Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pierpont Elementary School 3

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Above average for a public school. That being said, it is still a public school and is thereby bound to the unions, fosters mediocrity, and overwhelmingly caters to the lowest common denominator. VERY high parent participation, amazing community support, small school vibe, and almost completely insulated from the "undesirable elements" trolling the beaches nearby. Definitely safe, but not a place that will prepare your child for an academic career that is anything but mediocre. If you have to send your child to a public school in Ventura, this is where you want them placed.

Pierpont Elementary School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
My son is a first grader attending this school. His class size is fairly small compared to other public schools. On Fridays the kids get to go to the beach for Science class. The teacher is wonderful. The principal is awesome! She is dedicated to the well being of the students. The school offers many different resources to help families. We have the best crosswalk guard. He makes sure that safety comes first. The parents come together to volunteer and the community is peaceful. We love our school by the beach!


Pierpont Elementary School 1

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves this school because of her friends. But I have to say that it is very clicky with the parents. If your not part of the group then you or your child will not be invited to anything. The homework is extensive and harsh, and the teachers are no help at all. Look out for the crossing guard in the morning, he's sure to start your day with a head full of stress.

Pierpont Elementary School 1

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Don't send your child here, it is a awful school full of bullies. The PTA seems corrupted, I myself donate on a monthly basis but don't see any of it. They always keep the same people as the leaders so if you want to get involved your out of luck.

Pierpont Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
The best schol around.My son went there from K-5,my daughter has been there K-4,and we are so pleased.The principal ,Susan Martinez,is fantastic!The teachers all care and the parental involvement is high.The only problem is State budget cuts,but these warriors do what can be done to ensure a safe,bully free,intellectuality challenging,fun environment for the kids.Rock on Pierpont!Our little diamond!


Pierpont Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at Pierpont Elemenbary School for the past 4 years and just loves it. From the school crossing guard, to the janitor, the office manager, all the teachers, our little school by the beach (right across the street) is a gem in the sand! All the personnel are welcoming, work as a team, listen to the kids, and you can just see the results in the faces of each and every child. I'm actively involved in the PTA and in my son's classroom. Knowing that we have had recent budget cuts in education, (one of our teachers got a pink slip) our classes are now going to be bigger, but we have great parent involvement in the classrooms to assist the teachers, that I know we will survive these changes. Go Pelicans!

Pierpont Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
We moved into the neighborhood and enrolled our son just before Thanksgiving break. His teacher and the principle, the staff, and parents were all very welcoming. I can notice a big diffrence academically, he is doing great. We love this school. Parent involvement is great and really makes the school excell. Everyone seems to have a great heart about the kids. I am very impressed with the environmental awareness that is being taught.

Pierpont Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2007
- a parent
I moved my daughter into this school from another district because it is such a great school. The teachers really care about the kids. The parents are always welcome and encouraged to help at the school. The principal knows the kids by name as well as their parents. The kids are challanged to be the best they can be.


Pierpont Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2005
- a parent
I was PTA president. Highest academic achievement, we raised money for private music teachers, dance teachers, just got new playground, great teachers, great location at the beach, all kids play outside so in good physical shape, beach days to enjoy outdoors. Very happy kids and environment. The parents are fantastic in their involvement and there are many great parents who are very intelligent and have great ideas. Many opportunities to learn!

Pierpont Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2004
- a parent
I think that having a small school is a great thing. We are all family here. The programs (Resourse and there special education is wonderful)The whole staff is very caring to all students. My childs teachers from year to year have placed him in the best class they think is good for him and they have not failed yet. The use of the beach is also a great resourse. The parent participation also is very welcomed by the school. Over all its a 10!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pierpont Elementary School
1254 Marthas Vineyard Court, Ventura, CA  93001-4014
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (805) 641-5470
Last modified Pierpont Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top