Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
188 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome to St.Mark Elementary School, home of the Lions. I have the honor of leading the best staff on the West-side. We boast a balanced program designed to educate the whole child. We offer rigorous academics, strong, competitive sports teams and an excellent fine arts program. Please stop by and let me show you all the reasons St. Mark is the right choice for your child. Thank you for stopping by and GO LIONS!!
September 20, 2010

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mark School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I owe thanks to everyone at that school because in some way or form they have an continue to effect my children's lives. The teachers offering the education and guidance, a parent helping in some way, the staff members all play a huge part in making things run like clockwork and the tireless hours the parent volunteers give to helping out. I see you guys, I know who you are, you guys are great and I can not thank you enough.

St. Mark School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
All the students are very respectful of the faculty and constantly look to them for guidance.


St. Mark School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
With our busy schedule its just enough, because the outside of school programs, soccer, basketball and the practices also take up a lot of time.

St. Mark School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
They are looking to graduate winners from this school every year. You can see and feel the persistence and determination with every teacher which is channeled to the students on a constant basis.

St. Mark School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Again, spend 5 minutes on the campus with any student, you will see it for yourself.


St. Mark School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
spend 5 minutes on the campus with any student and you will see for yourself, its amazing

St. Mark School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
They practice Peacebuilder everyday, its a small campus, everyone knows everyone and its like a family.

St. Mark School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 kids at this school and have been part of this community for the last 3 years, we could not be happier. The Principal has made huge changes and is striving to continue to make this the best Elementary School on the West Side. The faculty are all committed to providing my kids with best educational experience ever. When every Faculty Member from TK to 8th Grade knows my kids names, I know they are interested, committed and they care. We helped plant 40+ trees this past weekend on the first part of the transformation of this campus and water reclamation project by providing shade, create habitat for birds and butterflies, reduces our energy consumption and creates science learning opportunities.”with features to help increase the learning experience highlighting nature. This is such a wonderful place, we are so happy for our kids


St. Mark School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
We joined St. Mark 7 years ago, when our oldest son started Kindergarten and we have nothing but great things to say about the school. Mary Ann McQueen the principal, is a strong and talented leader. We love the sense of community and the diversity. It is amazing to see how the kids interact with each other as a real family, the older kids know the younger ones by name, and there is a feeling of brotherhood all around. The Greening and Water Reclamation project that has been going on during the past months is making the school unique in the West side, and the first phase culminated this weekend with a Tree Fest event, where parents, students, faculty, and other community volunteers worked together planting trees around the school. It was inspiring seeing everyone in action! We are very proud to be part of St. Mark!

St. Mark School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a community member
My wife and I moved our daughters over to St. Marks two years ago. The school is amazing. The teachers are engaging and challenging for the students with innovative teaching. But they also care about the students as individuals. And, the principal is an amazing leader who has a vision that is embraced by the faculty and parents. Great community and learning environment for kids!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mark School
912 Coeur D'alene Avenue, Venice, CA  90291
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (310) 821-6612
Last modified St. Mark School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top