Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Buena High School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Good school overall. History program-mostly leftist teachers who twist history-minimize the United States. Especially true of AP History. Example essay question to students applying to AP History ...Why do you think Barak Obama is one of our best Presidents? One teacher unplugs school PA system during Pledge Of Allegiance and if she has to do it, takes her hand off her heart when words "under God" are said and won't say them. Promotes you are a citizen of the world. Stickers/posters in classes highly tilted politically. Music Program lacks fairness with Director playing power games giving different levels of hardness test questions to students to favor or put down whoever he wants. Positions and awards can be based on favoritism or power games and have nothing to do with ability to play an instrument or skill level. Teacher tantrums are not unusual-have a demoralizing effect on talented students. Not doing "assigned" volunteer work can be taken out on you in other ways. AP Programs available in Math, Science, and English. Some excellent teachers (Environmental Science and Biology). Some excellent regular track Math Teachers. AP Math teachers are a mixed bag.
1 person found this helpful

Buena High School 4

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
My husband attended Buena back in the day. My twin sons are now juniors there, and I can say I am well pleased. One of my sons has special needs and they've been addressed promptly and thoroughly. The administration is strong, the teachers are above average to superior. Everyone on the staff is eager for students to learn and go great lengths to assure that happens. This a well run, safe school.


Buena High School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
Alumni 1978 awesome school in my day, so many memories and if i remember my school history.. Kevin Costner went here
1 person found this helpful

Buena High School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a community member
Buena is a nice environment for kids to grow up in. I feel like this school has affected my son so much and has a staff.

Buena High School 4

Posted November 03, 2010
- a student
Wonderful school, some problems but they were minimal. The environment was very relaxing and the students didn't bother anyone all that much. Some of the students were really mean but people actually stood up for you and the drama was minimal, only if you weren't looking for it. Though the restrictions on off campus lunch have become ridiculous.


Buena High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Good staff, good students. I worked at Buena for 40 years. I was a teacher and for 25 years a counselor. My children also attended Buena and loved the school.

Buena High School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Buena High School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
Buena is the BEST school in Ventura. I attended the school for four years, having graduated last spring. The teachers there are really helpful and knowledgeable, along with all the other staff members. Everyone working on campus gives an effort to better the campus and enrich the students education.
1 person found this helpful


Buena High School 1

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Buena High School 1

Posted December 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Buena High School
5670 Telegraph Road, Ventura, CA  93003
(805) 289-1826
Last modified Buena High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Buena High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top