Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chandler Learning Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and school administration claim that first graders are given 20 minutes of homework plus 20 minutes of reading. My son averages three hours (plus the 20 minutes reading) every day. And many other moms are complaining about the same thing. I would actually challenge any parent to complete the daily homework in 20 minutes. On a daily basis there is vocabulary to study, two pages of math homework. sentence writing, timed reading, and reading comprehension exercises. On top of that, there are also additional projects to complete. If you're telling me a first grader can accomplish all this in 20 minutes, I would suggest you're out of your mind.

Chandler Learning Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
My son is only in first grade; so, it's difficult to assess his "grit and determination." What I can say is that this school has developed in my son much frustration and anger, and a profound hatred for attending classes.


Chandler Learning Academy 3

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
Although the teachers are quite nice and the general atmosphere of the school is pleasant, the primary thing my child - a first grader - has learned is to hate school. There is a review here stating that the amount of homework given to first graders is "just right." I suspect that a parent didn't write that review, but rather a school employee. My son, works on his first grade homework for roughly three hours (plus the 20 min reading) every day; and I should add that my son isn't the only one. I've talked to many other parents, and they say the same thing. Yes, the homework can be done in 20 minutes, if the parent does it. There are also extra assignments that demand the children design and construct dioramas and games. The current one reads like a job description for someone who works at Parker Brothers. As far as I know, art is not something taught during regular instruction, and again, unless these assignments are turned in with simple stick figures (and they are not), they are again being completed by parents. The amount of work is overload. My son and several other kids complain that they HATE going to school because of it. I suspect that the school officials like to cite these student accomplishments (done by parents) in an effort to make their schools look good, but wouldn't it be better to engage the children and create a learning environment that they find enjoyable?

Chandler Learning Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Chandler Learning Academy is a truly great school! The PTA president, the principal, the teachers and PTA parents are incredibly dedicated individuals that work well together to create a quality education and caring community for the students.

Chandler Learning Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
In first grade the average night of homework is about 20 minutes plus an additional 20 minutes of reading. The amount of homework is enough to develop solid work habits but not too much to be overwhelming. The E3 after school program does a phenomenal job of supervising homework. The students who matriculate from Chandler are very well prepared for Middle School. Many of our students attend the magnet programs at Millikan and Walter Reed. We have also had students matriculate to the most competitive private middle school in the area, Harvard Westlake.


Chandler Learning Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Chandler Learning Academy does weekly Monday morning assemblies where the principal publicly recognize children for being respectful, honest and responsible. This motivates students and creates a culture of honesty, integrity and fairness.

Chandler Learning Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
The principal, teachers and PTA are really dedicated to create a great learning experience for all students. My son has made many great neighborhood friends, enjoys going to school and is doing very well academically. The E3 after school program, which is new this year, is amazing. The students have a different enrichment classes every day, complete their homework and have a lot of fun playing outside.

Chandler Learning Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
There has been very little turn-over of teachers at Chandler and most of the teachers send their own children to the school. The teachers are experienced, nurturing and know how to get the best out of each student.


Chandler Learning Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and administrators are completely honest about students's academic and socio-emotional development. If students are not performing at grade level, the teachers will both communicate with parents and work hard with the students and parents to improve the work habits and socio-emotional development of the children.

Chandler Learning Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Because the student body is diverse, students naturally become empathetic, compassionate and caring. Students are taught to be kind to each other inside and outside of the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chandler Learning Academy
14030 Weddington Street, Van Nuys, CA  91401-5753
(818) 789-6173
Last modified Chandler Learning Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chandler Learning Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top