Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Van Nuys, CA
Students enrolled: 380
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


High Tech La School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
HTLA was the best high school environment for our son. It is a warm, caring environment where the teachers, staff and peers help each other to succeed. It is a challenging, collaborative environment where group projects and public speaking are a major part of the academic experience. Coming into high school, these areas were certainly challenging for our son but because of HTLA's collaborative curriculum, he is now confident and successful in these areas. They have a dedicated college counselor that begins communicating with the students in 9th grade. Her success in helping the students find a proper college and also merit/financial aid/ grants is astonishing. Our son just completed his first year of college and was extremely prepared. Not only was he accepted into great colleges including Berkeley, UCSD, UCI, UCDAVIS, Santa Clara, Pitzer, Occidental, Cal Poly San Luis, Colorado School of Mines, and several others, but he was also awarded merit aid for his academic achievements. All of his peers also were accepted into great schools and also received attractive financial offers. For those that want to really succeed here, all the resources are certainly provided!

High Tech La School 3

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
I am currently a student at HTLA going into 11th grade and have struggled for the past two years. First off the school most likely uses the same amount of technology with the same quality as majority of other high schools. The school's campus is small and appealing to the eye but there is not much going on. There is tons of homework that I've basically lost my social life although the work load is similar to what is to come in college it is just very stressful. Because of all the work it is harder to succeed. I believe if I were in an ordinary high school I would have gotten much better grades. Yes the school is very good at preparing kids for college but I feel like I could of gotten into a better college in another school. Honestly if your kid is not interested in robotics and engineering them don't send them here because there aren't many clubs and there are absolutely no sports. It is not a school for finding your self interests.


High Tech La School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a student
Seeing that there are a lack of student reviews on here, I find this review appropriate. I can definitely say that this school has prepared me properly for college because of how the actual school is operated. The length of the classes reflect what a real college would have, which is about an hour and a half. There are no bells, which promotes students to arrive to class on time, and the teachers do care about their students. It is funny how other reviews say that the teachers do not care, but you have to go to them for help then they will give you more information than you need. This school is truly a college preparatory school because of how this school operates which has made college easier than high school.

High Tech La School 3

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
It's funny that many of the parents love the school but the students don't. It's true that when a small group of students are to blame for something, the entire student body is held accountable. "Unfair!" they shout. But since this is primarily about whether kids have to wear a uniform on Fridays or not, it doesn't matter much to me, but obviously the kids care, and because of that, so should we. The technology is just pathetic for a school calling itself high tech high but they seem to be working to correct that. The support staff is amazing and helpful. A couple teachers should be let go - they bristle if you question them (the principal defends them to the death). The rest are quite good and even if they make mistakes, they own up to them and try hard - what else can you expect? No one is perfect. English, History, Math and Science all have phenomenal teachers. They need an art and music program very badly and it's unfortunate that they do not value the arts. It's a glaring omission. There is a real connection between math and music, but it's missing entirely here. Lastly, most of the kids leave school by senior year. Now THAT you should think about.

High Tech La School 1

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
The school is only good if your student is highly academic. If they struggle at all, forget about Hi Tech. Teachers don't care unless a 504 is in place and they have to. And even at that they are not really supportive to parents. There is also no team sports or arts/ music programs available. Principal is probably the worst I have ever encountered. She lacks professional aptitude and compassion. My son won't be returning next year. Horrible experience.


High Tech La School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
My son is a senior at HTLA. I have never seen more brilliant teachers and caring staff. Not only will you have a top education in a small classroom environment...you get college advice EVERY year of your child's high school experience. Also, really DON'T let the name fool you. I think the English, and History classes are stellar. My son is getting scholarship already, and this is because we have such great college advisers on staff.

High Tech La School 4

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
Like others on this thread, I think this school is excellent but for a couple of teachers. Yes, that's the case at most schools, but it should be noted that a couple of the teachers (in the early & later grades) routinely fail to promptly post grades and pointedly single out students with snide remarks who inquire about such, thus creating a atmosphere where students fear addressing concerns with the teacher. In a small school environment such as HTLA, that is a serious issue that affects academic performance. The irony is obvious since the school places great emphasis on student responsibility yet certain teachers disdain it. It's unfortunate because these teachers, as one student notes on this thread, are not quality teachers and blame the students for failures that are, in fact, their own.

High Tech La School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
The excellent education my son received from High Tech High -L.A. has served him well as he enters his senior year at one of the top engineering schools in this country. It has been 3 years since he graduated from High Tech High, and I still talk to people about what a great start it gave him as he completes two degrees in both Computer Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. He gained an incredible foundation and was served well by a staff of highly dedicated teachers. The principal is absolutely amazing and juggles the needs of each student with unique ability. I have found that complaints about the school come from students who haven't really applied themselves or figured out how to mine the unlimited resources that this school has to offer. I feel truly blessed to have had the opportunity for my son's excellent educational experience at this school---and see in hindsight that it is given him enormous advantages in the years since he left.


High Tech La School 5

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with this school. Amazing school building, supportive staff (& principal who listens to you), and many of the teachers are stellar. Every school has one or two teachers that don't fit, and this school is no exception -- but in all it was an amazing opportunity for our son and made ALL the difference in his high school education. Very small size worked well for us and it feels like a close community, and made it less intimidating for the students.

High Tech La School 1

Posted November 20, 2010
- a student
I am currently a junior attending this school, and the only positive thing I can say is that the school looks nice. The teachers honestly don't care about the students, and drug use is very prevalent. The school has the worst technology program I have seen to date, and most of the computers are damaged. The faculty at the school punishes the entire student body for the actions of one or two students on a regular basis. The math depatment consists of teachers who shift the blame onto the class when everyone fails a test, rather than accepting responsibility and reteaching the subject. The science department has one good teacher, the rest have fail rates in the 40-50 percentile. The english department is actually very good, so if you plan on being an english teacher, the only job that class will help with, then please sign up. Otherwise, Please, don't attend this school. You will regret it.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High Tech La School
17111 Victory Blvd., Van Nuys, CA  91406
(818) 609-2640
Last modified High Tech La School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High Tech La School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top