Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a student
It is overall fantastic. What we learn is presented in a fun way and even has real journalist come in!

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
My daughter had been at dpmhs for 3 yrs and is excited to be a senior. I originally wanted her to attend a typical large high school but she wanted dp... we told her she had to sell it to us. ..and she did! As a person with high anxieties, a divorced family, and a lesbian mom married to a woman she struggled with many different issues and often came home and cried in the beginning. But very quickly she found an ear, a shoulder, a sounding board, a confidant, a new perspective, and opportunities for change from many teachers, office ladies, counselor, principal and even janitorial staff. She had had her share of bullying and sexism etc... each time staff took her issues seriously, dealt with the people involved and assisted her in moving forward. I thank everyone at dpmhs for loving and caring


Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted May 25, 2013
- a student
This is an awesome school. Hallways can be packed at times during passing period, but other than that, the school campus is beautiful and very cozy. Work can be difficult for some classes, but overall the teachers want you to do well in their classes. You get know almost everyone on campus by name after a year or two or three, and you will probably have almost every teacher teaching you at one point or another if you stay all four years. As an upcoming senior, I can say that I have enjoyed my stay at Daniel Pearl, having come in as a freshman in 2011. Also, any athletes also get to play for the Birmingham Community Charter High School Patriots at the moment, though that may change in about three years.

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a student
The teachers are fantastic and they always are open to helping you after schools hours. The environment that the small size creates is one of warmth and it allows all students to succeed. And no, you cannot "buy your way to the teachers of your liking." Everyone really cares about what happens at the school, and that is hard to find.

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
i am a mother one of student in Daniel Pearl Magnet High school. it is an amazing school with great strong principal / school leadership and staff,great teachers,great education.


Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a student
very good school with great teachers. The pricipal is amazing and knows every student on campus by name

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 5

Posted November 11, 2010
- a student
I love my school! My math and science teachers are the best I have ever had. They are always there in the mornings available for tutoring or counseling if I need it. Sports are available, we share sports teams with the school we were once a part of, Birmingham. The staff and faculty are all friendly and very helpful and even the students treat each other kindly and with respect. We even had an anti-bully day where we came dressed in purple to stand up to online bullying and bullying abroad.

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School 4

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
Teachers and principal are very dedicated to buid a strong school. It has been only a year since the school separated from Birmingham HS, and despite all the challenges that the staff had to face (underenrollment, displacing teachers, moving to new campus) they have accomplished a lot. Great environment! Teachers and prinipal build a very strong relationship with students and parents. The school's newspaper reflects life on campus and is a great opportunity for students interested in journalism. Because of the small size of the school the opportunities for AP classes and sports are limited and these are the main negative sides. However, the small size brings some warmth that you cannot feel at the big schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School
6649 Balboa Boulevard, Van Nuys, CA  91406-5529
(818) 654-3775
Last modified Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Daniel Pearl Journalism & Communications Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top