Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lemay Street Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 421 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Van Nuys

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $283,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

We love it at Lemay! My daughter loves waking up and going to school each day! Not to mention that she is learning so much..... we are looking forward to staying here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We think it s a superb school for our student, she loves everything about Lemay, which has gifted and talented studies, can t say enough re: the great teachers...please support this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school draws concern about my Daughter and her safety. I would like the principal to call the authorities because she has said that she is emotionally stressed and it reflects her concentration for education. Father is embarrassing and bribes her. My daughter is very smart and she use to love school. She wishes to go back in the Magnet Program. All I hear is school can't write me a letter to notify/remind me about my child threatening to run away from her DAD or harm herself. I will always have open arms for my children. I would like the option to help her. Because of a restraining order from Her father's girlfriend I cannot even go to her school because they call the police to get me arrested, all in front of a 10 & 11 year old girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I am very happy with my sons learning experience whole staff cares!! My son is learning how to read, math problem solving. My child looks forward everyday to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This is an amazing system that this school has they are very on top of things and care about kids education!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

i went here from pre-k to 5th grade it was amazing, they have some amazing tachers. I will never forget this school


Posted August 2, 2013

A hidden gem in the San Fernando Valley. We are so fortunate to have teachers who really care. They all work very hard to reach EVERY child. The principal and administrators are first rate. Students at this little school are successful. The only way to explain it is that everyone is part of this award-winning team-- the kids, the staff members, and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

all I can say is that this school is one of the best schools in the valley, my son atended from k-to 3rd he was accepted at SOCES which is a great school too, but Lemay i have so many memories the teachers are amazing specially Mr. G and Mrs Katz 3rd grate teacher who made my son to be a genius in Math all the staff I miss all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

I have had children at this school for the last 5 years and each year the school gets better and better. Each teacher my children have had strives for nothing but excellence. My children have made great progress through their years. I always feel welcome at the school and the staff is always striving to do what they can to support the students and parents. I look forward to my youngest finishing her years at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

My son just started Kindergarten here and he loves it. He's in Miss Estrada's class. She's a new teacher and I think she is doing wonderfully. The school has really good parent participation, and all the staff members interacting with the children seem very sweet. My son also goes to the creative kids after school program at the school. They help him with homework and reading and give him a snack. The only complaint I had about that program is that I wasn't notified there were limited spaces when my son started school, so he couldn't get into the program for a couple of weeks. Not easy for working parents. Sign up early. The new principal seems very committed and works very hard. The school also has a gigantic yard that is really well maintained and lots of fun murals all over every building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

My son has been here since Kinder and will be in third grade this fall. We've had the great good fortune to have had the most amazing principal in Laurie Davis for the last two years. We will be losing her this fall and I can only hope with all my heart that her replacement can do all her good work justice. Her impact on our school communitee was priceless and she will be sorely missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great teachers ,,, disciplined . More learning experiences . Excellent parent participation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

My son has been going to Lemay for two years now, and I really love the teachers he has had. I feel so lucky that the local school happens to be a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have a great little school with dedicated teachers and parents working together to help our children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

My son is in first grade at this excellent school. The teachers are excellent and the school atmosphere is terrific as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Lemay has been a wonderful experience for my Kindergardener. It is a small school on a big campus (with trees and grass). It has outstanding kindergarden teachers and support staff. The kids that attend Lemay are polite and helpful. My child is learning a lot and having fun at the same time. In addition, they have a year round music program, P.E. program, and a state of the art computer lab. So far, it has been a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I am a parent of a 1st grader. I loved the small classes, 17 kids in my childs. A BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL, the teachers were consciencious and I really appreciated the parental course given by a grade level teacher on how to help my child to meet class objectives, complete homework and to what to expect for the whole school year at an early part of the school year. It got me more involved in the success of my child's academics. Expectations are set higher than normal LAUSD requirements, which the children seem to meet with good old fashion hard work. I applaud the school's efforts and for being a CA Distinguished School AND a BLUE RIBBON WINNER.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

I believe that Lemay is a great school for any family with children in grades Kindergarten through 3rd grade. They are treating the children in the older classes as though they are in a prison with no creative explaination for how to play together happily, how to succeed in social circles and how to successfuly navigate difficult social situations. The Teachers are very good in the lower grades but as the kids get older it seems as though the quality has totally slipped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

This is a great school! It has small classes, teachers who are committed to their students and families and has a beautiful campus. It is safe, my child plays after school on the playground with a wonderful and patient coach, or inside the brand new library. The school is clean and the staff are considerate when encouraging students to maintain their school with pride. It has many programs, events and opportunities for parents to become involved. I have been so impressed with the quality of instruction, art activities, the music program and the communication between the school and families. It is a nice place to send your child. We are very happy with our child's educational experiences so far at Lemay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

The school staff are very involved in the children's learning. Our children have been attending since K, and are now in grades 1st, 2nd, and 3rd. The school field trips are valuable learning experiences; the computer lab is high tech; there is a homework club; after school sports and activities with adult supervision; and fun programs throughout the school year. One drawback, however, is this school is not equipped to deal with children with ADHD and other social disorders. Therefore, they give the parents grief about their children's out of the ordinary habits or methods. Overall, we have had good experiences with the teachers and school adminsitrators, and this school has a high level of academic success for each student. They really stress learning and the environment is conducive to fun learning. There are music, sports, arts, dance, and cultural activities. Parents are invited to participate with students at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

864

Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

864

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females77%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females74%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females45%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females85%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate90%
Parent education - high school graduate84%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females75%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females93%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females60%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females76%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students42%
Females43%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 52%
White 9% 26%
Black 6% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 443 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
87%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
80%
 

Employees

This school

 
95%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

Students

This school

 
68%
 

Employees

This school

 
95%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

Employees

This school

 
100%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25273%
Students16996%
Employees2251%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Long Nguyen
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (818) 708-0549

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17520 Vanowen Street
Van Nuys, CA 91406
Phone: (818) 343-4696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The City School
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT