Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attended K-5, our son is in 2nd. We highly recommend this learning environment & are so happy that we "choiced" into Serra. Under the leadership of principal Jim Sather, the school offers a quality education for all learners & a comfortable, happy social atmosphere. Parents are involved as volunteers in the classroom & with PTA. Families enthusiastically support school-wide fun events like the Jogathon. Serra had a x-country team this year, which met twice weekly after school, & traveled to Ventura meets. The annual Spring Art Night is Open House, showcasing amazing art projects. Special events have included: Kindergarten holiday show, 1st Grade songs & dances around the world, 2nd Grade patriotic show, 3rd Grade hoedown, 4th Grade missions projects & Gold Rush living history event, 5th Grade science fair. Three 5th-grade teachers work together to prepare students for middle school doing daily "rotations," so students can have different teachers for different subjects (Language Arts, Math, Science), developing organizational skills. Serra is fortunate to have onsite before- & after-school high quality child care available through Las Posas Children's Center.

Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2011
- a parent
We have loved all 9 years we have been at Serra! Principal, teachers, parents, and students are always the best! The curriculum, extra curricular activities, and events are great! Going to miss it!


Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2010
- a parent
Serra is no longer the "Silent Giant" it was once known as. The staff at this school is unbelieveably talented and caring, from Principal Tyner to the teachers to custodian Richard and office manager Pam. There have been many activities and experiences (Hoe Down, Family Film Night, Art Night, Silent Auction, Jogathon) that have made our years at Serra School very memorable for our family. HIGHLY recommended to neighborhood kids!

Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
I am a parent of a 1st grader and we LOVE Serra!! The campus is a very warm and friendly environment. The staff, teachers and principal are top notch! We looked into public, private, and charter schools in the area and decided Serra was the best!


Junipero Serra Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2007
- a parent
My children and nieces have all attended Serra School one after the other for the past 11 years. Great school as far as academics and safety are concerned. Wonderful teachers.

Junipero Serra Elementary School 3

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
Serra is an adequate school for most children. With high test scores, it tends to cater more to the average and above-average student. I have a son in GATE who is doing very well and a daughter who is struggling. My daughter does not seem to get the attention desired. On a whole, the teachers and parents are very involved. We finally have a permanent principal who, we hope, will provide the leadership this school lacked last year.

Junipero Serra Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Junipero Serra Elementary School
8880 Halifax Street, Ventura, CA  93004
(805) 672-2717
Last modified Junipero Serra Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Junipero Serra Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top