Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chandler Learning Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Chandler Learning Academy is a wonderful neighborhood school. We own a home around the corner from the school and decided to try our local school for kindergarten and now our son is finishing first grade and our daughter can't wait to start kindergarten. The school has a great community feel and we have become good friends with many neighborhood families. Chandler is a California Distinguished School and a charter school. Under Mrs. McIntire's leadership, Chandler has grown into a great school. The teachers are very well qualified, nurturing, accessible and get along with each other and the principal. The after school offerings are top-notch and include art, drama, music, cooking, karate, sports, Spanish and STEM robotics. The spring musical this year is "The Wizard of Oz". The PTA is very involved and receptive to new ideas. The school also has a strong GATE program for gifted students and effectively differentiates learning for all students. My son is very happy at his school and proud to be a Chandler Cheetah.

Chandler Learning Academy 1

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Disenfranchised, indifferent teachers and administrators. Too many kids per class with one teacher (impossibly) struggling to meet the needs of each student. Special education is abysmal.


Chandler Learning Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
You wouldn't know it from the street view but once you enter the campus it's very warm and inviting. The teachers truly care about the students well-being and propel them academically. My student is in TK and we have Ms Meza as a teacher. We love her she is an amazing teacher. The principal is always on site and you can find her anytime walking around campus and interacting with people this school also has many events so the school spirit is very high. PTA is very involved and that makes all the difference . My family and I are really glad we found this hidden gem .

Chandler Learning Academy 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The principal, teachers and PTA are really dedicated to create a great learning experience for all students. My son has made many great neighborhood friends, enjoys going to school and is doing very well academically. The E3 after school program, which is new this year, is amazing. The students have different enrichment classes every day, complete their homework and have a lot of fun playing outside. There is also a beautiful vegetable garden in the center of the school where the different grades learn how to garden from a Farmer Educator every week.

Chandler Learning Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
There has been very little turn-over of teachers at Chandler and most of the teachers send their own children to the school. The teachers are experienced, nurturing and know how to get the best out of each student. Principal McIntyre is an effective administrator, listens to parent and teacher concerns, attends most of the PTA meetings and overall works hard to create a positive school environment for all of the students.


Chandler Learning Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and administrators are completely honest about students's academic and socio-emotional development. I am a middle school teacher at a private school and I find the principal and teachers to be much more honest with parents at Chandler than the private school where I work. If students are not performing at grade level, the teachers will both communicate with parents and work hard with the students and parents to improve the work habits and socio-emotional development of the children.

Chandler Learning Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
My first grade son is assigned homework Monday through Thursday and completes it in about 20-30 minutes. He is also assigned an additional 20 minutes of reading every school night. The first graders have also been assigned two long term projects this year and were given a month to do them. In kindergarten and at the beginning of this school year, my son was not thrilled about doing homework, resisted doing it and it would sometimes take up to an hour to complete. About halfway through this year, he stopped resisting doing his homework and now gets it all done at his after school program. The E3 after school program does a phenomenal job of supervising homework and I think the camaraderie of the students working on it together helps them finish it quickly. I think the amount of homework the students receive develops solid work habits because ultimately the students who matriculate from Chandler Learning Academy are very well prepared for Middle School. Many of the students attend the magnet programs at Millikan, Walter Reed and competitive private middle schools in the area.

Chandler Learning Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
Because the student body is diverse, students naturally become empathetic, compassionate and caring. Students are taught to be kind to each other inside and outside of the classroom.


Chandler Learning Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
Chandler Learning Academy does weekly Monday morning assemblies where the principal publicly recognize children for being respectful, honest and responsible. This motivates students and creates a culture of honesty, integrity and fairness.

Chandler Learning Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and school administration claim that first graders are given 20 minutes of homework plus 20 minutes of reading. My son averages three hours (plus the 20 minutes reading) every day. And many other moms are complaining about the same thing. I would actually challenge any parent to complete the daily homework in 20 minutes. On a daily basis there is vocabulary to study, two pages of math homework. sentence writing, timed reading, and reading comprehension exercises. On top of that, there are also additional projects to complete. If you're telling me a first grader can accomplish all this in 20 minutes, I would suggest you're out of your mind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chandler Learning Academy
14030 Weddington Street, Van Nuys, CA  91401-5753
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (818) 789-6173
Last modified Chandler Learning Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top