Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

ABC Little School

Private | K-2 | 15 students

Our school is best known for the "Whole Child Philosophy"

 
 

Living in Van Nuys

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I am always grateful to God that we as a family, decided to enroll both kids in ABC little school. From the first day we toured the school, we knew it will be a secure environment where our kids would grow In love. The teachers are the best, as they take their time with each child making sure they are up to date academically and learning good morals. I see the daily transformation in our kids and it always brings joy to my heart that we made the right choice. My children were always shy from the onset, but being in this school has helped them become bold and confident, they have learnt to trust others and keep learning to be better people. I love the way the kids are taught, constant active truly helps open the mind, both kids are so eager to learn. My daughter enjoys reading and she is only 4. I am most grateful for the fact that the staff potty train the younger ones, that made life easy for us at home and now we are enjoying the benefits. There's never a dull moment in this school, and we truly love every member of staff. Mrs Jessica the director, is simply the best. I highly recommend this school, plus lunch and snacks are both included in the fees. Awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2014

Abc Little School Van Nuys is the BEST! It feels good to know that your child is loved by everyone there and they truly do care about every one of the kids needs like they are their own. I am excited to see my son grow with the kids and the teachers. They have the coolest activities for kids all ages, so no one is left out. And speaking for my son (age 2) he loves their food! Every day my son is learning something new, it blows my mind. I HIGHLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

I cannot praise ABC Little School enough! The first time We walked through the door we felt this overwhelming loving-nurturing environment With floors so clean, you could eat off them! They made fresh pressed juice everyday And the children were all smiling polite and happy (unlike the other 11 preschools we had toured). Our child Max was extremely challenging and Marina and staff were amazing and loving and our child has never been Happier or more curious about the world, planting, animals, sharing and music. We will miss ABC Little School! With Love, The Goldsmith's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

I would like to state for the record that I am very happy with the service, educational success occuring with my son, and the promptness of addressing cincerns by the Director, Mrs. Jessica. We recently relocated to this area from out of state. From the beginning of my school search, Jessica, the Director, was very friendly and helpful. Not only did she provide information about the school and background, she provided assistance with areas in the neighborhood that we were not familair with. Since then, I have seen great progress in my two year old son. He has transitioned to his second teacher now and the structure demonstrated by his teacher, is awesome. My son has adjusted and appears to enjoy coming to school everyday. This school also offers incentives such as picture days, special recognition days, parties, etc. Lastly by far, this is one of the few schools that provide a lunch and snacks in the school rate. I recommend this school to any parent with toddlers living in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

The is really nice. There's a pool, soccer team, science program... It has a lot of extras for the money being paid. Which is great! I like that the children are fed healthy foods too! However, I especially liked that a juicer was mentioned and the children are getting one fresh fruit and a veggie juiced for lunch every day. Only, when I mentioned it to one of the teachers, she said she hadn't heard or seen any juice being given to the kids from a juicer. False advertising maybe?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

My daughter attends ABC little school for about 2 years now. She loves it there. I am very happy with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

My daughter Lilybeth ,started at ABC little school when she was twenty two months,she started with Ms Patty which we loved and the went to Ms Elsy who did and amazing job at potty training her,the Ms Yesenia whom I trusted and felt like a second mom to Lilybeth,to Finally Ms Jessica and Ms Karen who also were very loving to my daughter .Lilybeth learned soooo much at ABC little school.we are very thankful to the rest of the staff Jessica the director and the rest of the teachers that have a great sense of team work. Carmina Milian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

This is one of the best preschools ever, They are so great with my daughter and would recommend them to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I just wanted to thank ABC Little School Van Nuys for all the care and teaching. I currently had a Parent Teacher meeting @ his Elementary School a from Mrs. Marisol. My Son Doniven scored a 97% on the Kindergarten state Math Test on top of getting a Math Acheivement award from ABC Little School when he graduated from Pre-K. ABC Little School Van Nuys is above all the rest. Mrs Jessica the director knows her stuff...Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

