The math program is extremely strong, as are the writing and science programs. Small classes ensure lots of personal attention from the excellent teaching staff. I cannot recommend this school enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

My daughter recently finished her kindergarten year and had an excellent experience. It's hard to believe that on the first day of school, she went in only knowing her abc's and ended the year reading and writing her own stories! The reading and writing workshops that the teachers taught her were easy for her to understand. We've moved to the city and were planning on going to a different school to avoid the drive, but have changed our minds, after seeing how much she is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

This is our son's 5th year at Beth Hillel and we are thrilled that they've added 6th grade last year, so we do not have to leave now. The truth is that since day one, he never wants to go home after school; whether its staying in aftercare or helping with a temple project, or setting up for upcoming performance/religious service/community event. The academics are amazing, our son is good in math, so we take advantage of the "pull out" program and he is able to learn advanced math skills for a higher grade level. For two years he would actually go to the next grade up and take math class with them. Parents are very involved with both the school and the great temple community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

I also second the below comment!! I have 4 children and 3 have attended the day school for a total of 8 years!! we have had an AMAZING experience and would recommend this warm,loving totally INCLUSIVE school to anyone... BOTH of my sons have ADHD and were treated with kindness and love and patience, while being given a specialized program tailored to their individual needs, Beth Hillel is a perfect choice for a family with ALL levels of learning challenges!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

We have two children enrolled here and are in love with this place. It has such a warm, community environment, top and current curriculum; they recently introduced Singapore math. The teachers are involved and the small class size really gives kids the attention they can't get in public school. The school is not terribly expensive, aid is available and there is a wonderful Jewish culture. I'm not Jewish, but my husband is. Nonetheless, I love the traditions they teach there. I can't recommend it highly enough. By the way, the person who wrote the negative review was commenting on the preschool which is not the same thing as the Day School. The preschool happens to be wonderful, but it is run by a whole different set of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

A warm and nurturing environment with amazing teachers and a very dedicated parent body. I am surprised that more families are not enrolled here. The personalized attention the children receive is amazing, and the program is all-encompassing with P.E., Hebrew (immersion), art, music, and science. We are so happy to have our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Two or more races 8%
Hispanic 6%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Erica Rothblum
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Our curriculum is aimed at preparing students for 21st Century Learning. Our curriculum is rigorous but meaningful and authentic. Students graduate our school as critical thinkers, effective communicators, and Jewish leaders.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$13000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Heshel
Oakwood
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12326 Riverside Drive
Valley Village, CA 91607
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 763-8308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Campbell Hall School
North Hollywood, CA


The Country School
Valley Village, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT