Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mound Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 590 students

High Performing Magnet School
 
 

 

Living in Ventura

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $316,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted September 26, 2013

Having been associated with Mound School as a parent, teacher, and now Principal, I have seen this school from a variety of lenses over the last 12 years. In my opinion, Mound is a terrific place for kids to spend their school days. This is a healthy, well functioning school with systems in place to provide a safe campus and challenging academics for children. Mound test scores are consistently among the top in the county, yet we don't speak of test scores much around here. In my opinion there are two critical factors responsible for Mound's success: 1. The teaching staff is top notch. 2. The families who seek out Mound place great value on education, behavior, and school attendance. At Mound, we understand our "customer" is somewhere between the ages of 5-11 years old. So, we make our best attempt to create a fun learning environment for the kids. For example, this year will see the installation of a Science Lab and a learning garden. It is important to understand that while parent involvement is another important factor in our success (the children are inspired to know mom or dad is on campus), parent volunteerism is not a requirement for entry to Mound. Ventura parents have a variety of educational options. Mound is just one of many good schools in the Ventura Unified School District. Feel free to contact us or come by for a tour. Good things are happening at Mound School!

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2013

This school is academically above average but best suited to children who have parents who stay at home and can volunteer to help in the classroom. Also, children who are energetic, creative, cannot write perfectly by 1st grade, and who don't read in the top 10th percentile by second grade are going to be treated as if they are below average students (when in reality, they are still above average). Teachers at Mound are not fond of these students and make sure the parents of such students know it which only makes everyone more stressed out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

If your child needs any kind of extra help this is not the school for you. I was told my child did not need to take the Star 9 test. I am sure it is because my child would bring down the points for the school. Most of the teachers are very good but, have had a few teachers that looked at my child as a problem. My child was collateral damage. My child graduated with a 3.5 GPA. I was told my child would be better in our home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

You must devote time to this school no matter what. You must have a child who is perfect. You must accept a teachers condescending behavior directed towards yourself and your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I have had 4 children go thru this school over a period of 15 years (oldest now 22, youngest 9). I have 2 boys, and 2 girls. I have seen many principals as well as teachers, and have always felt they did a fantastic job!! I am a working parent, and they have onsite childcare that keeps the kids safe and are willing to work with your children if they need additional assistance during homework club. The teachers are all truly invested in the children, and do the very best they can with the resources they are alloted! I never request a certain teacher, because the children are placed in classes where they will benefit from that certain teacher. After all, the current teacher really does know my childs learning habits better than me, and will choose the best fit for the benefit of that child. The principal is fantastic and listens to your needs and he really is around to interact with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

We take pride in our school as a family. I'm involved with several aspects of the school including PTO and I trust that staff and volunteers are doing their best for my children. The sense of pride in our school is evident everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

As a parent who has a child there I am disappointed. A math magnet school for sure, however the staff is not friendly at all. Working parents will be left out, however you will be noticed in a way that will make it not comfortable for you. You will feel punished! The kids at this school act like they are BETTER THAN & show it i a terrible way. It is a full on fashion show with bullies! It is a terrible thing when your kids come home crying day after day hating school & no one at school will help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

If your 4th grader forgets their homework or library book they must stand against a chain link fence during recess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I don't think this school is as great as it's reported to be. I've volunteered in the class this year,and have found many students not very respectful or appreciative, with an 'entitled' attitude. I'm considering sending my daughter to her home school, since all schools use the same curriculum now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I currently have a 4th grader and a Kindergartener at Mound and we love it. I think the teachers really push the students to do their best. I encourage you as a parent to get involved with volunteering on campus. With the selection of Middle Schools we have to choose from here in Ventura I would love to see Mound School offering 6-8 grade as well. If anyone knows if that is actually possible and how to get it started I would love to know?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I love everything about Mound. The Principal is awesome!!! The teachers are great and make sure they work with each student to improve and reach their full potential. Students are well behaved and they have utmost respect to teachers, parents and school staff. Apart from academics, I also love their arts, music, and P.E. programs. My children are off to a great start! Thanks to Mound!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

This school is without a doubt one of the best school in the state. All of the teachers are supportive and help you to reach all your potential. I went there for 6 years and was thoroughly prepared for middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I really love this school. Mr. Temprano is a great leader an even helps out with afternoon traffic! I was going to hold my son back one year and not start K last year; but I decided to go for it. I am glad I did. I have a very sensitive kiddo and the teacher bent over backwards to ease his anxiety and help out on his fine motor skills. Best school for public!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

My son completes his 4th year this week, June, 2008. I have read the other reviews and suspect some sour grapes from the few poor ratings. No question that parent interest and the required application indicate more involvement. I have been well recieved by each of my son's 4 teachers as a parent helper on morning weekly all 4 years. We are fortunate to have a bright and healthy child who loves school, and has not missed a day in 4 years. We believe it is up to us to support the teacher's efforts, see that all homework is completed well, and supplement his learning in every way we can. As a former teacher and coach, I simply want the best environment for my son, and my wife feels the same. We are very fortunate to have this school, and I wish you the best for your child. Make it happen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

My son attended K-5 at Mound and it is an AWESOME school! As close to a private school as a public school can get. I have worked in the classroom with the kids each year & have seen the high quality teaching that goes on. I think the people who gave a one-star rating are jealous because of Mound's high test scores. I think they are due to the high level of commitment of the parents. For example, we are willing to drive our kids to school from all over the city because we appreciate the things that set Mound apart . The Principal & teachers are great, the kids are exceptionally nice. I give it 6 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

My daughter attended 6 years at Mound Elementary. I was very frustrated with her experiences there. She is very bright and with the exception of her 1st and 2nd grade teachers was not given anything extra to do. As one of the very few single parents there, I often felt excluded and somewhat shunned. The Principal does not seem to expect his teachers to bring out the best in the students. Poorly performing kids as well as exceptional kids will be frustrated at Mound. Average kids with well-to-do parents will find good experiences there. It was a lonely, frustrating experience for me and my daughter. As far as safety goes, there were several horrid bullies!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

Mound's test scores are high, that is undeniable. However, if you look at the socio-economic level of their students and the education levels of their parents, this is not surprising. Studies show that income is the primary predictor of test scores. A better measure of how a school is doing is its similar schools ranking. They have high parent involvement because the majority of their students come from high income families with only one parent working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I am a parent of a Kindergardener & a second grader and I couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school has high test scores only because it daily teaches to the test. Well-rounded students --- not!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Mound Elementary is one of the best school's ever. They emphasize mathematics, science, and English and my kids have tons of fun there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2005

The quality of the education is superior to those in the school district. The parental involvement is very high. The student body has higher expectations of behavior, respect, supportiveness, and integrity among both their teachers and peers. A ten out of ten in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

951

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

951

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females91%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females93%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females85%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females92%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females94%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females90%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females98%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females91%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students91%
Females95%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 26%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Improv

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Todd Tyner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (805) 289-1883

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Carpooling, Walking School Bus
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Intramural Sports
Girls sports
  • Intramural Sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
96
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
210
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

455 South Hill Road
Ventura, CA 93003
Website: Click here
Phone: (805) 289-1886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT