Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Ventura, CA
Students enrolled: 431
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Montalvo Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
My grandchildren attend this TWI school and seem to be doing just fine as well as eager to learn. Why is the API score for Montalvo only 4 of 10. Is there a way to understand why the score is that low?

Montalvo Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
This is our family's second year at Montalvo. My daughter is in the Two Way Immersion program which is excellent and the staff at this school are amazing.


Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
Last API test scores for white subgroups was 899. This is huge considering many are in twi learning in classrooms where the greater percentage of learning is done in a second language. Does this make the kids who attend Montalvo actually smarter than those with APIs of, for example, 936, like Mound, who are practically all white and there is no second language barrier, or Pierpont, which is not just practically white, but all white? Also, if my daughter goes to Montalvo, not only will she be getting high test scores, she will become highly proficient in a second language at the same time.

Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
my son is in montalvo and it is two way emurgen

Montalvo Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Bilingual Program! What a great way to learn! Also - The Montalvo Bilingual Program brings together motivated parents and motivated teachers, resulting in children who are motivated to learn and excel, plus have a lot of fun and a great community. Kudos to principal Dr. Dean and her staff.


Montalvo Elementary School 3

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
Montalvo isn't the best, but the TWI (Two Way Immersion) program is excellent. Both of my children are now fluent in Spanish as well as excelling in English.

Montalvo Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
This school has made it out of Program improvement due to the fact that over 100 students left over 2 years. The reduction of tests scores counted in the Data with a 90% participation in outside private tutoring accomplished the goals and made it look like the school improved. Don't be fooled, 68% of the 5th graders went to Middle school unprepared and non proficient. The NCLB targets were met but has the school really improved? Experienced but very frustrated teachers have moved on due to t he lack of support from the administration. The TWI program has not succeeded in producing bilingual children proficient in both languages as promised. If you love your child, avoid this school at all costs! Make the effort to read and understand the DATA and don't be fooled!

Montalvo Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2006
- a parent
All of my four children have assisted montalvo school. Granted that the school has been through some rough years. We managed to pull out of the improvement program. Our school is growing in many different areas. I am very proud of our school and would not wish for my last two boys go any where else


Montalvo Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
Montalvo is an excellent school providing a wonderful TWI (Two Way Immersion) program. This is the only TWI program in the school district, and we are thrilled that our child has this opportunity. Our child is very bilingual/biliterate and is very comfortable in 2 cultures. The principal and teachers are excellent and work extremely hard to provide an excellent education to all students.

Montalvo Elementary School 1

Posted July 24, 2006
- a parent
If your child speaks English I would not recommend this school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montalvo Elementary School
2050 Grand Avenue, Ventura, CA  93003
(805) 289-1872
Last modified Montalvo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montalvo Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top