My son kindergarten and the Sherman Oaks ABC Little School and currently attends the Van Nuys location for first grade. I am very active in both his schools volunteering 2 - 5 afternoons a week. Although my experience at the Sherman Oaks school was excellent, our time at the Van Nuys school has been EXTRORDINARY! The Van Nuys staff are all genuinely invested in the care and education (both social & elementary) of the children in their care. The director's dedication to the parents and students shines clear in all her efforts. The price, compared to other private schools, is far less and you recieve so much more! The care hours are 6:30am - 6pm year round and they cater to working parents and two snacks plus a home cooked lunch is provided in the tuition costs! You can TRUST the staff at ABC Little School. My son has grown leaps and bounds both socially and in his education! I HIGHLY recommend ABC Little School in Van Nuys to anyone who wants more for their children. I will miss everyone dearly as will my son! Thank you to all the staff (and students) as we are both better for knowing you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

I have had three children attend ABC Little School and it has been an absolutely wonderful experience. Ms. Jessica (Principal) effectively leads her group of experienced teachers in creating a learning environment that fosters positivity and a strong sense of self no matter what situation the kids come from. The teachers are in tune with each child's individual needs and with everything that I worry about on a daily basis as a mother of 5, I know that my kids educational and social experience at ABC is great. My 18 month old will start there next week and I am looking forward to another 4 years with this exceptional group of caring educators. I can;t even begin to go into all of the extra's that the school provides as far as extracurricular activities and artistic programs but I encourage any parent looking for a quality learning experience to check out ABC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This school has meant so much to our family. Our daughter has attended pre-school for over a year. The teachers & director really helped to bring her out of her shell. They don't miss a step and always, always put the students' best interests first. Our son also attended the summer program two years ago and had a blast. We are appreciative of the school's high standards and genuine caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I am so happy to be able to give this wonderful school a five star rating. My 2 year old son has been attending Ms. Yesenia's class for the past 5 months and has learned so much. He wakes up in the morning and can't wait to leave the house for school. Ms. Jessica is so understanding of the nervous first time parent and is so caring of each individuals situation. It's all about the children here... they have fun playing, learning, dancing, painting, riding the bikes, eating lunch and taking naps together. A truly wonderful experience, thank you Ms. Jessica, Ms. Yesenia, Angie and all the others...AXL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school. It is run really well and the teachers are great. They showed my lil boy lots of love and attention. I feel he learned a lot and he learned socialization skills. He came home happy everyday! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Over the past year and a half, we have come to realize just how much we miss the supportive comfortable family atmosphere at ABC little school. The early childhood years at ABC little school are still fondly remembered and greatly appreciated. Ms. Marisol & Mrs. Kris academically prepared our children beyond what we had imagined. Mrs. Kris is an exceptional teacher. We never realized how advanced our 1st grader's education was until he attended public school. Mr. David, Mrs. Jessica, Ms. Marisol, Mrs. Kris, Mrs. Dalila, Ms. Yesenia, Mrs. Jackie, Ms. Vilma, Mr. Jose - We Thank You all very much. Take Care.....The Gamez Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

i love this school , both my kids go there ..and mrs jackie is one of the best teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

My son attended ABC a few years back and I can honestly say enrolling him was the best thing we've ever done for him. The head start he got going into public school put him on the fast track toward advancements and achievements I don't feel he would have realized if not for the groundwork done at ABC. The staff is well prepared, very congenial and parent-friendly, and the curriculum is a good 2 grade levels above public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My Daughter has been going there since she was 18 months and she will be going in to 1st grade...and Im sad to have leave next year...amazing staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

i love abc little school my daughter has been there for 3 1/2 yrs now and she loves it.... she loves miss dalila her teacher from last yr iam very proud to say that they have a very good staff. i recommend abc little school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

ABC Little School has been wonderful for our 3 year old son. In three months, he has been potty trained and does not need his pacifier anymore. Our little two year old will be starting soon. We love it!! Candace Schneider
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 52%
Black 17% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 11%
White 8% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Armenian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • JESSICA BROWN-VINCENT
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (818) 786-3273

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We encourage parents to visit our school. Call and set-up a tour.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
CCRC
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6447 Woodman Avenue
Van Nuys, CA 91401
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 786-5169

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Laurence School
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT