Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montalvo Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
My grandchildren attend this TWI school and seem to be doing just fine as well as eager to learn. Why is the API score for Montalvo only 4 of 10. Is there a way to understand why the score is that low?

Montalvo Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
This is our family's second year at Montalvo. My daughter is in the Two Way Immersion program which is excellent and the staff at this school are amazing.


Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
Last API test scores for white subgroups was 899. This is huge considering many are in twi learning in classrooms where the greater percentage of learning is done in a second language. Does this make the kids who attend Montalvo actually smarter than those with APIs of, for example, 936, like Mound, who are practically all white and there is no second language barrier, or Pierpont, which is not just practically white, but all white? Also, if my daughter goes to Montalvo, not only will she be getting high test scores, she will become highly proficient in a second language at the same time.

Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
my son is in montalvo and it is two way emurgen

Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Bilingual Program! What a great way to learn! Also - The Montalvo Bilingual Program brings together motivated parents and motivated teachers, resulting in children who are motivated to learn and excel, plus have a lot of fun and a great community. Kudos to principal Dr. Dean and her staff.


Montalvo Elementary School 3

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
Montalvo isn't the best, but the TWI (Two Way Immersion) program is excellent. Both of my children are now fluent in Spanish as well as excelling in English.

Montalvo Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
This school has made it out of Program improvement due to the fact that over 100 students left over 2 years. The reduction of tests scores counted in the Data with a 90% participation in outside private tutoring accomplished the goals and made it look like the school improved. Don't be fooled, 68% of the 5th graders went to Middle school unprepared and non proficient. The NCLB targets were met but has the school really improved? Experienced but very frustrated teachers have moved on due to t he lack of support from the administration. The TWI program has not succeeded in producing bilingual children proficient in both languages as promised. If you love your child, avoid this school at all costs! Make the effort to read and understand the DATA and don't be fooled!

Montalvo Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2006
- a parent
All of my four children have assisted montalvo school. Granted that the school has been through some rough years. We managed to pull out of the improvement program. Our school is growing in many different areas. I am very proud of our school and would not wish for my last two boys go any where else


Montalvo Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
Montalvo is an excellent school providing a wonderful TWI (Two Way Immersion) program. This is the only TWI program in the school district, and we are thrilled that our child has this opportunity. Our child is very bilingual/biliterate and is very comfortable in 2 cultures. The principal and teachers are excellent and work extremely hard to provide an excellent education to all students.

Montalvo Elementary School 1

Posted July 24, 2006
- a parent
If your child speaks English I would not recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montalvo Elementary School
2050 Grand Avenue, Ventura, CA  93003-6729
(805) 289-1872
Last modified Montalvo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montalvo Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top