Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
128 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 216 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Ms Lira for being such a wonderful 1st grade teacher! Our daughter has had a an absolutely amazing learning experience in your class and she absolutely loves coming to school, which is just wonderful to see. Having volunteered in your classroom many times, I have witnessed first hand how good you are with the kids, never once raising your voice and yet fully commanding their respect. You are truly a role model to them as well as to other teachers at our school. Thank you for your energy and smile every day, you are very much in our hearts!

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Often when at weekly assembly, Principal Jenkins will talk about integrity, contributing to our school community and being honest with fellow students and teachers.


Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
This school is amazing! Great community of kids and parents. My son transitioned into Kindergarten beautifully. The teachers are warm and welcoming. Principa Jenkins takes the time to get to know each child individually.

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
So far we are very pleased with both teachers our daughter has had. Her progress has been very good and very obvious.

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Yes. I've seen Principal Jenkins talk to the whole school during morning assembly about this topic.


Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I have a student in 1st grade and have had nothing but positive experiences here. Supportive teachers, principal, and overall community.

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Children are regularly rewarded for helping other students and displaying good behavior. They truly feel good about doing good.

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
CDA is a great school with a great teaching staff, many well- educated and supportive parents and strong principle. We bought a house in the district before we even had kids so totally lucked into one of the best schools in Southern CA. We have twin boys in K and they love their teachers and the other kids and I am blown away but how much they have learned. They are both reading and doing math well above grade level, plus they are creative and artistic, drawing all the time and they love science and growing healthy things to eat. Kudos to Mr. Jenkins and the faculty as well as the great booster club that brings the art, music and gardening programs.


Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Principal Jenkins is so involved and devoted to the school. He knows every child's name. He participates in every school event. I really don't know how he does it.

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
We are thankful each and every day for Principal Jenkins. He has created such a wonderful school for all of our children. He has created a warm, loving, nurturing and highly educational environment that feels more like a community school rather than just another LAUSD property. Being part of the Coeur d'Alene community feels like we hit the lottery of schools in the area. No other charter, magnet or private school could pull us away from Coeur d'Alene. Thank you Mr. Jenkins and all of the great teachers and staff that make this school the only one for us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School
810 Coeur D'alene Avenue, Venice, CA  90291-4927
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 216 reviews. (310) 821-7813
Last modified Coeur D'Alene Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top