Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Van Nuys, CA
Students enrolled: 431
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gault Street Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
Sadly to say I have few good things to say about this school.my experiences with the teachers at gault have been less than satisfactory. if you are Hispanic your child will be thrown into a class of "lower performing students" once there, you will not get the"Extras" (art, dance...etc) as the other classes at the same grade level get. Yes, there is blatant favoritism displayed at this school. administration should be ashamed of the way this school is run. I wish I could move so my children could attend a better school

Gault Street Elementary School 4

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
The staff is very friendly, helpful and very approachable. My daughter has been going there for 3 years now. I have no complaints in regards to the teachers. The school as many others is affected by the low budgets in Los Angeles, but the staff makes the best out of it. I volunteer whenever I can and try to help as much as I can. I wish all parents would do the same.


Gault Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
This is our 2nd year at Gault. We had a wonderful Kindergarten teacher and now a terrific teacher for 1st grade. Either we are very lucky or our school has nothing but great teachers. Unfortunately the school has been suffering from low testing scores for the past few years despite a devoted principal and hard working teachers. I believe the problem is a lack of parent involvement/interest. Last week was "back to school" - only 5 parents visited our classroom. It must be so discouraging for the teacher and sad for the student who wants to proudly show his/her accomplishments to their family who doesn't bother to attend. The faculty can only do so much and our school can only meet and exceed our goals with the support of the parents. So come on people, get involved!

Gault Street Elementary School 2

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
My child has been going to this school for 3 years now. I am currently happy with the teacher he is with but this has been a struggle. I get the sense that the teachers and staff are doing their basic jobs but aren't going above and beyond for their students. I don't get a sense of camaraderie within the staff like I do at other schools. I am defiantly concerned with the continuing decrease in scores and API. I am seriously considering removing my child from this school.

Gault Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
This school has great lesson plans. The students here learn advanced subjects at an early age. Vegetarian friendly foods available in the cafeteria.


Gault Street Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
I love this school! Everyone is so friendly, kind, and courteous!! My children are learning academics and good citizenship.

Gault Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
I don't know why anyone would write negative comments about such a lovely school!! The teachers and principal are outstanding, the school is clean and safe, and the academics continue to improve. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else!!!

Gault Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
Terrific school, making great progress!! Very friendly environment that is safe and clean. Despite all of the district cuts, they seem to be 'business as usual'.


Gault Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
My children attended Gault last year and I am more than pleased. No, the test scores aren't the highest but I really like the nurturing spirit, the supportive staff, and a principal that is always invol;ved and available.

Gault Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
I rerally feel a sense of unity at Gault. The principal is very involved and the teachers appear to be taking on the challege of educating quite a few non-English speakers. Give them the credit they deserve!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gault Street Elementary School
17000 Gault Street, Van Nuys, CA  91406
(818) 343-1933
Last modified Gault Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gault Street Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top